Team Australia new recruits 28/03/18 and what is @mattclarke up to now?

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

G'day mates! It's time for the weekly Team Australia update. I'm a bit more caught up now on what's going on after my Florida trip. Miraculously, I managed to write it up while I still remembered stuff, so you can read Part 1 and Part 2 if you want.

Feature photo

Today's lovely photo was taken by @trudeehunter at Scarborough Marina in Brisbane. If you like it, you can upvote it here.

Meet-ups

Adelaide

Monthly drinks are on again this Thursday 29 March from 6pm at the Jade Monkey. Details here. @o07 also has a lucky door prize for one attendee. He will be giving away a 1 oz silver bullion coin worth $35. 

And, here's a sneak peek of @mattclarke's fun new project, which he will be unveiling. You should go along just to find out what it's about. I know already and I'm excited about it based on the conversations we've had.

Melbourne

Melbourne's monthly meet-up was last Sunday. However, I haven't seen any write-ups so I have no idea how that went. Did any of you go or was poor @datascience left on his own?

ANZAC Day

Don't forget about @jackmiller's karaoke contest and @ravenruis' Unsung Heroes writing challenge. I discussed both of these last week so you can go back and read about them here if you're interested. Both close on ANZAC Day.

Anything else going on?

Nope, that's it. I'm not aware of any more community projects at the moment. It's all pretty quiet. But, since we're talking about it, if you have something that would be of interest specifically to Team Australia let me know so I can help promote it for you.

The usual community notices

You should follow @mrsquiggle, who is doing a great job recognising and rewarding Aussie creativity by curating quality content.

Check out the awesome Minnow Support Project (MSP). Details on how to join are here. Come say hi in the #teamaustralia chat room in PAL-Discord. It's fun and you will make new friends. 

You should consider voting for the MSP witnesses, particularly @ausbitbank and @aggroed, who've a done a great job in getting the MSP project off the ground. 

Lastly, if you're feeling generous, you can delegate SP to the Team Australia upvote bots @centerlink and/or @mrsquiggle (or any other bot you like) using Vessel. You can delegate to any of the MSP bots using this link.  

Mentoring

This project was started by @buggedout with the intention of getting more experienced steemians to help out the newbies. It is not a formal project like the one your boss would sign you up to, so it should be something that both parties actually enjoy. Its purpose is to help build a stronger Team Australia community. I'm sure a bunch of us already doing it anyway by following new people we like, upvoting their posts, leaving comments to encourage interaction, and generally helping to make steemit seem a bit less daunting. Please leave a comment below if you want to officially be on @buggedout's mentor/mentee list.  

Candidate 1

Name and bio

@philippekiene is a Queenslander who's been living in Cambodia for the past six years. Thanks to a recent Discord chat, we also know that he went to school with @gohba.handcrafts.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I own Picasso Bar in Siem Reap but I work in a tattoo studio, and my wife is a teacher. We've got five kids."

I'm pretty sure someone I introduced last week had five kids as well. So many kids at the moment. What's going on?

Candidate 2

Name and bio

@dijana969 is from Adelaide (hooray—seems like ages since we had a new mallsballer join). She used to be a journalist, and has lived through a bunch of wars (ok, colour me intrigued), but today she is happy just being a mum and taking photos.

Intro post here

Fun fact

"I have a travel bug under my skin, so when it starts to wiggle, I need to hit the road. I still have few places on my bucket list."

You and me both Di. The only difference is my photos are all shit, assuming I even bother taking them in the first place. I'd be such a shit millennial if I was a millennial.

Candidate 3

Name and bio

@nomadsfix are a French couple who moved to Brisbane ten years ago after finishing their studies. They have officially been Aussies for four years and really like travelling.

No intro post. 

Fun fact

"We moved in together without having met each other after exchanging only a couple of emails and chat messages. Dating came later. A couple of months later, we were living in a fraternity in Montreal, Canada and were part of the monthly frat parties that you see in movies."

Moving in together as in a relationship, or moving in together as flatmates that turned into a relationship? That's pretty full-on if it's the first one.

Candidate 4

Name and bio

@thomasjmitchell is a Queenslander living on Vancouver Island, Canada. He's an expedition guide, marine biologist and amateur photographer. He mostly works with orca/killer whales and humpback whales.

Intro post here.

Fun fact

"I am allergic to fish—not shellfish but fish—so I am a marine biologist allergic to fish. Probably, not the smartest career choice, hence why I drifted towards working with marine mammals."

Wouldn't the allergy be to eating them? Or can you also be allergic to touching them? Either way, whales are heaps cooler.

Congratulations everyone, you're now part of Team Australia.   

The rules for joining Team Australia

If you’re not yet a member and want to be, this is what you need to do:

  1. Vote here for our resident steemit witness and our Minister for Welfare @ausbitbank.
  2. Send me your introduction post so I can find out a bit about you. If you’re new to steemit you'll have to write one so use the introduceyourself and teamaustralia tags to help boost your following. Use this handy guide by @teamsteem if you don't know what to write.
  3. If it’s not mentioned in your introductory post, tell me which city and country you’re in, cos let's face it, a lot of us live in Australia's fourth largest city—London. You need to have a connection to Australia to join.
  4. Tell me a fun fact about yourself. This can be anything. For example, maybe you have eight kids and three dogs, or you rode your bike across America, or you won the blue ribbon for javelin throwing at sports day back in high school, or Toadie came into the pub you work at one day and you served him a beer, or, maybe you can fit 55 maltesers in your mouth like Ed Sheeran can. It doesn’t matter what it is, I want a fun fact about you! The more fun, the better.
  5. Regularly check the Team Australia and Australia tags and upvote/follow the content you like. You can show your support by following the centerlink curation trail in steemauto. Instructions are here.
  6. Comment below or DM me in PAL-Discord that you want to join.

Once I receive this information I will try my best to write a good introductory paragraph about you for the official Team Australia membership updates. So the better your information is, the better I can make you sound. Where relevant, please use the teamaustralia and australia tags to promote your work. I will try and post weekly updates.



Gif by @justcallmemyth

Team Australia footer by @bearone

Page dividers by @kristyglas

Sort:  

All new members are set to receive @centerlink benefits now :)

Welcome this week's new members!
@philippekiene
@dijana969
@nomadsfix
@thomasjmitchell

Well look forward to seeing your posts.

Thanks for letting me join. Good to be among fellow aussies when living abroad.

Thank you! Good to finally join teamaustralia!

Thank you for welcoming us!

Call for Mentors for any of these new members.

Doesn't take much effort to help out a fellow Aussie. Info HERE

MentorNew MemberCommon Interest
plushzillanomadsfixBrisbane
mattclarkedijana969Adelaide

Happy to help out @nomadsfix since they are also in Brisbane. I have lots of French friends in Melbourne but not Brisbane so this might be a good chance for me :)

Great stuff, thanks for stepping up :)

I'll take @dijana969. Never stop Ballin'

Definitely sounds like an interesting character with some stories to tell. Good choice.

Thanks for the introduction! I am really stoked to be apart of the Team Australia community :D Welcome to all the other new members too!!

Woot woot

Another Aussie in Canada @choogirl, that's awesome

Nice to meet you @thomasjmitchell, I'm 11 H drive from you 😂

Just around the corner then :) haha

nice to meet you as well @thekitchenfairy

Oh, I'm glad you saw this cos I was just about to email you saying I'd done the update.

Yes, the Canadian contingent is getting quite large!

That it is!

Thanks again

Have a great Easter and welcome to all the new additions!

bunny.PNG

#hopeyourteamgetsthechocolates

Welcome new members, so glad to have you join!

Welcome aboard, all :)
Great to have you here.
Thanks for the plug, Choogirl.
We're going to have a blast tomorrow.

Seemed like too good an opportunity to waste when I saw that photo Matt.

When you're this handsome, you get used to it. Ned will only be the poster boy for so long...

Heya, finally getting around to trying to join TeamAustralia, I dont know if it's holidays or what but I am a bit confused about what to do. Here's my introduce yourself post anyway:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@riverflows/this-is-who-i-am

Fun fact? Hmmmm.... I knew a guy for 3 days and we decided we were going to get married, so I went back to Australia, packed up everything I had, and moved to the UK to be with him, and we got married 8 months later. He only had a truck and 90 pounds to his name, and I had a 5 year old, who he hadn't met. I guess you can say I'm a bit impulsive a times, but my Dad said the other day that if it wasn't for my enthusiasm and 'loudness' at times we'd be a very different family. I think he meant that in a really nice way.

xx

Oh, and I live on the Surfcoast, Victoria, Australia - well in the hinterland behind it. I'm sorry if i was meant to message this but I have no idea how to do it. xx

Awesome. You are on my list. I'll let you know when I've done the update.

Thank you @choogirl for your the kind feature and sharing these introductions to fellow Aussies.
Welcome to Team Australia
@philippekiene
@dijana969
@nomadsfix
@thomasjmitchell
I hope you all have an enjoyable and positive journey in Steemit.

As always, welcome new TA members. It’s great to see more newcomers. Now get active and involved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50