Hello fellow steemians, My name is Philippe. I own a bar, and work in a tattoo shop, Have 5 kids a beautiful wife and we have all moved to Cambodia!

FB_IMG_1517847482153.jpg

Hey everyone, My name is Philippe and I'm 33.
This is my wife and I, and our 5 little kids living in cambodia....
Only problem is, there not so little anymore! (this photo is 6 years old)

This Golden Oldie is of us on the bamboo train In battambang. Essentially its a flat bed made from bamboo, with two train axles and a tractor motor....
Oh and there is one track for traffic flowing both ways.
The train with less occupants, hops off dismantles their train and allows the others to pass... Surprisingly enough, we still had to dismount a few times ourself... We thought our flat bed was full..... Ha.

Anyway... We still live in Cambodia and life is quite challenging, but far more interesting. With our whole family being born in Australia(our youngest was 2 when we arrived), Cambodia always knows how to surprise you.
Hense why it's known as the Kingdom of Wonder lol.

I look forward to getting to know some of you, and sharing some of our fun times and mis-adventures with you along the way. With a family of seven there is always somthing worth a laugh happening in our lives, Hope you can have a laugh with us.

This should have been my first post.... But I'm still learning the ropes, sorry guys.

And if you ever come to the Kingdom of Cambodia, let us know. Always love meeting new people!

Sort:  

Hi @philippekienne I have just seen the link to your intro post via choogirls latest post welcome new members to team Australia. As I hadn't met you before, I thought I'd call in to say Hi and introduce myself....an Aussie grandmother living in Brisbane (Scarborough) Australia. Your life (and family) sound very interesting but it would appear that you are over your initial challenges of living in Cambodia......which undoubtedly prepared you well for any future challenges that have come you way. I look forward to seeing more of your posts and learning more about your way of life. All the very best. (Following)

Thanks Trudee, we were actually from Brisbane also.

You're very welcome @philippekiene It's great that you and your family are taking opportunities not only to travel but to experience life and cultures in different countries. It is so enriching.

I agree. It's been an amazing journey.

Welcome steem! Good luck and great story! I look forward to following your posts!

Thanks, I like your content. Following you also.

Thanks. Still learning the ropes...

Would be interesting to hear about your motivation to move from Australia to Cambodia. I thought Australia is the paradise :) Welcome to Steemit!

Initially it was just a holiday... But we never went home!
I will post more stories about our trials and tribulations, I'd been thinking what to post next, there are so many different stories, and ironically, youve just given me the perfect place to start... The beginning.
We've been here so long it's almost hard to remember.
It will be a good trip down memory lane for me also.
Thanks #criticalmass

FB_IMG_1517746177776.jpg

I feel like this fella...

Loading...

Phil, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I lived in Saigon, Vietnam for almost five years and was in Cambodia 2 times. Very interesting. Good work with moving to Cambodia. Very interesting.

where are you living now Joey?
What were you doing in vietnam? Teaching?

Phil, I'm near Seattle to see mom. Was teaching English as a freelancer for 5 years in Saigon. I came back to the USA Thanksgiving 2017 but I think about returning and maybe will and would love to since I do love Vietnamese people and rice and everything.

In all the years we've been here. We still haven't made it to Vietnam. We've still got so much traveling to do.
It's just a matter of finding the time... Well that and money lol.

Kingdom of wonder got me. lol anyway, following you now and hope to hear from you as well

Hello, I am Muhtadie in Aceh

Welcome to Steemit. You will love it.

Hello Philippe! Welcome to Steemit. 33 here also. Congratulations on the large family, with just two kids myself, I'm sure you are very, very busy.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thanks, I'm sure I'll have alot lol.
I found steem to be a great wealth of knowledge so far. So much better than Facebook.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48