This is Who I am

I've been waiting in the shadows to introduce myself, like I do in most social situations. Am I good enough? Does anyone really want to listen to what I have to say? These last few years have been a journey out of this kind of anxiety for me. I don't think I'll ever be the one that flamboyantly enters a room and declares myself, and if that's the way it appears to you, that's because I have you bluffed!

For this 'introduce myself' post I'm doing what the Buddha did to Mara, that is, sitting down and having a cup of tea with him and saying 'I see you, Mara' - if you can read 'Mara' as my self doubt and anxiety, you'll understand what I mean. I posted it about it here (by the way, how do you put hyperlinks in a post?): https://steemit.com/life/@riverflows/the-buddha-and-mara

WIN_20180313_11_40_58_Pro.jpg

I came to Steemit because my husband dabbles in cryptocurrency and he thought I might be interested in this, because I do enjoy writing and blogging, but most of all communicating with people in this manner because in real life, I can be tongue tied. The written word makes it easier for me to articulate how I feel - and I'm all about feeling and emotion (last year I got a heart tattoed on my forearm to acknowledge that part of me, rather than hide it in shame, like I have done most of my life - why do we always compare ourselves to other people? - enough of that!).

27582205_167566370553266_2882585661695590400_n.jpg

I've always been a surfer of some sort - from short boards in my youth to stand up paddleboarding, which I've done for eight years now, which is a bit of a constant explanation for people. It's not just paddling on the flat, though that can be fun - I actually SURF WAVES on it. I'm a bit older than the young bikini clad surfer chics so people have a bit of a hard time really recognising what I do. As if not wearing a bikini means you can't rip up a beautiful green face of a wave. Ugh.
The ocean brings me closer to joy, to truly being in the moment, which brings me a lot of happiness. Water in general is my jam - give me water and I'm happy. Mind you, I'm a fan of nature in all her glory - desert stars, green top mountains.

25011613_134378810587295_381310632512716800_n.jpg

17076273_1666008837026967_1515775936799178752_a(1).jpg

So does yoga, which I've done since I was a teenager. This has taken up even more room in my life of late as I qualified as a yoga teacher last year (such an achievement, and such a journey) and it's allowing me to access a happiness and peace I've never thus known. I used to read a LOT - I'm a big fan of writing and literature as it allowed me to escape and get close to beauty. I'm not sure why I don't read fiction as much these days - I feel like I've read myself out and it's not providing me with the answers and comfort it used to. I'm getting more joy from getting closer to the heart of nature through movement, meditation and contemplation of the divine (what ever that might mean to you - there's a sense of ecstasy in it, a joy and expansiveness of heart that connects me to all things - we truly aren't alone - but I don't subscribe to any particular religion - though if I made a choice, it would be vipassana and insight meditation, if you're familiar with it).

23824909_135295920506071_7660074490243579904_n.jpg

26870017_166045037350618_7795202639641182208_n.jpg

Since I've been on Steemit I've posted a bit and met some pretty cool crew, so I'm really excited about it in a way I haven't been excited about the internet in a very long time. It used to be an anarchic space. Now it's all advertisements and censorship and you have to be smart and DIG to find truth. Even here I'm skeptical and worried, but I've met some great people I can't find on instagram anymore (because it's all advertisements) or Facebook (because it's all advertisements or the same old friends, and no one writes - they just tell me about their kids and the weather - sorry!). I miss days of communicating with poets, artists, anarchists, travelers, gypsies. That seems to be on Steemit, if you can go past all the posts about upvoting and buying popularity. Sure, it would be cool to get some cash for my posts but I'm not sure that's the main reason I'm here. Connections to people are important.

20160104_171206 (1).png

trigon tagine.jpg

I live on land in Australia. We used to live as new age travelers in England, in a horse lorry, and a library lorry (pictured above) years ago, but the opportunity came up for us to move closer to my family and have some land to do what we want on - have chickens, grow vegetables, do projects, light fires, watch the sun go down. We still travel alot - last year Burma, next year India and back 'home' to England (I'm Australian, my husband is English). Burma was amazing - we travelled with a Burmese nun and two meditators who took us to the heart of vipassana, the meditation centre where this branch of Buddhist meditation grew out and blossomed from - now they're got centres all over the world. I'll write about that soon I think. There's so many interesting things to write about, and so little time!

16122590_242271929533333_7776432399902048256_n.jpg

14677433_240966199692643_487671172566089728_n.jpg

We still build vehicles and do them up to live in, travel in - but I guess because they are awesome creative projects and give us the sense of the possibility of movement and the gypsy life. We really love our garden, which is another source of inspiration, creative and peace for us.

5026.jpg

15535105_1344253898968292_8897344423784873984_n.jpg

I guess we are do-ers. We like doing - creating, building, making, moving, dreaming, travelling, surfing, writing, listening to music. If you're that kind of folk, you're my kind of folk.

Would love to meet you.

Eek, I'm going to hit post now!

15876810_910134759090305_6725628986912669696_n.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #vehiclephotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 01:57:56
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.55/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Welcome to Steem Community @riverflows! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Ahh an old traveller, I did a bit myself in the 90s, all the festivals, Lechlade, Castlemorton etc etc and then on to France with Bedlam and spiral Tribe. Good days. Read a poem this mornignthat a friend on Facebook has written about those times

Ah, yes, that's my husband's scene more, I know about some of those things but I was quite late on the scene and not for long - I've heard heaps of stories though and know alot about it. xx

Am I good enough? Does anyone really want to listen to what I have to say?
Are you still wondering if you are good enough? or if anyone want to listen to you? Guess I have the answear: Absolutely YES.

It may sound weird reading this from a stranger you've just met on the internet, but from your introduction I can se that you have an amazing life and a lot to add to other people's life.

Keep us updated on your stories, and most importantly, on the incredible recipes xD
The best wishes for you and your husband, from a fellow on the other side of the world.

Thanks so much - this is a kind and thoughtful thing to say. I really appreciate it :) It's also clear that you took time to read my post, which I really value. xxx Best wishes from our side of the world! I love the international community on steemit. xx

Welcome aboard & thanks, for introducing yourself! From our exchanges and your posts, so far, I think you’ll do well here & wish you and husband continued success in leading an interesting life ✨✌🏼💫

B480B51C-E834-4BD0-B91E-9388110BBA3A.jpeg

That's a beautiful illustration! Is it yours? Thankyou! And here's for more exchanges - I do hope so! :)

Nah, wish it were mine (there’s an obscure signature in bottom left) but I found it beautiful! Sweet dreams 😴

And goodness - thanks for resteeming me!!!

You're worth knowing :) Good day!

Hello, @riverflows, and Welcome to Steemit.

Thanks for the very interesting intro. That type of post is what makes Steemit a worthwhile platform, so let's hope that you can create more such excellent posts.

Like you, I also tend to be the silent type who will not announce my entry or presence in a room. And even if my presence is noticed, I prefer to sit at the far back of the room, either alone or maybe in the company of one interesting person.

Also, my favoured mode of expression is writing, and believe me, Steemit is an excellent platform for that. It will be slow going at first, but with diligence and commitment (mostly to your own progress, but that goes hand in hand with the progress of what will become "your community" here on Steemit) – with that commitment, you will succeed and find this platform to be "rewarding."

(note 1. Even tho I love to write and like to communicate, I found Facebook abhorrent. 'Nuff said.)

(note 2: Your skepticism re Steemit may have some basis, since there is a lot of crap on this site, too. At the same time, there are so many various posts of great quality that the crap becomes irrelevant to us, and we can ignore it ... albeit with a bit of effort. :-)


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

Thanks so much for your lengthy and thoughtful reply. It's really heartening to see that what I say is valued - sometimes you get a feeling you're lost in a quagmire. Being yourself is the hard bit, but I'm trying! I hear you about being the one in the room with one person to talk to - there's nothing wrong with that, is there - imagine if we were all social butterflies - how boring! :)

Right you are. And imagine a party or get-together where everybody is talking and vying for attention. It's bad enough when only a few are doing so ....

Peace!

Oh my god.. worse nightmare! But i could talk to you, right?


Welcome to Steemit @riverflows!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to steemit @riverflows..have fun and enjoy your stay..:)

Hello @riverflows, Welcome to Steemit !!!

Thanks so much!! :)

Great story you have! And nice pictures! Welcome to steemit and keep up the posts! Looking forward to the next ones!

Hey @riverflows, I'm not sure if you've noticed, but today I've invited you for the seven day black and white challenge. I hope you are up for the challenge :)

Sorry I have been at yoga and asleep.. its 6 am now here. 💙

Haha, wow the time difference! I just had dinner :) Have a nice day then!

Thanks! I had to wait a day as we had some tough news but just posted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44