Metrophobia (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Here we are now at love and hate,
So that which made me now unmakes.
That which gave me cause to speak,
Holds my tongue pressed to my cheek.

The weight of words, they steal my breath
As one by one they march to death.
Whispering, they live through time
To expose me, sign by sign.

I cannot see the world they see
The words and shapes, they're haunting me,
In the turning of each verse,
Genuine and unrehearsed.

Mortality in every rhyme
Death in metered syllabic time
Keeping yours and keeping mine
Recited back, line by line.

The terror in the spoken word
Is impetus for me to turn,
Hide myself until the morn,
Hidden from the poet's scorn.



All .gifs sourced from GIPHY.com

Thank you for spending time here.

Other Works
Metromania
True Color
Back to Earth
Burning in
Always Late
Unmasked
Entangled As We Are
Puerto Rico & Gunhill Rd.
The Native, the Slave and the Conqueror
Artificial Vibe

Have you joined the Poetry Slam Challenge 8: If I Ruled the World? Dig deep, write from the heart and you could win STEEM!

Sort:  

Hello @prufarchy,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that this post have been upvoted by Project Better.

The Mission of Project Better is to reward posts have many votes from Minnows but earn pennies.
Your payout is $0.026 before we vote on your post.

Learn more about the Project Better here!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

~BETTER~

Wow, that's really awesome! It's very appreciated, and I love the list of posts to go through, you folks get it done!

This is some great work @prufarchy. Those gifs made my head hurt :)

Thanks so much:) sorry about the headache ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64316.24
ETH 2748.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65