Puerto Rico and Gun Hill Rd. (Original)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

I remember Bronx parties in summer,
Boiling festivals in hot streets.
Battery fans for air,
A taste of hope
And trains.

My building was by the rich man's golf course.
As children we'd often tease them.
Annoyance as weapon
Though otherwise
No voice.

We'd save "stuck" quarters from parking meters
Slake our thirst with quarter-juices
These sugar victories
Are what I miss
The most.

When crack took a hold of the neighborhood
And everyone said to stay in
We snuck out to the roof
Between buildings
Playing.

The elevated track crossed behind us
Ferrying the workers about
Easy come, easy go
Conveyor belt
System.

We stole onto trains with nowhere to go
Following our mothers around,
Though we never told them
We saw how far
They went.

I promised myself to one day ride trains
As far as they could carry me
There had to be something,
It had to end
Some where.



All imagery in this poem is original.

Thank you for spending time here.



Sort:  

Love the idea of annoyance as a weapon.

It's the greatest weapon a child has ;)

I really liked this one, the childhood stuff really pulls a twang of remembrance of past times!

Incidentally are you going to steemfest?

I am! At least, I've gotten most of the parts together including the ticket. But I'm working my butt off to make it there. We're having some scotch, yeah?

Holy God dang!! Some Scotch would be the least,!!! Seriously, that would be awesome!!!!

this is awesome is all am saying.

Thank you, and well said haha

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69