Unmasked (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago

At first when we met, it was behind this mask
Protected from foreign energies
Safe from even you, or me.
But that was before.

Somehow it all started to suffocate me
Confined spaces in identity
The fear they would all see me
Would I still draw breath?

The world is for those who are willing to try
To remove their masks and contribute
Step out from the secrecy
That shadows us all.

But faith is a currency we cannot mint
Because it would still be counterfeit
Even now I hesitate
Content with plastic.

Our understanding does not come from comfort
Or safe spaces we can hide ourselves.
But from the adversity
Of being alive.

When you are ready to see the other side
Please remember to give back your mask
It's been a rite of passage
For generations.



These images are all original and were produced in collaboration between @prufarchy and @kbedosky, edited for use here.

Thank you for spending time here.



Have you joined the Poetry Slam Challenge 6: Sky's The Limit?

Sort:  

Thanks for the s/o! I really like the gritty look that you gave the images. Smoldering ;)

This is one of my favorite sentences: "But faith is a currency we cannot mint." What inspired you to write this piece?

It was such a fun shoot, thanks for capturing everyone so brilliantly :)

I was inspired in the idea that we must have faith in our passion and not be afraid to reveal ourselves. But faith is so abstract that it's hard to know if you've got it or not. Or something like that ;)

I love this, and the theme of secrecy. This line can be applied to the Steemit experience: "The world is for those who are willing to try To remove their masks and contribute." My mother always told me writing was more dangerous than talking. Once something's written down, it can outlive you and out-travel you. But what makes it dangerous also makes it valuable.

Your mother was spot on! Thank you for your comment, I agree that line can totally work for the Steemit experience

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45