Burning in (Original)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Picture me without my sin
And all the world burning in.

Simple smoke slips seamlessly
Around my fears, smoot stained.

I hold my controlled fire back
Behind my eyes, in my head.

Blinded by blight but cleansed by flame
Now burdened with freedom all the same.

I am the depleting oxygen and you
Will know me when my smoke turns black.

You will see the Earth's fire slowly die
Along my arms, hands and face.

Soot stains on my soul like oil slicks
Wandering polluted seas, dead zone home.

The world sets me alight in vivid reds,
Licks of flame on skyscraper office furniture.

When I am molten, when I have burnt in,
Will you smother or blow on the embers?

Given that it all ends in morning pits of ash
Can I have a moment from burning in?



Image sourced from GIPHY.com

Thank you for spending time here.



Have you joined the Poetry Slam Challenge 7: Photo-Poetry? Dig deep, write from the heart and you could win STEEM!

Sort:  

This is so beautiful. Fire/burning/flame imagery is something that really hits home for me. The imagery here is so potent. I think you would like the first original post I have on my profile, "Burned Myself" .. check it out if you get the chance!

something behind your poetry has a story,good work!

Thank you very much :)

Very nice, really enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60147.86
ETH 2985.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83