In The Dreaming: Chapter Fifty Three "And The Times, They Are A'Changin'" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7

Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10

Chapter 11 Chapter 12 Chapter 13

Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16

Chapter 17 Chapter 18 Chapter 19

Chapter 20 Chapter 21 Chapter 22

Chapter 23 Chapter 24 Chapter 25

Chapter 26 Chapter 27 Chapter 28

Chapter 29 Chapter 30 Chapter 31

Chapter 32 Chapter 33 Chapter 34

Chapter 35 Chapter 36 Chapter 37

Chapter 38 Chapter 39 Chapter 40

Chapter 41 Chapter 42 Chapter 43

Chapter 44 Chapter 45 Chapter 46

Chapter 47 Chapter 48 Chapter 49

Chapter 50 Chapter 51 Chapter 52



Chapter Fifty Three



“I wonder if Misty or Janie are here.” Amy looked around. Other than lunch they hadn’t been spending a lot of time with them lately. Misty was all wrapped up in her new boyfriend who was two years older and they were among those that hung out under stairwells. Janie and John, now a couple, spent most of their time with each other in the library. The three of them hadn't joined any sports- Janie and John were in all band oriented activities.

“I think I see J and J in the corner,” Aliyah pointed. They left Dave and Greg by the punch and headed over.

“Hey guys, having fun?” Amy asked.

“It’s okay,” John answered. “Is Dave here?”

“Yup, he’s over by the refreshment table.” Not spending time with these two outside of school was not unusual for Aliyah and Amy, but for Dave and John it was. She wondered if they were growing apart. Dave had made a whole new group of friends among the jocks, before this year he and John had been like her and Amy.

John got up and headed over so they sat down with Janie.

“So how are you two doing.”

“Okay. Good, I guess.”

“Is something wrong?”

“I just wish John would dance. We came here to sit at this table all night apparently. Not that I would dance to any fast songs or anything, but I wouldn’t mind dancing slow.”

“Why won’t he?”

“Oh, he thinks he’ll step on my feet or something. I told him I didn’t care.”

Amy and Aliyah looked at each other thinking the same thing. They came around either side of Janie and pulled her up.

“What are you doing?” She protested.

“You’re going to dance with us!”

“No, I don’t know how!”

“Do you think we do? Look at everyone- no one knows how!”

They got her out there and she found herself having a good time. After a couple of songs they spotted John sitting back in his seat and headed over.

“Having fun?” he asked Janie.

“Actually, yes! You should try it.”

“No way.”

“Where’s Dave?” Aliyah looked around.

“Oh, he’s at a table on the other side with the football players and cheerleaders.” He looked down at his hands, frowning.

“Why didn’t you sit with them?”

John looked up at her with his head cocked. “They’re not my crowd. I guess Dave isn’t my crowd anymore either.”

“Oh come on, he’s just making new friends, you’re still his best friend.”

“Am I?” he shook his head. “I guess things change.”

Amy and Aliyah stood for a few awkward moments then excused themselves, telling Janie they would be back to dance with her later.

“Poor John,” Amy said.

“I know. I’ll have to talk to Dave about it later. Although, I guess it’s John’s choice if he doesn’t want to give the other guys a chance.”

“Come on Aliyah, it’s the other guys that would most likely not give John a chance. You know how it is, he’s a band geek. Dave has joined the jocks, the popular crowd.”

“What crowd are we a part of?”

“Whatever crowd we want, we’re liked by all!” Amy laughed.

Aliyah laughed but thought that it was actually true. They were nice to everyone, attractive and well dressed, intelligent...

“I think we’re getting a little too full of ourselves!” Aliyah pulled her hands away from her head indicating that it was swelling.

“So?” Amy giggled.

They reached Dave and Greg’s table and they moved chairs around so they could sit between them.

“Did you see Janie?” Dave asked.

“Yeah, we made her dance with us.”

“Oh good, she’s probably bored out of her mind over there.”

Aliyah raised her eyebrows, that seemed to be a very pointed dig at John. “Not nice.”

“Sorry, but he's a stick in the mud when it comes to stuff like this.”

Greg laughed, “Just when it comes to things like this? Oh that’s true, he probably goes off the wall when he’s marching down the street with his trombone.”

“Hey, that’s a friend of ours,” Aliyah glared at him.

“Yeah, well that guy is a serious geek.”

Aliyah looked at Dave who looked away. Nice way to stick up for your friend, she thought.

Greg leaned in and said “Any chance the two of you can sneak out later?”

“Why?” Amy asked.

“There’s a party in a cornfield over on County Rd 36.”

“How would we get there?”

“I’d pick you up.”

“You can’t drive!”

“Who says I can’t? My mom takes Valium to sleep, I take the car and she’s never the wiser.”

“What about cops?”

“What about them? The car’s legal, I know how to drive it. They have no reason to pull me over.”

Amy looked at Aliyah.

Greg laughed, “I’m kidding guys, my brother has a license, he’ll take us.”

“I don’t know...what do you think?” Amy asked Aliyah.

Aliyah looked at Dave. “Are you going?”

“Yeah, I’m staying at Greg’s house tonight anyway.”

“Do you want me to go?”

“Of course I do!”

“I don’t know Am, if your mom finds out that would be a big strike two.”

“We could go out my window, climb down the tree like usual.” Amy had a tree that seemed as if it were planted there specifically for her to sneak out. It’s branches started six feet off the ground and were perfectly spaced high up over the roof of her house. Generally they snuck down at night just to walk down the street, but because they weren’t doing anything terrible they weren’t too worried about getting in trouble.

She would get to spend some time with Dave, that was enticing. “It’s up to you.”

“Then let’s do it.”

“All right!” Greg exclaimed. “Party tonight!”

A slow song came on and they went to the dance floor.

“I’m so glad you’re coming,” Dave told her, “I have been dying to make out with you for weeks.”

“Were you going to tell me about it if Greg didn’t?”

“Of course I was! I asked if you could hang out with us after the dance the other day, remember? What’s wrong with you?”

“I don’t know, I’m sorry. It’s just, you have all of these new friends and you’re completely ditching John...”

“I’m not completely ditching John. It’s just that he's, well John. You know how he is, he just won’t fit in with these guys. I can’t not be friends with other people just because John won’t. I’ll always love the guy, but things change.”

“That’s what he said.”

“Well, he’s right. I’m sorry Aliyah, I don’t want to spend my high school years the way he does.”

“I know. I’m sorry too, I understand.”

“Good, I don’t want you mad at me. Even though you are cute when you’re mad.” He pinched her cheek.

She shoved him and he pulled her into him. He put his hands on the side of her head and kissed her. Little butterflies danced in her stomach, and all seemed right with the world again.


Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg




Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 17.65% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83