In The Dreaming: Chapter Thirty Eight "Hungover" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7

Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10

Chapter 11 Chapter 12 Chapter 13

Chapter 14 Chapter 15 Chapter 16

Chapter 17
Chapter 18 Chapter 19

Chapter 20 Chapter 21 Chapter 22

Chapter 23 Chapter 24 Chapter 25

Chapter 26 Chapter 27 Chapter 28

Chapter 29 Chapter 30 Chapter 31

Chapter 32 Chapter 33 Chapter 34

Chapter 35 Chapter 36 Chapter 37



Chapter Thirty Eight



“Good morning girls,” a chipper voice called in to the room the next morning, “or should I say, good afternoon as it is already 11:30! You two must’ve been up late.”

Aliyah opened her eyes and immediately shut them again. So this was a hangover. It took only a minute before she realized she was going to be sick. Horrified at the idea of throwing up all over Aunt Jane’s bed or floor she fought it.

“Amy? Oh my goodness, did you get sick last night?”

This made Aliyah’s eyes fly open and she tried to focus. Amy was groaning and there was puke all over her! That was too much for Aliyah, she pushed out of the bed mumbling excuse me, ran up the stairs and barely made into the bathroom and shut the door before she let it loose. This was definitely going to be the beer from the cooler story. She sat on the floor for a little bit, threw up again, then managed to get up weakly and wash her face.

Her reflection looked as bad as she felt, her face was almost white, her eyes red rimmed with dark circles under them. She washed her mouth out then took a long drink. She stood there steadying herself, then splashed more cold water on her face. She felt a tiny bit better, but she wanted to make sure she was done emptying her stomach before braving the downstairs. It had been long enough for her to assume that Amy had probably said something and she felt that the walk down the stairs was going to be like walking the green mile. Poor Amy, she must’ve gotten sick in the night without even realizing it. Aliyah had an inkling that this was a potentially dangerous thing.

A couple of minutes later there was a knock on the door. “Aliyah? Aliyah are you all right in there?” Aunt Jane sounding very concerned.

“Yes,” she managed to squeak out.

“Well, when you’re done come back to your room.”

Her tone suggested she knew something and Aliyah groaned. Why do people like to drink she thought? Okay it was fun, but boy did you pay for it! Her head was throbbing, her stomach was tossing and her body ached from head to toe.

She gathered herself as well as she could and trudged down the stairs.

Mrs. Hurnard was sitting on the bed talking to Amy who was crying. They had taken of the bed coverings and gotten Amy in clean clothes, but she still looked like a mess.

Aliyah listened for a minute before going in.

“Now I know that you are learning a real lesson here,” Mrs. Hurnard was saying, “but I am still extremely disappointed in you girls.”

Disappointed, good that meant Amy had managed to tell the beer from the fridge story, otherwise disappointed wouldn’t have covered it.

Aliyah walked in keeping her head down. Mrs. Hurnard looked up at her and sighed. “Amy told me all about it. Taking beers from the fridge, really girls, I can’t imagine what got into you to do that. You are far too young, is that what goes on these days, are kids at school getting drunk?”

“No, mom, we were just watching this movie about high school graduation, and I don’t know, I just thought it might be fun.” Amy hung her head again.

“Well, I think these high school movies are getting worse every year. It probably wasn’t even rated R was it?” Amy shook her head.

“Do you think if you take showers you will be up to coming downstairs? I’m sorry but I don’t think that I can just let you sleep the day away. In fact, I think it’s the perfect punishment for you both to have to suffer a little, don’t you?”

They nodded in unison, knowing full well that if this was their punishment they were getting off very light.

“Mom we will never ever drink again, never, it was not worth it. Why does anyone drink like that?”

“First of all, never ever is probably stretching it but I will settle for not until you have graduated high school. Now when you’re older you’ll be mature enough to know when to stop. Okay, now Aliyah I am not going to tell your parents. Whether you decide to is up to you, but I feel that nothing can be gained from it. So the two of you get some clothes and take showers and come downstairs.” With that she stood up and left the room.

They listened until they knew she was gone, then they both fell back on the bed.

“Oh God, I feel awful!”

“Me too, I don’t think I’m exaggerating when I say I’ll never drink again,” Amy cried.

“Tell me about it. Whew, I feel like we just got off really, really easy. How about you?”

“Oh yeah! Especially you, I had to do the whole confession thing by myself after you flew outta here.”

“I had to! I saw you and the bed, yuck, and it was about to happen to me.”

“I figured. Eww, that was really gross, waking up like that. I vaguely remember doing it, but I didn’t have it in me to do anything about it.”

“Hang over aside, do you regret going last night?” Aliyah asked.

Amy rolled her eyes, “Are you kidding me? No way. I would get sick ten times over for a night like that. Not the drinking, I don’t mean that, in fact I would have been quite happy to have went there, not drank, and then not have to have told mom anything on top of not feeling like crap. I just wanted to be with Mike.”

“I know.”

“What about you, did Chris kiss you?”

“No!”

“Oh, don’t look at me like that, you can’t tell me it didn’t cross your mind.”

“It crossed my mind in a whole lotta rum haze maybe. It was fun dancing with him, I admit that I could like him that way, but really I wished it was Dave that was there.”

“Really?”

Aliyah thought about it for a second. She knew that at one point in the night she had pretty much forgotten Dave existed, but that was because she was drunk. Chris was really cute and she did like him, but she would’ve felt so guilty if she had kissed him.

“Okay, I do kinda like him, but I’d rather be with Dave, I mean jeeze that relationship is brand new and I haven’t even seen him since it started. I would hate to have done something I’d regret and ruin what might be great.”

“Because you would tell him?”

“I don’t know, yeah I guess I would have to or I wouldn’t like myself very much.”

“I guess you’re right.”

“Well, we better get in the shower and face the day. Remind me that I have to find time at some point to drop off this boat key.”

“Okay, probably some time tomorrow.”

They dug out some comfortable clothes and headed upstairs, both of them knowing that they had hit their peak of fun for that vacation.


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/


Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg




Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @yabapmatt, @teamsteem, @steempeak, @steemgigs, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

So...I've now caught up :)

Guess I'll now have to scoot over to the other story...ciao

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 16.57% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08