In The Dreaming: Chapter Thirteen "Collin's World" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story6 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7

Chapter 8 Chapter 9 Chapter 10

Chapter 11 Chapter 12



Chapter Thirteen




Collin had woken up that morning feeling a little disappointed. He hadn’t dreamed of his little friend in a few nights and he was beginning to miss her company sorely. The school year was well under way, his last year before college life. He would be graduating essentially a year earlier than most kids. That was no real feat, he could have graduated from a normal high school at age 12, but here it was different. They wanted to make sure to groom their gifted to truly find the area that suited them, and besides 12 would be a little too young to attend a university, even for him. No matter what his brain had been at 12, his body was still that of a pre-teen, definitely would have made for a rough time fitting in.

He had told John of his thoughts about Cornell, which as usual was met with enthusiasm, though Collin felt his friend was probably hoping to hear something along the lines of Princeton. But he never tried to push him in any certain direction feeling strongly that he must be a bystander in the process, there to lend financial support and advice if asked for but never to intrude.

At this very moment they were sitting at John’s favorite restaurant on the Long Island sound called The Big Crab, a place that was casual in nature, but still held a semi-classy feel. It’s menu consisted mainly of seafood, but also offered chicken, steak, and several sandwiches for the immature pallet.

When Collin had first come to the restaurant he was in the latter category, but over the years at John’s prompting (he was a man who believed firmly in trying new things) he had developed a taste for all manner of creatures from the sea. Today he was enjoying crab legs and jumbo shrimp.

“Can I ask you something John?”

“Of course, shoot.”

“Are you okay?”

“Of course, never better.” He was smiling but it didn’t quite reach his eyes.

Collin stirred his drink with his clear plastic straw. He wanted to pursue, but didn’t want to pry and overstep his boundaries.

John sighed, looking at the boy. Collin was too perceptive for his own good, and he knew he better offer some sort of explanation for his strange behavior.

“Well, as I told you briefly before, Katherine has started taking religion a bit seriously. I have always believed in God, you know that as we make a practice of saying grace and have attended church for years. Awhile back she decided that the church we were in was not good enough, she became convinced she was missing something vital. So she found another church, I went with her a few times but it wasn’t for me, I mean these people are a little nuts in my opinion. As a result she has stopped seeing most of her patients and is now talking about becoming a Christian counselor. She is a Doctor for-excuse the pun-Christ’s sake. Christian counseling is basically doing psychiatry for free.”

He frowned knowing he had said too much. Collin looked concerned and the last thing that he wanted was for him to start worrying about whether they could still afford to take care of his tuition and things of that nature. Before the boy could speak he put up his hand.

“It’s okay, we are still doing fine. Nothing could stop me from paying your way through school, not even if you got on the floor and begged. If I decide to confide certain things about my life they do not nor ever will pertain to or affect you in anyway. If she
can leave a lucrative profession behind to help a bunch of confused people needing a crutch, then I sure can help one boy who is like a son to me.”

Collin nodded, knowing that he meant it. But he had to ask another question. “So what exactly happened to her John? I mean, why this sudden leap into faith, why this radical change?”

John was silent for a moment. “I don’t really know. I keep asking her if it was a certain patient, did something happen, did she feel like she wasn’t helping? She keeps telling me that it isn’t anything like that, it’s that she went to this church revival with one of her girlfriends and accepted Jesus into her heart-after this point she tends to lose me. I
have no idea what she’s talking about, she sounds like a crazy woman, having a personal relationship with Jesus, how he speaks to her. She insists that before she might not have even had a place in heaven, it’s ridiculous.”

“Huh,” Collin’s thoughts turned to his little dream friend. He knew she believed in that kind of thing, but he wasn’t sure how deep the faith actually was. Of course she was only 13. “Does she seem happier?”

This question seemed to take John off guard, and it took him a moment to respond. He looked down at his plate and moved food from one side to the other. His voice sounded far away when he answered. “Yes. I guess she is. She used to worry all of the time about all manner of things, and now it seems like…her personality’s changed. Our relationship was so comfortable before. She was the serious one, she was the one who got nervous over little things, I was the one who would make her laugh and forget her troubles. But now… now she doesn’t need me for that, now I seem like the troubled one.” He shook his head. “I don’t know, on one hand I would like to support her, and if she wasn’t completely overturning our lives I would do that without hesitation. If she wants to be a Bible thumper, that’s fine with me, really, I wouldn’t care if she started going to a radical church and bible meetings, and sang with the hallelujah choir, but quitting her practice? It’s too much, too fast.”

“Well, have you told her how you’re feeling?”

“Of course I have. But she goes on and on with this story of how she was born anew, and of course her personality is going to change a bit after an experience like that, and God’s Spirit is alive in her now.” He sighed again. “All right, I think I said too much. Let’s talk about you instead. What exactly are you going to specialize in?”

Collin forcibly pushed John’s problems out of his mind and leaned back in the chair contemplating. He had been going back and forth a little about this in his head. “Well, as I told you before I’m interested in entomology. Specifically bees. Did you know that without honey bees most of the crops we rely on to sustain us would be in serious trouble? In a sense our agriculture relies on these insects. The problem is that there aren’t many young people going into beekeeping, and the older generations are coming of retirement age. And then there’s the little known fact that wild honey bees have become extremely rare. There needs to be some sort of push, or incentive to create interest in the field again. First and foremost, the country needs to know how vital beekeeping is. Unfortunately new beekeepers get discouraged because of the difficulties they face wintering bees over in the northern parts of the country, not to mention the fact that the government buys honey overseas at nominal prices dropping our own honey prices considerably.

At this point I’ve been looking into creating new strains using different varieties of bees. For instance the Italian bees are known to be great honey producers, while the Russian bees are better known for their ability to survive harsh winters. If you could combine the two….you get the picture. I’m going to take this year, well half a year at least, to see if there is something to this, and then I’ll go from there. If it proves not to be worth my time, then I’m going to switch gears, but don’t worry I have plans b, c, and d, which I will discuss with you if need be.”

“It sounds fascinating. I don’t know very much about bees myself…but never mind about your backup plans, if you need to switch to them, then you can tell me. I hate to cut this short, but I really need to get some stuff done.”

The two of them climbed into the car, and the ride back to his dorm was unusually quiet. Just before they pulled in John brightened up. “Hey buddy, why don’t we plan a trip to the Cornell campus in the next couple of weekends? That region of New York, the Finger Lakes is absolutely breathtaking.”

“That would be great, definitely!”

“Then it’s a date. I’ll call you later in the week to let you know which weekend.”

Collin shut the door and saluted his friend as he drove away. He stood there a moment worrying about the guy, then turned and went in to see what his roomies were up to.

“Hey, hey, it’s Collin, back from a date with his sugar daddy.”

“Oh, you’re funny Brentina,” he tossed a book at him, and flopped into a chair.

“He tire you out Nancy boy?”

“For someone of your intelligence, you’re none-too-bright taunting me.” He flexed his muscles, and Brent laughed.

“You can laugh, at least until I dot your lip and it hurts too much.” This time his tone was a bit more serious and Brent backed off.

“Hey man, I’m just busting your chops, don’t get your panties in a bunch.”

“Yeah, yeah.”

“What’s eating you?”

“Nah, nothing. Just John’s having marital problems-”he shot Brent a warning look not to comment- “I’m sure it’s nothing.”

Brent knew when to let up, lucky for him. He took a tone of concern instead. “They’re your surrogate parents, that must be tough.”

Collin nodded. “All right, enough of that, where are the girls?”

As if on cue Gerald and Jake walked in talking heatedly about something.



Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

Hmm what if instead years went by without them seeing each other until one thinks it was all just an imagination while the other still held onto hope. One day they cross paths and the other only has a faint recollection of the other? Wouldn't that be a bit heartbreaking? Then the conflict would be in trying to help the other recall.

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 26.88% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48