In The Dreaming: Chapter Seven: "One Shoe and Turkey Sandwiches" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6



Chapter Seven



Collin was soon sitting with his legs dangling over the familiar stream, looking at his distorted reflection.

The water was moving a little causing tiny whirlpools here and there. He had arrived before his companion and found himself growing a little impatient. He was always elated to see her, she brought the sunshine through the clouds. Almost everyone around him in the waking hours made him feel gray, pulling the light right out of life with their pessimism, negativity, and especially cynicism since he’d started classes at Jarien. Many of his schoolmates were too smart for their own good, particularly the ones who had grown up wanting for nothing. It made them far too serious and superior in attitude.

“Hello over there!” Came a bright, cheery voice down the path. He grinned and waved.

“Look what I brought with me!” She said breathily as she hurried over with a paper sack. She pulled out two sandwiches on huge doughy rolls filled to overflowing with smoked turkey, Swiss cheese, greens, olives, mayo, and yes-horseradish.

“Hungry before you fell asleep again?”

“Yes, famished! Ever since my mom decided she was no longer eating past 7pm, we all suffer with her!”

“Oh no, we don’t all suffer, I benefit greatly from these hunger attacks,” he stated between bites. “Next time try and dream of chips and bacon horseradish dip to go with them.”

She giggled, “You and horseradish, you could probably eat a booger sandwich if you had a little mayo and some horseradish.”

He cocked his head pretending to consider it, and she elbowed him with a laugh.

“So how are your bees going?” She shuddered in an exaggerated way-she was terrified of the little stinging bugs.

“Excellent. Have you tried what I told you yet?”

“Mmm, no….., but I will, I will. It’s just that I’m completely convinced that the very moment I think I've located a drone and get the courage to pick it up I will be proven wrong and stung on the end of my poor little finger.”

“I told you, the drones have a smooth round bottom…

“Right. I still don’t know exactly how that’s going to help me, since I’ll still be afraid of the ones that sting.”

“Yeah, but what about what I told you? They have no interest in stinging you. And they’re amazing creatures.”

“Actually I looked them up on the internet and you’re absolutely right, they are fascinating. They have even been known to keep pets! It’s true, they build a cell or something around a bug-in this instance it was an ant-and they feed and groom it. I do feel a bit less nervous about honeybees, but there are still wasps, yellow jackets, hornets…

“I get the picture. Okay, what about you, what’s new?”

“The sky’s blue, we’re not one but two, I’m wearing one shoe…

He glanced down at that and choked on a laugh, “Don’t tell me you left home without one!”

“Umm, okay I won’t tell you that.” She started laughing hysterically and he joined her.

“You really forgot one shoe!” he got out when he caught his breath.

“Well I don’t know if you could actually call it forgetting, I mean it’s not as if I pack before I leave. Oooh, I just had a scary thought! If I could come without a shoe then that means that I could come without clothes! Holy cow, what would I do?”
She actually began to worry over it for a minute but this time it was she who joined Collin’s hysterics and ended up rolling around in the dead leaves struggling for breath.

“Oh damn, hiccups!” Collin made a blowfish face as he attempted to hold his breath.

“How many times have I told you? Hiccups are all in your mind, that’s why they have all sorts of silly tricks to get rid of them like teaspoons of sugar.”

He let his breath out and hiccupped again. “All in my mind.”

“Right, mind over matter, you should appreciate that.”

He screwed his face up in an effort of concentration, and hiccupped again. He shook his head and made the blowfish face again. After about 30 seconds he let his breath out slowly and smiled. “How about a little bit of both?”

“Whatever works! Ouch, my side hurts.”

“So I was wondering, do you suppose we’ll ever meet up on the other side of these dreams?”

Aliyah stared at him, startled for a moment, it was the first time either of them had broached the subject in a very long time. For a split second she had an inkling of a question she had always wanted to ask.

She opened her mouth to speak and then she was sitting up in her bed. She punched her bed lightly and whispered “What’s your name?”

She lay back down and attempted to fall asleep but it soon became clear that was happening so she got up and headed to the kitchen for a glass of water...



Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!


Sort:  

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 26.34% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

What does the Over four years later at the end mean? It's so ominous! Have we jumped yet again forward in time? I was about to ask that before the scene jumped across the scene. Why don't they arrange for a meeting in real life if they're so convinced that the other is real? It's kind of strange they've taken this long, considering they're with each other 365 days of every year. Surely the bond they share by now would overcome any hesitation that a physical meeting entails?

Shit! Haha, that wasn't supposed to be there, I don't know how it got there, no there's not another time jump :)

Every time they try and ask one another's name, they wake up, that's what's stopping them :)

Taking a break now - but still enjoying the story. I had expected them to remain kids for longer, since it is children who are more malleable and able to create odd worlds of the imagination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87