In The Dreaming: Chapter Three: "Imagine the Possibilities" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue1 Prologue2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2



Chapter Three



Sunday night Collin dreamed of his young friend, and because it was her birthday, he had a surprise for her.

Aliyah walked up to him with a great big smile. “Guess what? I got a telescope, and you’re right, it is amazing.”

“I knew you’d like it,” he said distractedly.

He had a strange look of concentration on his face, and Aliyah giggled a little. “What’re you doing, it looks like you’re constipated.”

“Shhh, you’ll see in a minute.”

Aliyah's eyes grew wide as a table materialized right in front of her. Little by little it filled with an array of delicious looking goodies. Bright pink frosted cupcakes, dishes of candy, plates of cookies and a bowl full of red punch, all on top of a flowered table cloth. He kept his eyes squeezed shut, and she began to actually smell the chocolate.

“Holy freaking moly!” She exclaimed. She turned to Collin who was grinning widely.

“Happy Birthday,” he laughed. He had done some research on the subject of lucid dreaming over the past few days and learned they should be able to exert some control over the dreams- this was his practical application.

He explained this to her and watched as her sharp mind processed the information with growing excitement.

“Do you think we could change the scenery?” She asked, bouncing on her toes.

“I do. I've been thinking about that very thing, but I decided we should start with something a bit simpler," he looked down at the table.

“It’s awesome!” She reached over and picked up a cupcake, giddy to find it solid in her hand. She tried a small bite and raised her eyebrows. “Wow, this is actually good.”

Collin laughed and tried one himself.

They nibbled on all of the treats, exclaiming each time how real it tasted until Aliyah had the disturbing thought that the cookies had rabbit turds instead of chocolate chips in them.

No sooner did she think that then she actually tasted something awful.

“Oh yuck!” She squealed and spit the cookie onto the ground.

“What, what’s wrong?”

“I just started thinking “What if these are rabbit turds and now they are!”

Collin frowned, bit into one and made an awful face spitting the contents on the ground. They stared at each other for a moment than burst out laughing.

“Well, I tried. Maybe there’s a good reason why this experiment should end in failure,” he said thoughtfully.

“What I was thinking while I was eating the cupcake is that if you could imagine this than maybe we could imagine ourselves in Disneyworld or something. Then I started thinking, what if there were other people there-that gave me the creeps!” Aliyah shivered.

“Yeah. I don’t know how we have these dreams but perhaps it would be better not to tamper with them.”

Aliyah nodded agreement. “Well, it was a great idea and a great surprise anyway.” She leaned over and hugged him spontaneously. After a moment he hugged her back a little awkwardly.

“Make sure you tell me when your birthday’s coming, maybe there’s something I can think hard enough about bringing with me before I go to bed. Maybe in that case it would be more real. Yeah, I think if we actually come into the dream with it, it would be real like the time I brought the chocolate bars.” She stated.

“I know, that’s what gave me the idea for the food. Hmm, I didn’t think about trying to bring it all with me, you’re right that might’ve worked better. We’ll have to try it out.”

“Crap, my mom’s calling….” The dream faded into morning.


Continue on to Chapter Four



Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

I'm...so confused (and I did backtrack to read the one I'd missed LoL XD)

Still enjoying it though XD

Ha, yeah, when I do the rewrite there will be some fill-in between these chapters, but basically I was developing the relationship between these two through the dreams, showing glimpses of their lives as they grew- there's one more chapter like this one I think, maybe two, then I start writing their waking lives too (starting at 13/16) I have to laugh at the disjointed way I had of doing things back then :)

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 29.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi dreemit ! You just received an upvote from @share2steem !

To our deep regret, it looks like you signed up on Share2Steem V1 but never linked an account.
A lot of changes have been made to the application @share2steem and to the website https://share2steem.com since your last visit.

We want to add more value to you thanks to our constantly growing users base (1127 currently).
There are 3 high value updates on the Share2Steem dApp that you definitely cannot miss ! They will definitely aid you directly and indirectly :

  1. Daily upvote from Share2Steem account (23196 SP now and growing with an upvote worth up to $167727458.69). Once you have linked and verified a social media account, just do as per normal on your favourite social media (ie Instagram) and behind the scene, you EARN.
  2. Activate your Curation Trails in the Settings now, especially the underrated Pool ! You may get up to 10x upvote of what you give to the pool !
  3. Referral Program : probably one of the first that offers such a high referral rate - 4% of all your referrals' earnings !


    Whether you come back or not, we would love to have your feedback :
    Why haven't you used Share2Steem after signing up ?
    Were the explanations about linking a social network account not clear ?
    Maybe you're not interested in the application ?
    Or maybe you don't have any social media account except Steem ?

If you have any questions, suggestions, feel free to come to Discord

This message was generated automatically.

I remember back during my first foray into lucid dreaming. I got so hooked on it, I remember taking things too far and ended up getting a fever haha! I'm glad Collin got a good handle on it quickly. He just has to be careful not to get too hooked on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07