In The Dreaming: Chapter Eight: "Aliyah" (Fantasy Y/A Novel)

in #story5 years ago (edited)


-I wrote the following novel nearly two decades ago. In the years between then and now I've honed my craft, and my perception of this world; my thoughts and ideas; have changed dramatically. However, I still enjoy the premise and have decided to do an overhaul of revisions and rewrites, though likely not until sometime next year. (Though I'm sure I'll do a little as I post chapters)

For now I hope you will enjoy a glimpse into my book writing beginnings...



They are the closest of friends though they have never met in waking life.

the dreamingcover2-02 (1).jpeg


Prologue-PT1 Prologue-PT2 Chapter 1

Chapter 2 Chapter 3 Chapter 4

Chapter 5 Chapter 6 Chapter 7



Chapter Eight



Sitting at the table in the kitchen, her eyes went to the window. She could just make out some stars. She stared down into her cup and heard a noise from behind her.

A light turned on-her mom. “Honey, what are you doing up?”

“I don’t know, I just woke up thirsty.” She wished she could tell her mom about it in the worst way. But she carried with her the vague impression of her mom eight years ago at this very table, with a look of concern on her face. Still…perhaps she could shed some light on it. She had told Amy four years ago, and having someone to share it with had been truly great. But Amy just romanticized it, she looked at it the same way as Aliyah herself did.

“Is something wrong sweetie?” her mom sat across from her.

“No…” she trailed off. She looked at her mom’s concerned face and sighed. “Okay. Mom, do you think it’s possible to dream about someone you have never met?”

Her mom sat thoughtfully for a moment. “Well, I think that we see a lot of people in the course of our lives for very brief periods-such as the park or a crowded mall. And sometimes a face might come up out of our memories, and so it seems like we have never laid eyes on them, but in fact we have. You had a dream like that?”

“Yeah,” she swirled her water around in the cup trying to decide if she should say anymore.

“Was it a bad dream?”

“No, a nice one.”

“Oh good, I hate bad dreams.”

“Mom, do you remember when I was pretty little, I had a dream about a boy for a week that I’d never met?”

Her mom furled her brow for a moment, and a vague recollection seemed to come over her face. “Yes, I think so. Yes, in fact I remember thinking that you were awful young to start remembering people in dreams you’d only briefly seen. Wow honey, you have an impressive memory, those must have been some dreams.”

“Yeah, they were.”

“What were they about, do you remember that?”

“Just about, oh I don’t know, something to do with a stream and woods.” Looking at her mom’s face she decided again to keep Dark eyes to herself. Unless her mom put two and two together right then and there and asked if they were the same person in her dreams. She waited a moment, but her mom got up from the table instead.

“Well honey, you should try to get back to sleep now.”

She stood up and yawned, walking over to her mom and giving her a kiss. “Okay mom, goodnight.”

“Goodnight baby.”


The next morning she called Amy to see if she could come over.

When she walked in she took one look at Aliyah and said “You dreamt about him last night, huh?” She could always tell when she had.

“Yup, and this time I ALMOST asked him his name! He asked me if I thought we would ever meet on the other side of dreams, and I was just about to ask him, and I
woke up! Ahhh, it’s so frustrating.”

“I don’t know Aliyah, perhaps there is a certain timing for you to find out, and it’s just not now. I mean think about it, what could you do about it if you did know, you’re thirteen years old.”

“Yeah, but he’s sixteen, and will soon have a license and a car.”

“Right, and you think the best time for the two of you to meet, especially your handsome soul mate-”at this Aliyah elbowed her lightly, “-is while you’re still young enough to be viewed as a cute little sister?”

“I guess you’re right. It would be better if we didn’t meet until I was old enough to be with him if he really was my soul mate. He is incredibly cute. And smart. And fun.”

“See, God knows what he’s doing. You always say that he has the perfect person appointed for us, although most of us don’t get to dream about him, not in a literal way! So just trust that he also has the appointed time in which you’ll meet.”

“I guess you’re right.”

“Well, anyway, why don’t we see if your mom will take us to the Parlor around noon? We could call the gang and have them meet us?” Amy suggested.

“Oooh, yeah, good idea.” Aliyah jumped up and sought her mom out to ask.



Continue on to chapter nine

Enjoy my writing style?

Buy Your copy of The Allies of Old: Reborn

HERE

COVER REBORN BOOK (1)-page-001 (1).jpg


Check out my new author's website: https://www.linnetmclaughlin.com/



Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @pharesim, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp, @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses

If you don't see their name on the list, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page- but make sure you haven't already voted or it may unvote your selection!

Sort:  

The name of your heroine has been bugging me...and then I remembered. Last year I wrote a story with a character called Aëlífa

(Promise, I did not steal the name from you, it is as it came to me in a dream). Anyway, it was one of the only times I had a decent comment section...

:)

  • Full title: My Aëlífa is Dead (a dread fairy tale)

Ha, I believe you- and that title is awesome, would you link it to me?

https://steemit.com/sfandf-fiction/@arthur.grafo/my-aelifa-is-dead-a-dread-fairy-tale

It is only part one...though a self-contained story. Another writer asked me to write more, so, I wrote a couple more parts, but before I could write the final part, I lost all my readers and becoming discouraged, I never wrote it.

And we're heading for another time jump haha! It's going to be a weird couple of years when Colin's 18 and Aliyah's a minor. I guess five years is a good enough jump to have their paths cross in the real world. Don't you agree?

Hi, @dreemit!

You just got a 28.28% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15