Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Chapter 4, Scene 4. - based on the STEEMPUNK-NET-UNIVERSE

locomotive-2821169_1920.png

Für Deutsch bitte nach unten scrollen!


überschrift englisch.png

Groaning Fuller's man for the rough jobs rubs his wrists before he stands up groaning loudly. »Sit down and lay your arm on this! « John gives a strong push to the rolls of a small table so it rolls in my direction. He opens the cabinets as if he had already done it a thousand times before, gets out the work material, slams it on the table next to me and disinfects his hands.

Watching his every move, I wonder how much time has passed since the boss of Ultima Corporation left the room. He could return any moment and that makes me incredibly nervous. Satisfied, John places everything next to my arm on the table and sits down on the opposite side of me. »That is going to hurt Langdon. If I cut the connection to your nerves in a moment, you should bite on this. « He hands me a rag and nods.

With a narrow knife, he removes four small plates from the surface of my connector, revealing a view on small, deeper screws. Carefully he gets them out and puts the case aside. The inside of the case is made up of various tiny cables, hard drives, storage disks and glowing lights. With the tip of the knife, John pushes a button down and the lights of the connector go out. He releases several wires from the hard drives, turns out more screws and removes the next layer. The level directly on my skin is implanted in my arm largely so that you can’t remove them easily. The skin in the middle is whitish and I feel strangely naked without my connector. Three almost transparent, only about centimeter long cables are directly protruding from my skin. The idea of having no connector fills me with discomfort. It was always there for my whole life. He doesn’t only visually grace my arm; he connects me with the world around me. Social contacts, shopping, appointments, my health, everything is connected to this little device and I don’t know a life without it. The idea of surviving without this connection with Skygarden scares me. However, if I don’t want to be locked up as Fuller's guinea pig for the rest of my life, I have no choice but to risk it. »Now comes the painful part right? « I clamp the cloth between my teeth and form a fist with my hands. Don’t think about it Langdon, just do it!

John nods, taps the cable protruding from my arm with his fingertips, fixates my arm with the other hand, and pulls the debris out of my skin with a powerful jerk.

The pain runs far into my upper arm and reflexively I pull my hand back. Tears are running into my eyes, while my body feels like my arm is burning from the inside out. Like cotton, I hear John's voice and realize that he grabs me by the other arm and pulls me to my feet. »Go! Let’s get out of here! « He yells at me and pulls me after him.

With difficulty, I stumble through the door, out into the empty corridor and try to get a clear mind again. My whole arm burns and feels strangely numb at the same time as if it had fallen asleep. Like a lifeless foreign object, it hangs in my right hand and I press it against my chest protectively.

As the door closes behind me and the elevator starts moving, I realize that we are going downwards. »I thought the exit would be on the upper levels? «
»Do you really believe that there is only one way out of here? «
»Presumably not! « Groaning, I lean against the back wall and slowly my perception gets back to me.
»There is a direct connection to the fighting arena. It is one of the few buildings that is directly connected with the sector below Skygarden. «

The elevator opens up and a hallway without doors, windows or any sign of life lies in front of us. Only the first few meters are enlightened with bright light and after that, everything is swallowed by pure darkness. An uncomfortable feeling of tightness lays on my chest and I feel like fair game on the open plain, knowing that a hunter lurks in the shade of the trees.

John hurries ahead and with each additional meter, he covers, one of the light bulbs turns on.



-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Intro

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 3.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 4.

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 3.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 4.

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 3. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 3. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 3. scene 3.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 3. scene 4.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 3. scene 5.

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 4. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 4. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 4. scene 3.

uhrentrenner.png

-Official STEEMPUNK-NET account
-STEEMPUNKS-NET - SPN-Stats
-STEEMPUNK-NET -- Update No. 15 -- Short Vid by dehenne -- Housing in progress(English/German)

überschrift deutsch.png





Stöhnend reibt Fullers Mann fürs Grobe sich die Handgelenke, bevor er laut ächzen aufsteht. »Setz dich und leg deinen Arm hier drauf!« John gibt den Rollen eines kleinen Tisches einen kräftigen Stoß in meine Richtung. Als hätte er es schon tausend Mal getan, öffnet er die Schränke, holt sich das Arbeitsmaterial raus, knallt es neben mir auf den Tisch und desinfiziert seine Hände.

Wachsam verfolge ich jede seiner Bewegungen und frage mich, wie viel Zeit vergangen ist, seit der Boss der Ultima Corporation den Raum verlassen hat. Er kann jeden Moment zurückkommen und das macht mich tierisch nervös. Zufrieden legt John alles neben meinem Arm auf den Tisch und setzt sich mir gegenüber. »Das wird weh tun Langdon. Wenn ich nachher die Verbindung zu deinen Nervenbahnen trenne, solltest du hier drauf beißen.« Er reicht mir einen Lappen und nickt mir zu.

Mit einem schmalen Messer löst er vier kleine Platten von der Oberfläche meines Connectors und gibt damit den Blick auf kleine, tiefer liegende Schrauben frei. Sorgfältig dreht er sie raus und legt das Gehäuse zur Seite. Das Innenleben unter der Schutzhülle besteht aus diversen winzigen Kabeln, Festplatten, Speicherplatten und leuchtenden Lämpchen. Mit der Spitze des Messers drückt John einen Knopf nach unten und dem Connector gehen die Lichter aus. Er löst mehrere Drähte aus den Festplatten, dreht weitere Schrauben raus und entfernt die nächste Schicht. Die Ebene direkt auf meiner Haut ist zu einem großen Teil in meinen Arm implantiert, so das man sie nicht ohne Weiteres entfernen kann. Die Haut in der Mitte ist weißlich und ich fühle mich merkwürdig nackt ohne meinen Connector. Drei beinahe durchsichtige, nur etwa einen Zentimeter lange Kabel, ragen direkt aus meiner Haut empor. Die Vorstellung, keinen Connector mehr zu haben, erfüllt mich mit Unbehagen. Er war immer da, schon mein ganzes Leben lang. Nicht nur optisch ziert er meinen Arm, er verbindet mich mit der Welt um mich herum. Sozialkontakte, Einkaufen, Termine, meine Gesundheit, einfach alles ist mit diesem kleinen Gerät verbunden und ein Leben ohne, kenne ich nicht. Die Vorstellung, ohne diese Verbindung mit Skygarden zu überleben, macht mir Angst. Aber wenn ich nicht den Rest meines Lebens als Fullers Versuchskaninchen eingesperrt sein will, habe ich keine andere Wahl als es zu riskieren. »Jetzt kommt der schmerzhafte Teil oder?« Ich klemme mir das Tuch zwischen die Zähne und balle meine Finger zur Faust. Nicht darüber nachdenken Langdon, einfach machen!

John nickt, umschließt mit den Fingerspitzen die aus meinem Arm herausragenden Kabel, fixiert mit der anderen Hand meinen Arm und zieht mit einem kräftigen Ruck die Fremdkörper aus meiner Haut.

Der Schmerz zieht sich weit in meinen Oberarm und reflexartig reiße ich meine Hand zurück. Tränen schießen mir in die Augen, während mein Körper sich anfühlt, als würde mein Arm von innen heraus verbrennen. Wie durch Watte höre ich Johns Stimme und realisiere, dass er mich am anderen Arm packt und auf die Füße reißt. »Los raus hier!« Schreit er mich an und zerrt mich hinter sich her.

Mühsam stolpere ich ihm nach durch die Türe, auf den leeren Flur hinaus und versuche, meine sieben Sinne wieder zusammen zu bekommen. Mein ganzer Arm brennt und fühlt sich zeitgleich merkwürdig taub an, als wäre er eingeschlafen. Wie ein lebloser Fremdkörper hängt er in meiner rechten Hand und ich presse ihn schützend gegen meine Brust.

Als sich die Türe hinter mir schließt und der Fahrstuhl sich in Bewegung setzt, wird mir klar, dass wir nach unten fahren. »Ist der Ausgang nicht oben?«
»Glaubst du wirklich, es gibt nur einen Weg hier raus?«
»Vermutlich nicht!« Stöhnend lehne ich mich gegen die Rückwand und langsam kommt meine Wahrnehmung zurück.
»Es gibt eine direkte Verbindung von hier zur Kampfarena. Sie ist eines der wenigen Gebäude, das direkt mit dem Sektor unter Skygarden verbunden ist.«

Der Fahrstuhl öffnet sich und ein Gang ohne Türen, Fenster oder irgend einem Zeichen von Leben, liegt vor uns. Nur die ersten Meter sind hell erleuchtet, danach liegt alles in völliger Finsternis. Ein unbehagliches Gefühl der Enge legt sich um meine Brust und ich fühle ich wie Freiwild auf der offenen Ebene, wissend das im Schatten der Bäume ein Jäger lauert.

John eilt mit großen Schritten voran und mit jedem weiteren Meter den er zurücklegt, leuchtet eine der Glühbirnen auf.


-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb. Intro
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 1. Absatz 1. Absatz 2 Absatz 3. Absatz 4.
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 2. Absatz 1. Absatz 2. Absatz 3.Absatz 4.
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 3. Absatz 1. Absatz 2. Absatz 3. Absatz 4. Absatz 5.

-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb -Kapitel 4 Absatz 1. Absatz 2. Absatz 3.

uhrentrenner.png

-Offizieller STEEMPUNK-NET Account
-STEEMPUNKS-NET - SPN-Status Aufzeichnungen
-STEEMPUNK-NET -- Update No. 15 -- Short Vid by dehenne -- Housing in progress(English/German)


shield-2714982_1920.png

Sort:  

Danke!

Oh, ouch! I was feeling Langdon's pain too, lol.

But, better out than in, as they say. :D

Thank you for continuing with this story, I really look forward to reading it.

Ja das hat mir auch weh getan.
Danke das du immer so fleissig mitliest, das freut mich sehr.

This post has received a 18.76 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @kissi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34