Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Chapter 2, Scene 4. - based on the STEEMPUNK-NET-UNIVERSE

in #steemit7 years ago

locomotive-2821169_1920.png

Für Deutsch bitte nach unten scrollen!


blade-2027703_1280.png

"Langdon." My father's barely audible voice takes me out of the fog of memories and back to reality. I lie on the floor, next to the bed and feel the sweat on my heated skin. My muscles are shaking from exertion and I know I've had another epileptic seizure.

I gruntly pull the garbage can towards me while I kneel down. For a moment I wait motionlessly whether my stomach calms down or not. At least the stabbing pain in my head has finally disappeared. When I am sure that my food won't come back to the top on its own, I get up slowly and cling to the end of the bed. For a moment the room sways back and forth and I sit down before my body can hit the floor again.

"Langdon..."
Father's arms tremble as he tries to pull the oxygen mask from his face, but his hands keep slipping away weakly. Slowly I loosen the mask, carefully, because I'm afraid that the upper layer of skin could stick to the silicone and tear off.

With trembling fingers he touches my hand and an icy shower runs over my back as he touches me.

"Come closer," he whispers barely audibly and I bend close to his dry mouth.

"Did you listen to all the messages?"
"Sure, but I don't understand..."
"No.they're listening!"He puts his hand on my mouth and with a deep sigh he closes his eyes.
"Don't, stay awake, please." I whisper, begging. "Who's listening, what are you talking about?"
"I'm sorry, my boy, I've done so many things wrong."
"What's happening to me, why do I see those memories?"

"Your implant starts working again", I stare at my father as he lies in front of me and stares back out of yellow eyes. Although he presses his lips tightly together, I can hear his voice very clearly in my head. "No matter what you find out, no matter what they tell you, I'm your father. Your genes do not decide who you are, but your heart and you have always been like a son to me, just like your brothers and sisters. You have to find her, you have two sisters and a brother, I'm sure they're still alive. Out there somewhere. Trust no one but..."

The heart rate on his monitor beats irregularly up and down while he can barely keep his eyes open.
"I just wanted to protect you all the time, but I just had to trust you..." Suddenly he starts to cough, clings to my sweater and I help him to stand up. Blood drips from his nose and his eyes turn red.

Someone takes their fingers off my sweater and pulls me away from the bed.

I hear my father laughing heartily and shouting,"Faster Langdon, faster. You have to run!"

Suddenly it smells of spring, a light wind blows through my hair and sees myself as a little boy, flying across the meadow. Behind me a red dragon climbs steeply into the air and his colorful ribbons flutter in the wind. I laugh and call back "See, I can do it. I did it!"We're both laughing and I feel so free. Someone pushes a hand into mine and I look down, a little girl smiles at me. Happily I turn left and watch the two children. They are lying on a picnic blanket, wearing blindfolds while they paint the same picture at the same time.
"Can you guess which animal I made up, Uncle?"

Suddenly the memory breaks down, the connection with my father breaks down and although I realize that the doctors are still trying to get his heart to beat again, I know that he is dead.


Many thanks to @jedigeiss for his translation!

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Intro
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 3.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 1. scene 4.

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Chapter 2. scene 3.

-MMORPG on STEEM -- STEEMPUNK-NET -- Weekly Update 4 -- Wöchentliches Update 4 -- Closed Beta at 27.11. !

-The extension of the Steempunk.net characters [ my illustrations + the work steps ]


blade-2027703_1280 deutsch.png

»Langdon.« Die kaum hörbare Stimme meines Vaters holt mich aus dem Nebel der Erinnerungen zurück in die Realität. Ich liege auf dem Boden, neben dem Krankenbett und fühle den Schweiß auf meiner erhitzten Haut. Meine Muskeln zittern vor Anstrengung und ich weiß, dass ich wieder einen epileptischen Anfall hatte.

Ächzend ziehe ich den Mülleimer an mich heran, während ich mich auf die Knie schiebe. Für einen Moment warte ich reglos, ob mein Magen sich wieder beruhigt oder nicht. Wenigstens ist der stechende Schmerz in meinem Kopf endlich verschwunden. Als ich mir sicher bin, dass mein Essen nicht eigenständig wieder nach oben kommt, stehe ich langsam auf und klammere mich am Bettende fest. Für einen Moment schwankt das Zimmer bedrohlich hin und her und ich setzte mich, bevor mein Körper erneut auf den Boden knallen kann.

»Langdon ...«
Vaters Arme zittert, als er versucht, sich die Sauerstoffmaske vom Gesicht zu zerren, doch seine Hände rutschen immer wieder kraftlos ab. Langsam löse ich die Maske, vorsichtig, weil ich Angst habe, dass die oberste Hautschicht am Silikon kleben bleiben und abreißen könnte.

Mit zitternden Fingern tastet er nach meiner Hand und ein eisiger Schauer läuft über meinen Rücken, als er mich berührt.

»Komm näher« flüstert er kaum hörbar und ich beuge mich nah an seinen ausgetrockneten Munden.

»Hast du alle Nachrichten abgehört?«
»Klar aber ich verstehe nicht…«
»Nicht, sie hören mit!« Er legt seine Hand auf meinen Mund und mit einem tiefen Seufzer schließt er die Augen.
»Nicht, bleib wach, bitte.« Flüstere ich flehend. »Wer hört mit, wovon redest du?«
»Es tut mir leid mein Junge, ich habe so vieles falsch gemacht.«
»Was passiert mit mir, warum sehe ich diese Erinnerungen?«

»Dein Implantat beginnt wieder zu arbeiten.« Ich starre meinen Vater an, wie er vor mir liegt und aus gelben Augen zurück starrt. Obwohl er die Lippen fest zusammen presst, höre ich seine Stimme klar und deutlich in meinem Kopf. »Egal was du herausfindest, was immer sie dir auch sagen, ich bin dein Vater. Nicht deine Gene entscheiden, wer du bist, sondern dein Herz und du warst immer wie ein Sohn für mich, genau wie deine Geschwister. Du musst sie suchen, du hast zwei Schwestern und einen Bruder, ich bin mir sicher, sie leben noch. Irgendwo da draußen. Vertraue niemandem außer ...«

Die Herzfrequenz auf seinem Monitor schlägt unregelmäßig nach oben und unten aus, während er kaum die Augen offenhalten kann.
»Ich wollte dich immer nur beschützen, dabei hätte ich dir einfach nur vertrauen müssen ...« Plötzlich beginnt er zu Husten, klammert sich an meinem Pulli fest und ich helfe ihm dabei, sich aufzurichten. Blut tropft aus seiner Nase und seine Augen färben sich rot.

Jemand löst seine Finger von meinem Pulli und zerrt mich vom Bett weg.

Ich höre meinen Vater, wie er herzlich lacht, und ruft »Schneller Langdon, schneller. Du musst rennen!«

Plötzlich riecht es nach Frühling, ein leichter Wind weht mir durchs Haar und sehe mich selber als kleiner Knirps über die Wiese flitzen. Hinter mir steigt ein roter Drache steil in die Luft und seine bunten Bänder flattern im Wind. Ich lache und rufe zurück »Siehst du, ich kann es. Ich hab es geschafft!« Wir lachen beide einfach nur und ich fühle mich so frei. Jemand schiebt eine Hand in meine und ich schaue nach unten, ein kleines Mädchen lächelt mich an. Glücklich drehe ich mich nach links und beobachte die zwei Kinder. Sie liegen auf einer Picknickdecke, tragen beide eine Augenbinde, während sie zeitgleich dasselbe Bild malen.
»Kannst du erraten, welches Tier ich mir ausgedacht habe Onkel?«

Plötzlich zerreißt die Erinnerung, die Verbindung zu meinem Vater bricht und obwohl ich realisiere, dass die Ärzte noch immer versuchen, sein Herz wieder zum Schlagen zu bringen, weiß ich, dass er tot ist.


Vielen Dank an @jedigeiss für seine Übersetzung ins Englische.


-Steempunk Hackathon

-Langdon Bennett - The invisible thief - Der unsichtbare Dieb - based on the STEEMPUNK-NET-UNIVERSE - Intro -Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb. Kapitel 1. Szene 1.

-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb. Kapitel 1. Szene 2
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb. Kapitel 1. Szene 3.
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 1. Szene 4.

-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 2. Szene 1.
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 2. Szene 2.
-Langdon Bennett - Der unsichtbare Dieb - Kapitel 2. Szene 3.

-MMORPG on STEEM -- STEEMPUNK-NET -- Weekly Update 4 -- Wöchentliches Update 4 -- Closed Beta at 27.11. !

-Die Erweiterung der Steempunk.net Charaktere [ Vorstellung meiner Illustrationen + die Arbeisschritte ]


shield-2714982_1920.png

Sort:  

auweia ich weiß was ich am Sonntag zu tun habe. bin seit chapter 1 scene 3 nicht wieder eingestiegen. Nachholbedarf! werde berichten wie ich es fand.

Oh sehr gerne, da freue ich mich drauf!
Lese auch immer bei euch fleissig mit :)

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 37.04 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

Okay, so I was right earlier, it looks like Langdon's implant is working again, and he is receiving memories from his father through it. Very cyperpunk! It would have been interesting to have developed further the effect on Langdon, of his father's death while their minds were merged like this. Surely there would have been some sort of psychological impact on him, of experiencing his father's death in such a visceral, immediate manner. Roll on Chapter Three!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52