Steemotion Contest - Feelings of Fear

in #steemotion7 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 11.15.46 PM.png

Last week's inaugural round for the Steemotion (thanks again @ma1neevent for the title!) contest was a success! We had 11 entries, a boost to the payouts (thanks @aggroed!), and some really great winners!

Because the ones I liked the best were so close, I couldn't choose first, second, and third. Instead, I had two groups of payouts that split the prize money. I actually think I like this way of awarding prizes, so I will keep it going forward.

This week's topic:

FEELINGS OF FEAR


Fear is a much misunderstood emotion. The more subtle levels of this essential emotion are more likely to be called intuition, instinct, or focus. This emotion helps us pay attention to our surroundings, be aware and alert, and helps us notice changes around us. Fear helps keep us safe and out of immediate and present danger.
file0001750034269.jpg
source

Rules of the contest:

• Submit only original, creative work (by you) expressing the topic.
• Creative work of any form will be accepted (audio, visual, literary, etc.) Length limit of 1000 words for stories/500 words for poems.
• If you submit a piece, you agree to let me share it (with links to your original post) during the show.
• I will announce winners during the show, and award prizes then or soon after.
• Winners will be judged not only on quality, but also on how well they represent the topic.

How to submit:

• Post your piece on your blog, with a link back to this contest
• Post a link to your blogpost in the comments of this post.
• Limit to 3 entries per person.

PRIZES

I will rank winners and distribute $15 SBD, accordingly.

DEADLINE

Thursday 10pm UTC
There it is! If you have any questions, let me know.


20180221_125254.jpg

Winners from last week's Songs of Sadness round were as follows:

  • @laviq with his great instrumental. I picked this as the top winner at 1 1/2 place, awarding 10SBD. Congrats @laviq! The music is beautiful, but it was the description that really put this entry over the others, because it reflected the idea of sadness so well: He says:

consisting of 2 melodies trying to be together but the distance between them takes them apart.

Listen here: Without You

Tied for 2-ish place are the following three entries, who each received 6SBD:

  • @jackielouvarquez has a stunning a cappella performance of her original song. This really expresses the emotion of grief more than sadness, but it's in the same family. Listen here: Ease the pain and sadness

  • @stickchumpion brought up an old creation of his that has of the most emotion-welcoming group of lyrics I've ever heard. And it's about sadness! Listen here: Right now I feel like being sad

  • @rial17's song tells the stories of two lovers who must part - having to let go is what causes sadness to arise, and it is what helps us through. Listen to Memories


I'd also like to give a great shoutout THANK YOU! to the rest of the great entries who participated in this first round. Please check out their posts!


Thank you everyone!

All payouts from this post and all of my March posts will be donated to the Blue Ridge Irish Music School. Read about it here.

Sort:  

Thank you very much @uniwhisp!!!

I can't seem to get away from this contest series! First of all its a great idea and secondly every new feeling you name I go like "oh.......I had done that and I should share....."

So, I had to be here again, this time with Cassandra's theme

Please enjoy: https://steemit.com/mspwaves/@laviq/cassandra-s-theme-music-for-euripides-troades

Hi Laviq! Oh no, I'm so sorry, but this contest actually ended last Thursday! I was late in posting the call for submissions, so I apologize for that as well. And you're not the only one who was confused by it. Going forward I will put dates to keep this from happening.

I really appreciate your enjoyment of the contest! Next topic will be that of hatred. Do you have anything in your repertoire that might fit for that? I'm posting about the next round and annoucing the winners of this past round shortly.

That's ok. It would be too much to stand lucky two times in a row :)

Too bad for the music, because it's one of my good compositions in my opinion.

Now, hatred........you got me unprepared! Not one if my favorite subjects!

Thanks again!

The funny thing is, in the work that I do Hatred might be different than you realize. Have you heard of Shadow work (a concept coined by Carl Jung). Basically the idea of disliking something in others because it is reflection of some suppressed part of yourself.

It's a nice approach, but I don't have suppressed parts in myself :p

Haha, okay. Well, hopefully another topic soon will catch your interest. Thank you!

My piece is too old to be edited, and I don't create pieces for competitions, but I'd like to submit this piece, Scar Tissue, for consideration.

Hey there! This contest was actually for last week! I did post it a few days later than I should have, but the winners have already been chosen. I'm so sorry! BUT!! The next contest's topic is Hatred (I still need to make the post) and I think this poem actually would work quite well for that. Are you cool with submitting for the next round?

Sure. If you think this piece fits, go for it :) Though I don't feel "hatred" is its strongest motif, and none of my other pieces are really about hatred.

Do I need to resubmit there, or can I consider it submitted?

Check out my brief explanation to laviq's comment below! Fighting against one's own "inner demons" so-to-say came to mind when I read your piece, which is what would be fitting for the hatred topic. Maybe I'm interpreting wrong, though!

Well, it's poetry. It is fine that one reads something else in it than I intended. It's more that I don't hate those aspects of myself. More fear letting them consume me.

But I'm fine with submitting it for that :)

Cool. No need to resubmit @geekorner, but I usually require people to link back to the contest. I know you can't edit your submission post anymore. Would you resteem the latest call for submission post? https://steemit.com/steemotion/@uniwhisp/steemotion-contest-hymns-of-hatred

Done, with pleasure (It didn't exist at the time :P ) :)

Haha, I know. I need to be better about posting these things on time. Thank you!

I found it, bookmarked this to read entries. I enjoyed so much the show. And I really got rid of burden writing a bit of it. Thank you.

yey! congrats to all winners..thanks @uniwhisp

You're welcome. Thanks for participating!

Thank you for this amazing contest!!

Here is my entry for this week: https://steemit.com/steemotion/@atomcollector/steemotion-contest-feelings-of-fear-entry-all-i-detest


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

Thank you for your entry!

Thank you for this entry!

Hi @uniwhisp. This is a cool contest for us to talk about emotions. I'm not sure if my post can qualify for this contest. So happened I did post something about this topic days ago. Let me know if it will do?

Here's the link to it:
https://steemit.com/popcontest/@happycrazycon/mechanisms-towards-fear

If it doesn't qualify, I would like to say sorry first 😊

Hi @happycrazycon! I think your piece is more of an essay rather than a creative work - is that right? I'm looking more for creative works for this contest, but I'll probably talk about your entry on the show anyway. Thanks for sharing it with me!

Oh I see. Sorry for the little misunderstanding and thank you for still reading/dropping by :) Appreciate that a lot @uniwhisp! Looking forward to what you may have compiled from this series!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63834.78
ETH 2627.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78