Horror Vacui - Spoken Word Poetry

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

Horror Vacui.png

Spoken word poetry presented on @dtube, linked here.



Original poem posted to @Steem, linked here and copied below for your reference.

Horror Vacui

                Muse


The tip of an iceberg
        sits in my whisky -
sinking the titanic with her fury
                of indifference;

a round globe spinning
to the way things used to be.

Silver for a bullet,
a bullet for a tooth -
no eyes, no eyes -
but if you had blinds,
        don't worry,
the sun hated you too.

A casket shaped flask
        waxing poetically:
brushing fingers sensually,
        steel eyes gazing
prophetically gone with
the wind, no push to send
us careening over the edge;
or to hang our livers out to
dry for the next sky burial;

        no waves to drown
                our plastics in.

                Memories


"Do you know what drowning's like?"

                I ask, naivety
a perfect, unbroken circle
        of marriage rubber
        in my back pocket.

My feet stick to the tiles,
        house parties in
drag - all soles melt into
        a ball-less blacktop.

The crooked picture above
the mantelpiece microwave
grins - or smiles, crookedly -
muting the trumpeteer's glorious,
        god anointed announcement -

"the door is closing, and will not
                        reopen."

        Awaiting the next train
stop painted black with ash-

ash wood columns four postering
silk suffocating a silhouette:
        someone I once knew.

                Moments


"Does anyone know what death's like?"

        I ask, two dreamcatchers
reflected dancing and twining together
as they twist above an emergency
        broadcast frequency on stasis:
"repeat" playing backwards across
a smartphone with a spiderwebbing
screen - hands up; now out to the
side! where we hung up our keys and
hats and scarves and all the things
        we used to wear to keep out
the sun and the water and the wind
                        and the others;

        or, maybe, just to keep our heads
                on our shoulders.

                Monuments


Shed these layers like lizard skin,
                my fellow man, my kin,
        devour our past selves like
condensation collectors pressed
        against glass ceilings
collecting dust like wellfare
in the corners of their eyes.

        Brush the dust, if you will,
an eye for the finer teeth.

We, condensation collectors
collecting dust in the corners
                of our eyes
        like comic books;

        us, becoming real
        like superheroes;

        we, reborn like
                civilization;

        us, becoming death,
the destroyer of worlds;

and we, undone like
        colored yarn

                spooling
an unregulated fishing net;
        or a nuisance;
        or a noose.

        And all the bodies
        float to the top,
the tips of icebergs
praying for a ship
        to find them;

the last sip before
you are forgotten
        and the door
        clicks shut.

z_divider.png

entered into @uniwhisp's Steemotion Contest for her MSP show Sttemotion currently curated around emotions.

thank you for the read | watch | listen
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo taken by Nishanth Jois and is CC2.0


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 79%.

There are several details that can be improved Step by step you will go far! "Learning never tires the mind" - Leonardo Da Vinci


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Hey @cessarespinozaa, thank you so much, good sir.

In order to pursue better improving my art, what would be the "several details that can be improved Step by step" you referenced so that I can present better pieces in the future?

Thank you so much for the direction!

good work @carmalain7. Improve the organization a bit, and add some images referring to the text

I'm not sure I understand, improve the organization of poetry? It can't really be organized differently than the format of the poem. Also, poetry as an art form has rarely used more than one image if that historically, classically and contemporarily across even the most famous of works.

Hmm, maybe the nature of my text makes the more difficult to approach, I'll definitely put some thought to it, thank you for the words of feedback, good sir.

Loading...

Loved listening to you read this as I followed along. It does make a difference. And for the poetry itself, this is an epic piece of writing. Not sure where to begin. You've weaved a tale, both symbolic and mesmerising, the mundane and the ethereal.

I'm glad you took the time to write and share this.

Scott, these are just the absolute nicest words, my friend, thank you thank you.

Yeah, I might move to @DSound in the future because I always seem to have some problem or another with uploading through DTube, so it's good to hear that the time and work shows, my man.

I have used dsound a couple of times. Haven't gotten into making it a regular thing yet for my poetry, but certainly hope to do some more soon.

I resteemed this also, as it is worthy of my views/listens. All the best.

thank you so much, Scott, you are far to kind - honored! z_thank_you.png

This poem struck a personal chord with me in the first part - as my blog (outside of steemit) is "singlemaltmuse." As usual, your poem is lush with image and mystery. Thank you for entering this piece in the Steemotion contest!

If you'd like to listen to the show, I'm airing tomorrow at 8pm UTC at mspwaves. You can listen on the website or come to PAL to listen and chat along in the audience channel.

You always amazed me in your poem :)

Bravo!!! Bravo!!! I am bowing and crying. This piece reached my soul. Thank you for allowing all that read to experience and accompany you on this journey. I agree with what @naquoya 's description of this piece being epic and ethereal. So true. I am so glad you are on Steemit and that our paths crossed. I will be following you continually. @carmalain7

You inspire me to inspire you to be inspired by you in inspiring you to inspire me inspiring you, @rensoul17, and this is the culture of creative support and love that you have a direct hand in shaping here on Steem. It is not just an energy that flows through us, but all that you have touched - your ability to zoom out and see the vision, I'm so happy our paths crossed as well, Ren. z_thank_you.png

Now, I was first skeptical about clicking the link to the video. Glad I did though

I'm not sure I understand, good sir, why the skepticism?
Also, I'm not sure what your comment has to do with any of the content here?

You won the 100 SP delegation!

congrats.gif

This poem struck a personal chord with me in the first part - as my blog (outside of steemit) is "singlemaltmuse." As usual, your poem is lush with image and mystery. Thank you for entering this piece in the Steemotion contest!

If you'd like to listen to the show, I'm airing tomorrow at 8pm UTC at mspwaves. You can listen on the website or come to PAL to listen and chat along in the audience channel.

Just seen this on msp-waves show. great work. very impressed.

thank you so much, article61, truly honored z_thank_you.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52