"Right now I feel like being sad" This is my Entry for the Uniwhisp Steemotion contest on sadness.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

YoungChrisTeleNatl-e1271720164979.jpg
Image Source

Link to contest page

I wrote this song a four years ago and think it fits the theme of sadness.

Inspiration

In retrospect when I look back at this song I guess I didn't know much about depression or that I could have been depressed. That being said this song is pretty much about how it is ok to be sad sometimes. At the time I wasn't the happiest dude mainly because my life was beginning to change in front of my eyes and I felt like I was standing still . From my mid 20’s to turning 30 I had been touring in a band, playing regular gigs and started my own band writing songs. While I progressed through my 30’s band members dropped off and had babies. Finally the rhythm section in my old band that I created ,wrote songs for ,recorded , produced and organised a US tour. Decided to have kids so that left me without out a band again. Therefore when I wrote this I wasn't exactly happy . In addition to this I had backed out of to many potential relationships due to a combination of cold feet and trying to find a perfect women that didn't exist. and was beginning to envision myself as a miserable old codger scaring children and women as I meandered drunk down the streets.

However it is ok to go through some dark times and it is ok to be sad . I think a lot of people have this unrealistic version of life where you have to be happy all the time. This is just not possible and it is for this reason that there is a lot of drug and alcohol abuse . This song is ironically celebrating times of solace , where you undergo that deep feeling of sadness. While in the realms of deep sadness your empathy is heightened and things like music take on a deeper meaning and you feel it with every sinew of your heart and mind . Sounds like drugs right , well what can also be guaranteed is once you emerge through the sadness swamp and shake off the excess misery you can be assured that you good times are a mere step away and you will feel euphoria ,love and ecstasy once again.

Lyrics

Let you slip through my hands like fine Umgeni sand
Right now I feel like being sad
Don't tell me cheer up mate turn that frown upside down
I'm not a piece of tinsel town*

Sad that I will cry
Not sad that I will die
Sad I didn't try
Sad you passed me by

Not a hypochondriac or chained to Prozac
Right now I feel like being sad
Not sad life's done me wrong just sad and wrote a song
I frown to show no surgical smile

Sad that I will cry
Not sad that I will die
Sad I didn't try
Sad you passed me by

Just feel like being sad

*Umgeni is a river in my home town of Durban and they use sand to build stuff , I dont know if it is that fine (poetic license)

Sort:  

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Yay, sadness! :D

Yay, sadness! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67780.64
ETH 3792.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63