St. Paddy's Month Fundraiser!

in #fundraiser6 years ago (edited)

The month of March is upon us, and that means ...

St. Patrick’s Day is coming!


For a lot of people, it's the one day of the year that they listen to Irish music or even think about Ireland. However, in my life, Irish music plays a central and significant role. To tell you that story, and to support an amazing organization, I will be offering a series of blog posts about Irish music during the month of March.

I will also donate the payouts from all of my March posts to that amazing organization -

The Blue Ridge Irish Music School.

What is the Blue Ridge Irish Music School?

BRIMS was founded 18 years ago after a couple of fiddle teachers found a passion for Irish music within their students. The teachers, students, and families joined together to raise money for a study trip to Ireland. They performed for the local community in various places and had so much support that once they returned from that first trip, they decided to start the nonprofit school and begin offering classes.

Study trips to Ireland have remained an important part of the school's mission, and I was lucky enough to attend one a few years ago. We had workshops and lessons in Irish music, song, and dance from some of the most talented artists of the genre - Karan Casey, Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh, Kevin Costello, Conal O'Grada, and John Faulkner, to name a few. And of course, we got to see the sights of Éire:

20160621_141357.jpg

BRIMS teaches students of all ages, and has cultivated a community of wonderful, supportive, and talented musicians and dancers. I've loved Irish music my entire life, but it really wasn't until I became a member of BRIMS (5 years ago) that I have been able to grow as a musician, increasing my skill and repertoire. I now get to perform regularly, both with the school, and in a separate band that has formed from the connections I've made at BRIMS. Here's An Lár last St. Paddy's day:

An Lar Paddy's Day.jpg

As a non-profit, we are always seeking support and donations. One of the coolest thing about the school is that we never turn students away for inability to pay.

So, in an effort to spread the love of Irish music in this month o' March, I will be sharing snippets of music, facts about the tradition, and various other interesting bits.

Please spare an upvote if you have one, and should you be blessed with an abundance of FIAT and be moved to do so, you can donate directly to the school here.


Go raibh maith agat (that's thank you in Irish)!

All payouts from this post and all of my March posts will be donated to the Blue Ridge Irish Music School
Sort:  

Wonderful to see the art and culture being taught to those interested, love Irish music and grew up on Scottish dancing, plus bagpipe music.

A great incentive to support @uniwhisp

Oh how wonderful! I love bagpipes. As you know, Scotland and Ireland share so much of their cultures. Thanks for your support!

Aww, this is amazing! I love fundraiser too! Let’s make this happen :)

Thanks @kubbyelizabeth! I'm considering making a fundraising goal and just becoming totally obnoxious with repeated postings until we reach the goal. :D

This is a generous move! keep it up!

Very beautiful work.

amazing music mam...☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55