" Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #7 " My Steemit Journey So Far

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)

My name is Ewuoso Olusesi oluwaseyi with the username @ewuoso on steemit. I joined steemit june 2017 after a lot of persuasion from my elder brother @jammey, who is now out of the country. I was not really serious when he first introduced me to steemit as i was thinking it wouldn't be possible for me to write and earn online. However, I decided to still give it a shot though and I started making steemit posts once in a while. I remember writing post as short as tweets and thinking I was actually really blogging posts. My elder brother used to laugh at me then.

IMG-20180315-WA0043.jpg

Example of the post i used to write then.

Fact

One funny thing about that post was the tag I used. I used @gee1 as a tag for that post. @gee1 happened to be a girl I met in a whatsapp group back then and I never knew there were specific tags we were supposed to use and since @gee1 was the only thing i could think of then, it was the only tag I was using for my posts. I actually did that almost five times before I eventually stopped when my elder brother told me it was wrong.

Slowly, I started learning a thing or two about steemit from the WhatsApp groups my elder brother added me to. As at the time of joining the groups then i met with wonderful steemians like @tojukaka, @gee1, @evelyniroh and @samstickkz who were already on steemit way before me. I also met others like @prechi @sussan @lemmybe, @amec and @jeaniepearl registered at about the same time that I did.

I must say that I really learnt a lot of things from the above mentioned steemians. However, I learnt most of the things I know about steemit today from discord channels. I was very active at various discord channels such as; steemgigs, whaleshares and pal network and I met a lot of people on these channels.

On steemgigs I met lovely people like @ghayas and @surpassinggoogle. At whalesshares, I met @krazykrista and @akrid and on pal network, I met @clayboyn,@sircork and @lexiconical. Of course, I met a lot more people than I have mentioned in these channels but these are ones that I know so well and who know me as well.

Proof Of Activeness

I remember making a post The Reason Why I Can Never Fall In Love Again and @lexiconical commented on my post and it felt like the world to me.

Screenshot_542.png

Growing on steemit has definitely not been easy. I am a farmer by profession and I remember then that I had issues creating a connection between my work on the farm and blogging on steemit. I felt there was nobody who would really care about a Nigerian boy and his farm animals/livestock but I was wrong. I remember meeting @lukestokes on steemit.chat then and asking him how I could bring my farmwork on steemit. He then gave me some advice which I followed and it has really helped me a lot.

A Few Posts I've Made About My Farm

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@ewuoso/some-of-the-pictures-i-took-in-my-farm-today where i shared the pictures i took on my farm that particular day.

https://steemit.com/whalepower/@ewuoso/i-hope-you-love-me-for-what-i-do-i-am-a-farmer-i-love-farming-most-especially-rearing-of-animals here was like an official announcement of me being a farmer and i was very happy with the love i got that day.

sesi farm.jpg

https://steemit.com/whalepower/@ewuoso/a-little-documentary-of-my-farm here i shared a video of my farm.

https://steemit.com/nigeria/@ewuoso/how-i-run-my-daily-activities-on-my-farm-2017915t224348411z here i shared my activities on my farm. It is one of my best farm posts so far, not because of the payout but because i felt i really passed a message across.

sesi farm 2.jpg

Let's Not Forget This Is Also A Contest

I decided to use a stone to kill two birds. I have really been wanting to write about my journey on steemit so far and I came across A Contest By @dobartim so I decided to make the two posts become one so it will not be considered as raping reward pool as they had something in common.

Lets Get To It

Like I said earler @dobartim organised this contest and in this contest I am supposed to write on how steemit has changed my life in all these following aspects.

Life communications
Financial communications
Business communications
Education communications

Lets do this one after the other

Life Communications

My life has actually been a boring one. There is nothing interesting about it at all. Well, maybe just not interesting to me as it might be interesting to others. I was born into a polygamous family, where my mum was the second wife. Africans, especially Nigerians would understand what it means to be from a polygamous family, especially when your mum is the second wife.

Well in regards to steemit, I have started to see life differently from the way I used to see it. I used to think that nobody cared about anyone but themself. However, after a while on steemit I noticed there are a lot of people who are really caring. You see, this whole steemit thing will still remain a mystery to some people. How on earth will I write a post and people would actually take their precious time to read it. Not only that, some will also drop comments on the post. I mean, let's not even talk about the earnings now but rather focus the interactions. Its unbelievable. We talk about a lot of things like racism where mostly the whites don't like blacks. One of my fears when I first joined steemit was the fact that I was black and at the same time I was from Nigeria. I used to think nobody was going to care about me but guess what, I was wrong.

I've also learnt on my steemit journey that friendship is something we have to work hard to earn. This is why, I have tried as much as possible to key into that. I comment on peoples post a lot.

According to a data analysis @abh12345 carried out 16 days ago i have about 724 comments with 54,557 characters which make me the second highest comment maker in Nigeria

Screenshot_544.png

The kind of friendship I have made here has really helped me a lot. Now, I have a lot of people that really care about me.

That staement above made me remember @drakos and @clayboyn.

I will start with talking about @clayboyn. I remember I was in discord channel one day (PAL) and we were chatting and talking about countries then @clayboyn messaged me and we had a little chat and in the end, he sent me 12 steem. That the first gift I ever received on steemit.

Screenshot_545.png

@drakos

I made This Post about my birthday and when I woke up the next morning, I was suprised to see that @drakos sent me 10 sbd. I was suprised and overwhelmed by his show of love. He even went as far as also commenting on my post

Screenshot_546.png

These things I've gotten on steemit are the thing you cannot get freely in a normal life. I have never received any gift for my birthday apart from my parents. These people are not my parents but they feel it's lovely to give out to people and they gave to me.

There are a still a lot have received from people on the platform but time would only permit me to mention those two which are really the most unforgettable.
In summary, steemit has been great when it comes to seeing that there is more to life. There are p[eople trhat really care. You might not know but there are people that really care.

I was interviwed by @raci recently and he asked a lot of questions. Mostly about my use of steem; how it has helped me etc. It was a project that was based one steem. Read more HERE

Screenshot_547.png

He messaged me on discord and told me about the interview and i was so surprised. He is white and he wants to interview a black man. I used to think no one cared but steemit changed that orientation i had. Not only that i was choosen for the interview alongside whales on steemit.

The interview was recorded and uploaded here https://owncloud.itu.dk/index.php/s/k0e9ETjQAEJCXxS

My point is that I really wondered why on earth someone would want to interview a random black boy from Nigeria. You can say I have inferiority complex but that was just my own perspective of life.

I Have Met A Lot Of Wonderful Steemians

After finding out the good intentions of steemit, i decided to also be a part of the promotion. Then i started going for all meetups that were organised. Right now i have gone to a lot of meetups and i have lost count. I have maitained a good relationship with my fellow steemians and i can say that most of them like me.

Some OF THe Meetups I Have Gone To

https://steemit.com/video/@ewuoso/nkuw591a which took place in Enugu, Nigeria

https://steemit.com/steemit/@ewuoso/taking-the-steemit-gospel-to-an-international-level which took place in another country called Ghana

Still on Enugu https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@ewuoso/yet-another-steemit-journey-taking-the-gospel-to-enugu-nigeria-steeming-them-up

enugu.jpg

I also have a whatsapp group where i am admin and try to tutor newbies and help other fellow steemians. The group has over 200 active members.

Screenshot_548.png

We have an account with the name @kingbee which was opened by meand controlled by all admins of the group. We also have our own tag. #steembees.

I am glad with the relationship with the members as they like me a lot. Recently i won a 500sp delegation from anomadsol through the help of some of the group members. They were supposed to write about their role model steemian and i a lot of people wrote for me.

Some Of The Entries

https://steemit.com/rolemodel/@heeyahnuh/a-role-model-steemian-ewuoso written by @heeyahnuh

Screenshot_550.png

https://steemit.com/rolemodel/@stephennevets/a-role-model-steemian-ewuoso-is-my-steemit-role-model written by @sthephennevets

Screenshot_549.png

https://steemit.com/rolemodel/@odesanya/a-role-model-steemian written by @odesanya

Screenshot_551.png

https://steemit.com/rolemodel/@khojo/a-role-model-steemian-ewuoso-why-he-deserves-sp-to-continue-the-good-work-he-is-doing written by @khojo

Screenshot_552.png

Financial communications

Before steemit i was working in a green farm where we plant and harvest tomatoes. I am a graduate but the situation of the country will not allow me secure a job so i just decided to work in the farm for me to be able to put food on the table. It was not easy and i was earning peanut as salary.

farm.jpg

After i was introduced to steemit and i started earning. Things started to change for me. I could now pay my bills. I could assist my parents and siblings. All of a sudden i tasted what it felt to be away from poverty. I really owe it to steemit. I have made a lot of phurchases with my earnings on steemit.

Apart from food and clothings that my earnings have provided for me. I also used it to buy some gadgets. First was a laptop.

I wrote a post about it here

Screenshot_553.png

Screenshot_554.png

Made This Video As Appreciation Then

I Also Bought Animals with them

Read it here https://steemit.com/homesteading/@ewuoso/i-just-got-new-set-of-a-day-old-broilers-steem-powered-broilers-actually

chickens.jpg

There are a lot of other things i have bought with my steemit earnings but i just mentioned those few

I Travelled Out Of My Country Through Steemit

It has been a dream for me to travel outside my country but i have not been able to acheive that because i was too poor to afford it. Then there came steemit. Steemit happened. I travelled to Ghana for the first time and it was through my earnings on steemit and i am glad i went to Ghana for steemit evangelism. I went to share the good news of steemit to the people of Ghana.

Read about it here https://steemit.com/steemit/@ewuoso/taking-the-steemit-gospel-to-an-international-level and here https://steemit.com/dtube/@ewuoso/s3dobml5

ghanna.jpg

Together on the journey were

@ejemai
@fisteganos
@ibukun
@adejoke1
@gee1
@tojukaka

Steemit has really been great. Right now i am not even thinking of looking for a job and i dont care what our government does.

Business Communications

My business is my farm. Farming is my family business and i have also keyed into it. Farming has always being fun plus i like animals and i like to be with them.

Due to steemit have been able to expand my business a little. I have bought some more animals and added them to my farm.

Education communications

Thanks to steemit because it does not only pay you, it also gives you the ability to widen your knowledge. There are different categories or niche on steemit. One always has a place to fit in. I had no knowledge of crypto when i first joined steemit but when i joined steemit i gained interest in it and i have been reading a lot about it on asteemit. Also i really appreciate @samstickkz who has been a great man. I met him through steemit and he has impacted a lot in me. He added me to a lot of crypto groups where i learn a lot. All these might not have been possible without steemit.

In Summary

The journey has been tough. It was not easy when i started but i did not give up even when i had shaken spirit, i had people like @tojukak and @samstickkz to encourage me to try harder. I am happy i found steemit and i am happy i did not give up. I am happy i made a lot of friends because steemit is all about friendship. The relationship is the steem we earn.

For those of you that want to give up, i hope my story inspires you. Another thing to do is to stop complaining and appreciate every cent because it counts. I wish you good luck.

Thanks to @dobartim for this contest because it encouraged me to write this. You can also participate in the contest. Visit HERE

You can also join @dobartim on discord Steemit School

Everybody Wins

Sort:  

Thank you bro for the mention. Glad to have met you. Keep shining :)

thanks for being a friend

You really wrote a great story about your journey on Steemit; I learned so many new things about you , especially, that @jammey is your brother.

Wow @ewuoso I could not stop reading your story till the very last word, wow what a journey you have on steemit buddy.
I met you on your great group @steembees and the love I received was immeasurable, the first day I spoke to you on your dm
You responded with so much love and willingness to ensure that I get the best out of all I do,.
How I wish I was in Ogun state here in Nigeria I would really love to meet you to say a very big thank you for your support and that of the group...
Most of the contest I have joined you were there to assist me and even upvoted me.....
You always say feel free me to ask me anything and seriously not every steemian is as warm hearted as you are.


And @drakos is truly a nice steemian from all you have written about him. I as well loved the way you wrote about steemit changing your orientation and mentality, I personally have been able to learn a lot from great people on discord like @janicehung @fisteganos @tojukaka @futurethinker @poeticsnake @samstickkz my crush @fisteganos @jrswab @andywong31 @officialfuzzy @greenrun just to mention a few. This guys have been amazing on discord, even @dobartim has been so resourceful.
I am glad in your journey you have gone far in spreading steemit gospel even to Ghana. Your just an amazing steemian @ewuoso, your financial communication was lit I love your healthy tomatoes, new set of broilers, goats, pigs etc.

Wow I appreciate @dobartim for this #steemultimatechallenge your story inspires me.
I would never give up.

wow seem like yhu know me more. hmmm i am really glad yhu think i am a good person. It really means a lot to me. God bless yhu.

@ewuoso you really do not know how I feel when you find time to support me on whatsapp.
As I said before I cannot thank God enough for making our paths to cross through steemit.
Your a great and humble fellow and I cannot appreciate you enough for been there most times.


I am happy reading through @gee1 comment on this post she actually confirmed what you said about the tags wow 5 good times you did that she must really have been a good lady. She as well said other things to remind you about the contest links I now see why you have been so supportive towards contest I join. I also made ill mistakes on using tags, I used wrong tags and thanks to my sister @celineaugustinee @maduprecious and friend @souljay for all they did when I was a beginner. Most upvotes came as a surprise especially from @candyman, @hr1, @pharesim, @ejemai, @onequality, @mustard etc the love on steemit is immense @ewuoso. This post of yours brings so much memories @ewuoso😭. The Love on steemit is unexplainable.
You are truly an amazing entity God bless you richly for us all Keep Steeming Boss.

thank dear. its normal to make mistakes, it makes us better. thanks once again

You do not have to mention @ewuoso.
Have a great day ahead of you.
Good morning dear.

"Nothing good comes easy"
A journey of a million miles begins with a single step.

I am glad that you didn't give up when it got tough.

You kept faith alive and worked hard to achieve what you have today in steemit. That shows that you have a dogged and a winning spirit.

Your story is motivating and and encouraging.

With dedication and endurance, we can achieve whatever dream we want to achieve.

Like @surpassinggoogle will say, everyone has something to offer, we all have something to offer to our society.

With my few convo and dealings with you, i have no doubt that you are a good man with the heart of gold.

Keep being a good man bro.
Keep it steem like it is.

God bless you.

Thanks for believing in me. I will always try to help in anyway i can

If there is one thing I am most excited about it is steemit. From the day I found steemit a lot has changed about me both financially and social wise.
And I have @ewuoso , @tojukaka to thank for their continuous encouragement.

Guy you are an example of steemit ambassador

Bless yhu baba

Mhen, this is an exhaustive post. Not only in word but in all details. Best of luck man. You are one of the wierdest steemians in Nigeria. After you na still you. Your selfie with goat is something i used to laugh at. LOL

happiness matters

Oh my God, this among the best post I have seen since I joined steemit, I took my time to go through it and I got inspired... I laughed at loud when I saw this

I used @gee1 as a tag for that post. @gee1 happened to be a girl I met in a whatsapp group back then and I never knew there were specific tags we were supposed to use and since @gee1 was the only thing i could think of then, it was the only tag I was using for my posts.

Your words motivates me and encourage me never to give up, steemit is a life transformer and I have learnt that today @ewuoso you deserve to win this contest, you made my day and I choose you as my mentor.. Keep the good work thanks and God bless,
Am @sammyswt
resteemed

Everybody started as a novice on the plartform but if you really put your mind to it then you can acheive anything

You didn't add that you participated in so many contests. And how my PM will almost always have a link to your contests😂😂😂. All you wrote above is an example of a well deserved success.

And about using me as tags, it was really funny when you told me about it.

You have been a blessing to so many here. The way you give your time to teaching people is something that is really commendable.

Our journey to Ghana gave me the opportunity to know you better and you are indeed amazing.

We all have our stories to tell and steemit has sincerely made the stories of many beautiful. Keep doing what you do here.

Keep steeming dear!

You didn't add that you participated in so many contests. And how my PM will almost always have a link to your contests😂😂😂. All you wrote above is an example of a well deserved success.

And about using me as tags, it was really funny when you told me about it.

You have been a blessing to so many here. The way you give your time to teaching people is something that is really commendable.

Our journey to Ghana gave me the opportunity to know you better and you are indeed amazing.

We all have our stories to tell and steemit has sincerely made the stories of many beautiful. Keep doing what you do here @ewuoso.

Keep steeming dear!

hahahahah. yeah i participated in a lot of contests. thanks for those days dear. I am glad i met yhu.

And about using me as tags, it was really funny when you told me about it.

yeah it was funny to me too when i found out i was wrong

@ewuoso,
You are one of the few steemians that inspire me alot. Keep up the good work dear and thanks for sharing your story.

Thank you for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50