๐Ÿ“ท Steemit Photo Challenge #7 โ€” WINNERS โ€” Guest Judge @pfunk [Sep 1 - 4]

in #steemitphotochallenge โ€ข 8 years ago

How did you all like the Architecture theme?

This week we had @pfunk judging the entries, and the theme was specially chosen by him as one of his favourite subjects. Is there a theme that you'd like to judge? Let me know in the comments! If you have a good standing in the community or have shown a lot of interest, I just may select you to be a judge for an upcoming SPC! :)

Guest judges receive 50SBD

But first...

@jamtaylor's Picks โ€” 10 Steem Each

When there is a guest judge, I like to get a bit of my bias in there as well :) Just a little bit!
Here were a few entries that stood out to me, not that I know much about judging architecture! I didn't include any that were already picked by @pfunk, although there was some overlap.

I know what you're thinking "So all I have to do is take black and white shots and @jamtaylor will choose them!?" ;) Maybe, maybe not! Look at these, how could I not like 'em!?


Submitted by @xcepta


Submitted by @jasondaum


Submitted by @theyam


Submitted by @adamt


Submitted by @lgm-1


From @pfunk:

In judging this challenge I was looking for creative composition foremost. Architecture itself is an art and the people that design and build structures are artists themselves. Taking photos of architecture is an art with many facets. Some architecture photos are meant to be illustrative, for informational or marketing purposes. These kinds of photos usually try to display the subject as a whole. More creative photos of structures and buildings can use clever composition, explore themes, or can abstract geometry from the subject's form to create something new. I was open to very well executed illustrative shots however.

Some images have been resized and recompressed to make this post use less bandwidth, you can click any image to view it on its own without the white background and in its original as-posted size and compression where applicable.

Honorable Mentions โ€” 10 Steem Each

Light is Life by @zaebars

Geometric simplicity and yet wonderful detail and a good composition makes this photo work.

Stone Chariot Hampi Temple by @sandeepachetan

This wide angle photo does a good job illustrating a miniature temple in its courtyard with the walls and gate in the background. Nice exposure too.

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmRPBoRjYXmH2CNzXdwvfKi8GZBZh4rr26Dqc5xYqywMJs

Trinity by @mcsvi

Pretty good composition of an interesting indoor subject. Reminds me of Tetris :)

Cathedral of Finance by @saramiller

Google reverse image searching this one, I found many good shots of the subject, the ceiling of The Guardian Building in Detroit. BUT none of them thought to use the Art Deco gates to provide negative space silhouetting against the ceiling. Nicely done for your first post @saramiller! And on an iPhone 4 too.

Caernarfon Castle by @movievertigo

Here's an interesting way to present a castle from the inside, with a 360 degree fisheye effect. The contrast of the walls and the grass make the circle really stand out here and it works great.


Third Place โ€” 50 Steem

Old vs New by @theyam

Churches were built tall to reach to the heavens and allow their bells to be heard far and wide. Or to dominate the landscape and provide a constant reminder of the power of the clergy and the wrath of god they promised you, depending on how you look at it. Today we build our towers taller in the name of capitalism, which has replaced the church as something to both worship and fear. Nice shot for an iPhone 4s and good timing with that plane!

Second Place โ€” 100 Steem

Stairs by @pcste

@pcste hits us with a photo taken on high contrast large-format litho film for a really nice reduction of an outdoor staircase into two dimensions. This is an excellent use of the unique medium!

First Place โ€” 150 Steem

Illuminated Arches by @shieha

This photo by @shieha was taken at a cool low angle, is beautifully exposed, and frames the famous Taipei 101 skyscraper nicely making for a fantastic composition.


Thanks to @jamtaylor for letting me guest judge this one. If you liked any of these photos, be sure to click the links and upvote the original posts!


What do you think of the picks this week?

If you don't see your images here, don't be discouraged! There's just so many amazing images to choose from. This might have been the biggest one yet!

Thanks to our sponsors, @berniesanders, and Steemimg.com the first dedicated Steemit Image hosting website, created by @blueorgy.


Give me some suggestions for next week's theme!

What would you like to see from the Steemit Photography community??

Steemit Photo Challenge Week 1 - Animal Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 2 - Shadows
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 3 - Desolation
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 4 - Nature Macro/Closeup
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 5 - Emotive Human Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 6 - Landscapes


Follow

Sort: ย 
ย 8 years agoย (edited)

Wow! I'm speechless right now, so honored by @pfunk!! Big shout out to @jamtaylor for organizing and @berniesanders for sponsoring these challenges. Great thanks to @pfunk for the work of going through so many wonderful submissions! Finally many thanks for all you viewers here on Steemit!

Even though I didn't win anything nor get any mention I had a lot of fun and thought this was an awesome challenge!
I will be paying attention for future challenges as I love projects that brings Steemians together to collaborate in something bigger than our selfs!
Thanks to everyone who participated! That was a lot of photos to go through! Special thanks to @pfunk for taking the burden of being the judge of which comes with pressure, responsibility and the outlash from anyones who's feelings are hurt haha.
Special thanks to @jamtaylor for hosting this as none of this would have happened without you!
And WOW I have been using steeming for weeks now and did not know it was made by @blueorgy! That is so awesome and what would Steemit be without it??? So that is a major contribution that deserves more recognition that I am giving here but from me and the rest of Steemit THANKS!
Then of course @berniesanders is a Steemit Baller and I don't know any whale that supports the arts and the people doing great things that are not celebrities like Bernie! Your awesome!

Your shot is striking @shieha! Excellent colors, excellent shapes and lines. I find cities and cityscapes to be too intense at times, but by framing it with the arches and using that angle you captured the energy of a lot going on without it being overwhelming. Congrats on your victory!

Thank you so much!

Nice work! Before the winners were announced, I had a feeling your work was going to be a top contender.

Thanks, congrats to you on the last steemit photo challenge!

Great photo.... of what was shown here... it was a deserved winner !!

Thanks!

What a really great challenge. I got in on this one in the last minute. I haven't spent much time here on Steemit yet--yes I'm a noob--so getting in on some of these challenges will be a great way to share some of the bazillion photos I have unseen in my archives. Thank you @pfunk, @jamtaylor and @berniesanders for offering up this opportunity for expression. I did a quick scroll through before the contest ended and find some of my favorites here. @pscte, @xcepta and @movievertigo are some of my favs!!! I love @birdie's suggestion about future categories--a little less concrete and a bit more out of the box. Grateful to be a part of Steemit's community building. Love playing with you!

Awesome shots! I would love to see Food Photography featured soon @jamtaylor! I'm really enjoying this contest... thanks @berniesanders for sponsoring it! And thanks for sharing your notes on each of the photos you selected @pfunk!

I second food photography!

I third food photography!

ย 8 years agoย (edited)

I don't like the judgement! I don't have nothing against @pfunk or any other photos! Of course I can accept that my post has been ignored anyway was nice, but some of these photos are not nice at all! Someone else is very good! Don't get me wrong seriously I don't have anything against you guys!

@webdeals i agree and 2nd place is utter bull shit

Thanks u ignorant philistine. if you don't like someones work you could easily say 'i dont like that image because it is too dark or because it has bad composition or it doesn't fit the brief. but to say someones work is shit just shows how ignorant to art and photography you are. thankfully it just makes a fool of you not me. any way if this has become a critising sesh then at least my image took some effort, planning, technical skill, processing and printing ability and wasn't just a holiday snap.

I don't always agree with some of the choices but if was that bothered i would say WHY i didn't agree . not say its bull shit. infact tbh im surprised @timelapse didn't get a mention, i thought his work was way above anything but im not going to start slagging other peoples work off.

The good thing about photography and art is that it is subjective. everybody has a different opinion
But u don't have to be insulting about it. sounds like sour grapes to me.

you won a prize and you're still not happy?
imagine if i started insulting 1st place because i came second.

Anyway i think im safe in the knowledge that everybody seeing your comments will feel similar to me, that there's no place for insulting offensive people like you in this photography community.

ย 8 years agoย (edited)

Ok. I don't have problem answering @pcste ! I didn't offend anyone! I said in my opinion some photos are great, others are less nice. This doesn't mean you job is shitty or other things. Using your words "The good thing about photography and art is that it is subjective. everybody has a different opinion" so I express my opinion. I didn't get any reward and I am not commenting because I feel sad about it. I am commenting because I toke part of this challenge and I suppose I have the right to say what I think always with the maximum respect of the other's opinion.
Reading your comments that starts with "Thanks u ignorant philistine" I suppose is offensive anyway then later you are talking about "ignorant to art and photography". A good artist should accept criticism and not offend who is commenting. Funny enough you got the second reward and you are offending people.
I don't have problems with your comment or with your photo (that personally I didn't like) and I hope you don't take my comment personally because I am sure I will carryon upvoting your posts if nice like I did in the past!
Best regards
Webdeals

my reply was aimed at @sandeepachetan not yourself @webdeals.
and i dont mind that you don't like my pic, i dont mind that @sandeepachetan doesn'y like my pic .but i do mind him saying my photo is bull shit. I think its downright rude and not in the spirit of things.
you are not being offensive by saying you do not like it. but then again you are not saying my work is shit.
I dont mind anyones opinion but if they say my work is shit without an explanation then i will give my opinion back.
I am not taking your comment personally.
best wishes.

maybe they lazy sometimes to look everything?

mmmm maybe :)

Congratulations to the Winners! Superb Engineering Structures. :)

@pfunk Wow! Thank you for choosing my photo as one of the honourable mentions! :)

this picture is just amazing :D
"Caernarfon Castle" by @movievertigo

Glad you liked it! I couldn't decide which direction to shoot, so picked all of them! :)

Really happy to win 2nd place :-)
Thanks to @jamtaylor for running this competition and inspiring people to do more photography. Ive been a photographer for many years but recently had not been doing a lot of photography up until steemit and these @jamtaylors challenges. Now i'm taking pics every day again and loving it.
Its also great to see so much interest in photography, there is some really good talent on this site.
congratulations to @shieha and all the other winners.
thanks to @pfunk for taking the time to judge through all the entries. Thanks to @berniesanders for his sponsorship.

I'm looking forward to next weeks challenge and well done everyone.

P.S. @jamtaylor i have started a website project called www.steembubble.com (like redbubble) it will allow steemit users to sell photographs and artwork for steem. i would like to also showcase each weeks steemitphotochallenge winners in a gallery on the site and would like to discuss this with you. how can i contact you? shall i send you a memo with my email address?

The best thing to do regarding the entries would be to get in contact with the submitters, I know that would be a bit more involved but you'd need to have their permission to re-host their images for sure unless you are pulling them straight from the blockchain. I believe that @blueorgy wants to do something like that with Steemimg as well.. And on the steembubble thing, how about using Steem Dollars instead of Steem?

Congrats on your 2nd place! I'll finish sending out the rewards a bit later.

Congrats @pcste! I'm a big fan of clean lines in photography, so this is a very satisfying image for me. The contrast of black against white highlights the shapes. Nicely done! Also it's awesome to hear that Steemit has inspired you to pick up photography again, as you obviously have great skill and talent with it. Hooray for Steemit!!

Check out @darkb4dawn, I'm a fan of his use of lines.

Even though I didn't win anything nor get any mention I had a lot of fun and thought this was an awesome challenge!
I will be paying attention for future challenges as I love projects that brings Steemians together to collaborate in something bigger than our selfs!
Thanks to everyone who participated! That was a lot of photos to go through! Special thanks to @pfunk for taking the burden of being the judge of which comes with pressure, responsibility and the outlash from anyones who's feelings are hurt haha.
Special thanks to @jamtaylor for hosting this as none of this would have happened without you!
And WOW I have been using steeming for weeks now and did not know it was made by @blueorgy! That is so awesome and what would Steemit be without it??? So that is a major contribution that deserves more recognition that I am giving here but from me and the rest of Steemit THANKS!
Then of course @berniesanders is a Steemit Baller and I don't know any whale that supports the arts and the people doing great things that are not celebrities like Bernie! Your awesome!

Thank you, @jamtaylor, great work!
My suggestion for #Steemit Photo Callenge #8 is "City Views".

Congratulations to all featured entries. You gals and guys rock!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67