📷 Steemit Photo Challenge #5 — WINNERS + NEW GIVEAWAY | Aug. 18 - 21

The theme this weekend was Emotive Human Portrait and I forced photographers to take a brand new image by providing a Steemit Verification sign at the location of the shoot. We had a few verified submissions, a far cry from the normal but that was to be expected. It was an experiment to see what would happen!

There were a couple that didn't make it because they didn't have the proper verification, which was to be used to force photographers to take a new image — it wasn't only to prove that they took the photo.

Thanks to everyone who took a photo for this challenge for making the effort this weekend!

Here are the winners of SPC#5: Emotive Human Portrait


Honourable Mentions - 10 Steem Each


@papa-pepper Submission


@litrbooh Submission


@corinnestokes Submission


@farmerswife Submission


@mikemacintire Submission

Third Place - 50 Steem


@pisteem01 Submission

Second Place - 100 Steem


@birdie Submission

First Place - 150 Steem


@dercoco Submission


Thanks to our sponsors, @berniesanders, and Steemimg.com the first dedicated Steemit Image hosting website, created by @blueorgy.


NEW PRIZE GIVEAWAY:

Over the next week I will be selecting a couple people to win 1 month membership to KelbyOne Training, all you have to do is tag me in your new photography post and say somewhere "@jamtaylor I'd like to win the KelbyOne 1 Month Membership!" or something to that effect! At the end of the week I'll announce the winner. You must be willing to provide your email address to me in private and work with me in getting you set up and running. You can enter as many times as you like!


Give me some suggestions for next week's theme!

What would you like to see from the Steemit Photography community??

Steemit Photo Challenge Week 1 - Animal Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 2 - Shadows
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 3 - Desolation
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 4 - Nature Macro/Closeup


Follow

Sort:  

Another honorable mention. Frankly, I'm honored. I've really enjoyed the specific categories in which to create some new photos, and think that the verification is a great way to inspire great photographers to create new work.
Not sure about what others have thought, but I think it is a great way for new artwork to be contributed to this community and the world, and personally find this to be inspirational. I may even end up buying a serious camera at some point. Thanks again @jamtaylor!

@papa-pepper I appreciate your efforts in the challenges that you have participated in, and I'd like to gift you one of the 1 month memberships to KelbyOne, if you'd like it. It's a photography training site, you can get a 10 day trial to try it out if you like. Personally I've not tried it myself but I've had people tell me it's good, and I've been in contact with them for further support for the competition going forward.

If you do, connect with me on Steemit.chat so I can get your details.

Others can enter the giveaway described at the end of the post!

WOW, THANKS. I will seriously consider your most generous offer. I may check out the 10 day trial first, so I'll let you know. I have ZERO training, so perhaps it would help me develop my skills, or finally get some skills. Thanks again.

Great Photo & Congrats again on another Honorable Mention!

I expect a Top 3 Entry fro you next challenge ;). I agree that the verification is a great way to get all of us pro and non pro photographers alike to get out there and capture something new! Instead of just using a previously captured moments that work with the challenge. I do believe that possibly a middle ground could be agreed upon for particular themes, maybe photographs you have never put online or have published in the past... Just a thought. But all depends on the theme. Congrats again!

Thank you, especially for the steemimg.com hosting site. Excellent work, and I find it to be much more user friendly than "image safe". I've got some great previous photos too, which I may share at some point, but I love the new adventure of getting out there and the new experience that comes with the photo. Whether or not I ever get a "Top 3 Entry" remains to be seen, but I'm just blessed to be a part of it! Thanks again for the compliment.

Your Welcome! I go into a bit more detail about your photo on my large comment ;) as well!

I hadn't seen that yet. Thanks for directing me there; I'll check it out now.

Loading...

Firstly, congrats to all the winners! I must say that this challenge certainly took a level of effort above the previous challenge as capturing human emotion is tough when you have a model. What made this challenge toughest is verification.

There are some amazing candids and newspaper-reporter style photos that really bring emotion to film, but getting verification, IMO, is a tough task unless you know the subject and therein lies the real challenge: either working with someone you know to get a studio/portrait type shot or having to be brave enough to get total strangers to verify.

I was too lazy personally to do either and thus I must truly commend those who took the time and effort to enter. My hat's off to you! I also must say that the first place photo is stunning. I saw it early on in the challenge channel and knew it was special! The desaturated tones and perfect focus/DoF work so well with that expression that it made me envision being in that forest. Bravo!

Wow, this is such an honor! Thank you so much!! These weekly challenges have inspired me to be more creative with my photography, and to step out of my comfort zone. I truly look forward to them each week. Congrats to all of the winners, such lovely photos!!

Some subjects you could use: selfies, fractals, patterns, contrast, colourful, fruitbasket, painting, HDR, ancient sites/buildings, cozy, ...

Thanks for the honorable mention! I love the photo by @birdie

Thank you! I love your photo too, so cute!

You guys both have some very happy people there! Great company you must keep!

Awesome shots! I'd love to submit some landscape shots so I think that would be a great theme for next week. Landscapes/Mountains/Hiking

Congratulations to the winners and featured photos.

For my subjective eye, the best photo is @pisteem01 's Submission. It made me smile wide.

I didn't even try to enter. Although now I can see that I could make a portrait or two of the kids :)

i should have submitted kids too lol

Thank you so much! Some might think that kids are easy subject because they are basically so cute, but in my experience, they are really hard to catch. They are moving all the time, you have to be stubborn, because only then - you catch the exact moment.

Exactly. I have lots of blurry photos :)

So many great shots! And good idea with the new prize!

Consolation prize? Not bad. We look forward to new announcements Steemit Photo Challenge. Thank you, jamtaylor.

I wouldn't call them consolation prizes! I don't have that as a category :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67