๐Ÿ“ท Steemit Photo Challenge #6 โ€” MEGA POST โ€” WINNERS GALORE! | Aug. 25 - 28 | Guest Judge @dercoco!

in #steemitphotochallenge โ€ข 8 years ago

How did you all like that one?

I think it went swimmingly! There certainly were a lot of entries this time!

There were 240 submissions to the tag over the weekend, 331 images.

We noticed something this week, however, that some images uploaded to imgsafe.org were being compressed. As such, they could not be awarded due to the low quality result! Consider hosting your images with Steemimg.com and linking the high res files.


Because we had so many entries, and because the price of Steem is so low, I've got more to go around!!!

So here are

@jamtaylor's Picks โ€” 10 Steem each

You may have realised from previous Challenges ("shadows", etc) that I really enjoy high contrast black and white images. Thankfully we've had other judges to balance out my bias! :P


by @shieha Submission


by @movievertigo Submission


by @litrbooh Submission


by @theyam Submission


by @dbutkovic Submission


by @cloveandcinnamon Submission


by @webdeals Submission

OK I need to stop myself before I run out of Steem :)


This week we had guest judge @dercoco selecting the winning entries. Great job!

I'm sending @dercoco 50 SBD as a token of thanks for his time and effort. I'll see if I can make this a new SPC custom!


Honourable Mention โ€” 10 Steem Each


by @daveks Submission


by @shieha Submission


by @coliraver Submission


Third Place โ€” 50 STEEM


by @amartinezque Submission

"The dark and tranquil theme goes very well with this photo. The strong use of complementary colors by embracing the warm orange with cool blue makes this picture a true eye catcher. Because the picture is angled across the shore, it encourages me to imagine strolling along the beach, barefoot, placing fresh footsteps into the untouched sand." - @dercoco

Second Place โ€” 100 STEEM


by @nighthawkdive Submission

"At first, this picture looks like a long exposure picture. But the still leaves made me question that. The exif tells me that it was shot with 1/1600th of a sec! Truly astonishing how a lake can really be without any ripples. The reflections are beautiful and the framing with the foreground is also very nice. The sky is a bit blown out, but because of all the darker clouds, that doesn't really affect the overall quality of the picture." - @dercoco

First Place โ€” 150 STEEM


by @stansmith Submission

"This picture has everything. The composition has three clearly defined levels of depth which all have to offer a different treat for your eyes. In the foreground it's the beautifully lit bare rock with patches of grass. The valley clearly separates the foreground from the middleground, which in contrast to the bare foreground, is full of trees. The fact that the trees are still in the shadow of the sunrise makes the overall feeling very calm and interesting. In the background you can see inversion clouds gliding over mountains on the left side with a hint of the sunrise on the right side. The light use of vibrance makes me want to step in to the picture instead of just looking at it." - @dercoco


What do you think of the picks this week?

If you don't see your images here, don't be discouraged! There's just so many amazing images to choose from. This might have been the biggest one yet!


Thanks to our sponsors, @berniesanders, and Steemimg.com the first dedicated Steemit Image hosting website, created by @blueorgy.



Give me some suggestions for next week's theme!

What would you like to see from the Steemit Photography community??

Steemit Photo Challenge Week 1 - Animal Portrait
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 2 - Shadows
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 3 - Desolation
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 4 - Nature Macro/Closeup
Steemit Photo Challenge Week 5 - Emotive Human Portrait


Follow

Sort: ย 

HI, Thanks for the pick. I wasn't expecting it.... so many good pictures here. This post deserves a much higher payout. This is the kind of stuff Steemit needs... where's @ned ? :)
D

Maybe it will happen a bit later today :)

Hopefully. :) This is good content. It is engaging users and creating community. You are even using Steem to pay people for their work. Should be trending on the front page.

You've got Bernie Sanders vote...and Wang. Awesome. :)

Thank you very much for the third position! In this contest There were precious photos, I am very happy! Thank you!
I will continue competing!:)

What an honour! First time I get a so detailed comment by a pro!
@dercoco, thanks for the complete analysis of this capture, you get the instant.

I was so surprised... I watched the votes and some participants gets so many upvotes. And me just a few... I thought : Not this time!
The quality of the captures where amazing... the level is high.
Me being a bit too much critic about my work. Got soo astonished!
Thank's again @jamtaylor for the contest
Thank's @berniesanders and Steeming.com
You all makes that possible! Long life to this adventure.
Keep going with these challenges that makes us better and better.

Here's the full story of this picture.
https://steemit.com/photography/@stansmith/first-photography-in-steemit#@fooblic/re-stansmith-re-fooblic-re-stansmith-first-photography-in-steemit-20160829t185712898z

Very nice that you think that way, but I'm not a pro :) Photography is just a hobby of mine. I think our styles of photography have a lot in common. Can't wait to see more of you!

Great! you've got the way to explain your feelings and the description is so tight!
I've just updated the post... so you can have a look at the story of this picture if you like.

Congrats to all the winners, and wow... There were some amazing entries this week!

And thanks again to @jamtaylor for organising these comps. Lots of fun!

Thanks for picking my photo @jamtaylor!

Loading...

Not even upset i didn't get a mention because these are magic!

thanks guys!!! Some of your photos are stunning really!!! Congrats to everyone of us

That's an amazing photo @webdeals, I would have added it to my list as well but my comment was getting too long ๐Ÿ˜‰

Ehehheh np mate :) thanks

the 2nd place winner really amazing. I love reflections and symmetry.

Thanks :) Ditto on the reflections and symmetry.

You got the instant! Jealous... i wanted to be at that place and at that instant ;)

I'm really happy, because I'm just a photography enthusiast, and have the privilege of being mentioned here, with so many talented. thanks, really. and congratulations to all good works

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64