Winner Announcement for Steemit Photo Challenge #1 — WE'RE ALL WINNERS!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

The first Steemit Photo Challenge has now come to a close.

The point of this contest was to encourage and highlight more original quality content being posted in the photography tag, as well as to encourage more interaction between users. Secondly, I wanted to use whatever platform I had to highlight some of the creatives using this site who may not be able to stand out based on their content alone.

If the community enjoys it, I would love to continue the Steemit Photo Challenge, probably with a few minor tweaks here and there.


As I began going through the entries it struck me how difficult a task I had in determining what would be ‘the best’ or the top 4 images, as if I were some old wise Master Photographer in a position to judge. I am only in this position by chance and not by merit, by taking the initiative to just go ahead and do it. My decision is not flawless, and I know that there will be a few who disagree with my picks. I’ve tried to be unbiased but my personal taste and aesthetics comes into play, I’m not sure if I can avoid that. The beautiful thing is that you can directly award your favourite photographers and entries with your upvotes or a direct tip from your wallet, in fact, I encourage it. Go check out these photographers, follow their work, give some upvotes!

I’m also pleased that there were no attempts to steal other’s works in the contest, that I’m aware of, and I’ve taken every effort to be aware of it.

With all that said, with just a little bit of fear and trepidation....

Here are my picks for the winners of the Steemit Photo Challenge Numero Uno

But first! Some honourable mentions.

Honourable Mention Prize: 10 Steem each


By @orm Submission Post


By @rznag Submission Post


By @zorro Submission Post


By @marinaz Submission Post


By @matt-a Submission Post


By @marinabogumil Submission Post


The prizes were kindly donated by @berniesanders (150Steem) @discombobulated (25 Steem) and @moose (10 Steem), the rest came from the rewards from the announcement post.

FOURTH PLACE

Prize: 25 Steem


By @birdie Submission Post

THIRD PLACE

Prize: 50 Steem


By @pixielolz Submission Post

SECOND PLACE

Prize: 100 Steem


By @begstreets Submission Post

FIRST PLACE

Prize: 150 Steem


By @sharker Submission Post

This image is so striking, it stayed with me the most out of all the other images submitted.


Congratulations to everyone featured in this post, and thank you to everyone who took part, whether by submitting or by upvoting and commenting. If your image didn't make it into this post, don't be discouraged. There were plenty of great photos that I wasn't able to include.

The rewards from this post will go towards the funding of the prizes for the next Steemit Photo Challenge, which will be announced THIS Friday [I'd said next friday but I think that's too long in Steem World]

Keep snapping

And keep watching this space, I’ve got more things in store.
Visit my profile and click ‘Follow Me’, if you like.

Sort:  

So as to make the Next Photo challenge more interesting and more creative

  • Tell us what device you used to take the picture, and any special software you might have used as editing your pictures is fine.
  • Add a little back story — short and sweet; we want to know how the picture came to be. Saves us all running all over the Internet to track & Verify them down.
  • Only one entry per contest per person PLEASE?

Good luck, everyone!

#mytwocents #photography

Thanks for the feedback. Once I was going through the entries I intended to implement an entry limit for the next ones.

cool. maybe you can have a guest panel for every edition? So the taste and aesthetics will be more varied..also take some pressure off of you.
And giving how much this post and the others made I think we're gonna have so manyyy editions. I'm gonna try to submit sometihng for the next one myself :D

Yup I was thinking of getting a varied panel of judges for that reason. I have some ideas for a couple people.

amazing! can't wait for this to go bigger :)

This is the first photo contest where I won first place and I am very happy! Very pleased that my photo is like, thanks to the organizers and sponsors of the contest organized. Thank rivals - there were a lot of interesting work! Participation in the competition - it is a very interesting experience and, of course, the surge of adrenaline. And now I really want to do something new!

Congrats! You definitely earned it :)

congrats sharker!

Woah, cool! I won 10 steem! Thanks to everyone involved, I appreciate it! That 10 Steem went straight to my Steem Power. Can't wait to see what's up next!

Huge congrats too all the winners! The standard of photography here is already incredible! Kudos for organising this @jamtaylor.
I'm gonna have to try harder in the next one!

Wow, thank you so, so much for third place @jamtaylor , it was not expected and I'm incredibly happy! Thank you for giving us this opportunity! Congrats to everyone else as well, especially to @sharker , @begstreets and @birdie :)

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the organisers and sponsors of the first photo challenge on Steemit for putting forward such an event. Thank you for the prize and congratulations to all the winners and participants.

Wow! Thank you so much! This was such a fun challenge to be a part of, and I especially enjoyed looking through all of the photo entries! Congrats to all of the winners!

coooool. when's the next edition?!

This Friday!

Thank for putting this together! I'm honestly surprised I got an honorable mention among so many great entries. Looking forward to the next challenge! Congrats to the winners!!

What an amazing group of photographers we have here on Steemit! Thank you for putting this together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54373.44
ETH 2875.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05