The 1st Steemit Fitness Challenge - 20 Years Out Of Shape - WORKOUT 004 (Weight Check Added)

in #steemitfitnesschallenge8 years ago (edited)

I woke up before my workout this morning more sore than I have been in years. I dreaded this workout.

Today, I felt a change.


(Appropriately titled) Music: "Defying Gravity" by Gramatik

Thank you

...to everyone who has been commenting on these videos. The more encouragement I get, the better. It really does motivate me because not only is this something I need to do for my own health anyway, this is turning into a damn fun project!

Oh, also...

I bought a scale and weighed myself today. I figured I'd go ahead and do that now since I'm so early in my workout routine.

Sort:  

Keep rocking, Winston! Keep that marathon pace going. Don't overdue it until you have a habit in place. Unfortunately my physical therapist said I should hold off on a run this weekend as my back was bugging me quite a bit on Wednesday. I love seeing this consistency though!

I'd recommend keeping the time low until you're not sore at all. Yes, it might feel easy, but it's about building a routine, not running a sprint.

The DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) will wear off within the first week as long as you're eating well (getting protein and not eating crap). Definitely keep going as you are for the first month. After about 4-6 weeks you can start making it a little harder if you feel ready, but certainly after 2 months this will be way too easy and you will need to make it harder. But it'll never be as hard as Day 001 thankfully!

lol Definitely trying not to eat anything that'll counter what I'm doing here. My wife actually bought some donuts for us yesterday. I said, "Hey! Donuts, alright! .....wait. No."

Not sure why you got flagged. I've seen that account flagging a lot of people and it makes no sense to me. I just upvoted you to counter it.

Thanks. I'm currently under flag attack for commenting on a post by somebody else who was under flag attack. He's flagged everything on my blog and so have his bots. Reps 50 46 & 25...

I'm dialoging with them on one of their posts. The response was:

Do not worry! ))) This is just a Test!

(translated from Russian)

Sad. I hope the algorithms are strong enough here to not reward him for his efforts. I also see the problem of domain squatting going on. People are creating accounts such as "paypal.com", probably in hopes of selling them in the future. Makes me sad.

I just saw all this.
Well that sucks.

For sure. I'm sticking with this until I see visual changes, or unless I really feel like I didn't get what I needed.

It's great seeing how Steemit is motivating people to change their lives for the better! @lukestokes is jogging, I started a cold shower challenge(day 1, day 2), and you are working out!

I think I might have to join you and luke as my fitness could use a little work =P

Man, I have to look into this more. I took cold showers for two years while living on a boat in high school (a story I need to tell here on Steemit, when I get around to it). I do not have fond memories of cold showers.

Cold-ish showers after my workout, but I'll skip the real cold ones. lol

Can I ask you how long does your video editing take you? It's put together really well! Do you have a lot of experience with this?

Been editing video since about 1996. :)
This took me about 30 minutes. It's all one recording and I kept changing locations between exercises. I would just go in and trim off the crap and find a song I like. :)

Cool, I've just kinda started so I need a lot of practice. If you ever have any feedback or tips I'd love to hear them

I'll keep my eyes peeled for your stuff. :)

I was thinking the same thing. Great video editing!

Thanks. :) It's part of what's making me keep up with this.

Nice work Mr. Wolfe!

I solve problems.

I am so impressed you have found the motivation to embark on this journey. I truly hope you can persist and in a few months from now we'll see a completely different you!

I have found one of the hardest things to do is continue to exercise even when I have every intention to exercise!

Your weight shouldn't really matter. Believe it or not, muscle is heavier than fat, so you could be disappointed in the meaningless number.

It would be better to find out your body fat percentage of you can. That's the important number and that's the one you're going to see move at a steady pace. Your weight on the other hand will just fluctuate and piss you off lol. Which is what demotivates many people.

I knew that, actually. With as little muscle mass as I currently have right now, and with as an aerobic a workout as I'm doing, I expect to see my weight decrease before it increases. If I start also doing weights to get the anaerobic workout, I'd start building muscle and begin seeing my weight increase sooner.
Would that not be accurate?

Yeah, as long as you know not to be disappointed by the number when it fluctuates. I wrote in my last post about how the metabolism affects your weight in so many ways, it's very difficult to control and a lot of people beat themselves up over it. Since this is your first time in 20 years though, you should do really well as you probably haven't done any damage to your metabolism in the past if you haven't done crazy diets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55290.41
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32