My Speech Class

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)

"Yay! Time to outdoor!" My students shouted with joy.

The clock has shown at 03 noon. Children looked tired and getting sleepy. They have been in the classroom since 07 o'clock in the morning. Wow! You can imagine how tired their minds are.

Now it's my turn to teach in that class. This time I would teach how to speech in Arabic. It's one of the lessons that they dislike because they are difficult to learn Arabic. English seems to be easier for them. But this lesson is one of the main lessons in this school. Just like math, biology, English, or natural science.

I can understand the condition of my students. Only one or two students have good skills in this lesson.

Well, educational enthusiasts!

This time I will share my experience on how I teach speech in Arabic.

The first step is to determine the theme. I wrote on the board five themes that they are free to choose. Once they found the theme, they would look for some references. The next step I would recommend is to write the speech. I gave them time to do it at home (homework).

Well, now is the time for me to check their homework. I am satisfied with their homework because it suits my expectations.

Before I hand back their homework, I show an example of the speech in Arabic. This speech lasted for a few minutes. This is the video I show to my students. The video I took from youtube (unfortunately I did not capture the moment). I have some collection of speeches that I downloaded from youtube.

Video from youtube

After watching a short video, I split some students into groups. There is a rule here. The students are not justified to make trouble. They must be serious with the text of each speech. Outside the classroom, they are free to express themselves with their respective speech texts. If I do this in the classroom, it can disturb the students who are in the next class.

I stop in every group the student. I guide them, explain some unintelligible phrases, and listen to how their intonation sounds when speaking.

IMG_20171002_162853.jpg

IMG_20171002_163024.jpg

IMG_20171002_162026.jpg

Speech is a special skill that is rarely owned by everyone. This ability requires constant practice. The biggest concern when speaking is nervous. I also feel nervous when standing in public to make a speech.

One of my tricks to eliminate nervousness is looking at the eyes of the listeners. If I defeat their gaze, then I will master the speech rostrum. Conversely, if I lose, then I will lose words. Fortunate I always win.

There may be other tips from Steemian how to beat nervousness when speaking publicly. Please comment.

Warm Regards
@teukumukhlis



My Other Educational Content:

Joyfull Learning
Multicultural Education in Indonesia
The Beginning Reading Method for Primary Schools
School Literacy Movement in Indonesia
Shaping Student Character Through Marching Activities
Educate Students Through National Independence Day Activities
Reading Methods in Arabic
Outdoor Learning with My Students
Learning with Attractive Games Methods



Sort:  

Postingan yang bagus @teukymukhlis

Jika berkenan, berkunjung sekali2 ke akun saya ...😁

very nice post friends @teukumukhlis

Wow, guru yg kreatif. Ini sekolahnya full day ya bg @teukumukhlis? Kalo dah sore rasanya ga tega ya lihat wajah2 kelelahan itu...

Btw, sy ngadain giveaway lho bg, klo berkenan, silahkan ikut. Ada hadiah tas slempang buatan sy.

Hanya 6 kelas yang full day. Selebihnya kelas reguler biasa.

Jangankan anak-anak, guru saja tampak kelelahan. Tuh bisa diliat muka kusamnya.

Apa yg menentukan suatu kelas itu dibuat full, lainnya tidak?
Ini sekolah full day memang udah diwajibkan oleh pemerintah ya? Maklum, sy jarang update berita.

6 lokal itu adalah bagi siswa-siswa yang berminat untuk ikut kelas ekstra. Tidak diwajibkan, bagi yang berminat saja. Istilah lain pelajaran tambahan.

Kalo full day program pemerintah, di sini kayaknya belum berlaku. Masih pro dan kontra.

Amazing way of educating students did very well by a skillful Teacher; @teukumukhlis!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @teukumukhlis to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Your article is very good. I like.

really amazing with sincerity and be role model for our beloved nation, with knowledge and high conscience, good luck always

good post my bro....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68611.07
ETH 3913.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61