Outdoor Learning with My Students

in #steemiteducation7 years ago (edited)


I never teach my pupils; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn (Albert Einstein)


I am a flexible teacher. When I teach in class, I always pay attention to the condition of my students. If I see my students feel tired, it is time to invite them to learn in the outdoor.

We will spend 80 minutes to learn in the outdoor. One thing to keep in mind when inviting students to learn in the outdoor is teachers should be able to control the students.

Outdoors learning is always fun. The students will cheer when they are invited to the outdoors, because they can freely move.

According to this sorce, outdoor learning that provide children with what they really need; time spent outdoors learning, exploring and discovering in the natural world.


IMG_20170729_115349_HDR.jpg


Nicol and his colleagues had done research on outdoor learning. They argued that:

Simply ‘being outdoors’ is not sufficient for young people to express an ethic of care for nature or develop an understanding of natural processes. These things seem to be learned when they are an explicit aim of experiential activities and when they are mediated in appropriate ways.

Based on the above facts, outdoor learning sometimes has to be done because:

  1. Children are easier to understand when learning of concrete objects
  2. Instilling a love for nature and the Creator
  3. Gives the sense that learning should not be in the classroom (formal situations)
  4. Stimulating the student activity
  5. Strengthen muscle or child motor
  6. Improving the relationship between student and teacher familiarity
  7. Get a chance to experience something real
  8. Broaden the child's view that learning can use anything

Learning outdoors will be a fun experience for children. What I am trying to practice here is experiencing an improvement. You need to know that I am an Arabic teacher. Here I try to introduce some objects around them. Then I split the children into groups. Each group will look for objects related to the theme. For example the theme of the tree. Children will search for tree-related vocabulary.

IMG_20170817_082535_HDR.jpg

Next, after the group of students searches for some of the newest vocabulary, we will discuss it. This discussion can be done in the classroom or staying outdoors.

Learning outdoors provides a fun and exciting spirit for children. Some of my students have improved in remembering some vocabulary related to their environment.

You could try implementing this method in your class. The environment has provided what it takes to guide our children. And Einstein has done the same.


Reference:

http://www.learningoutside.org

https://www.duniabelajaranak.id

http://www.snh.gov.uk/publications-data-and-research/publications/search-the-catalogue/publication-detail/?id=852


Regard,
@teukumukhlis



Sort:  

Follow for Follow 😊

Sadly, during my schooling, we had very rare occasions spent going outdoors for a session. Now that I think, I figure that I would have enjoyed it more.

Oh, I'm sorry to hear that. Please come to my class! Ha ha. Just kidding.

Yes, Maybe I should :)

your welcome my friend👩👩😉

This is great! But I never experience study outdoor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68571.56
ETH 3910.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66