Joyfull Learning

IMG_20170805_124349_HDR-01.jpeg

I am a teacher at Junior High School. Here I will tell you (perhaps for some the next post) some of my experiences as a teacher.

The junior high school age ranges from 13 to 16 years old. At this age, the children are in a period of identity crisis. In addition, children of this age are also in the process of seeking identity.

To deal with the psychological children in this age, one of the strategies that I apply is a joy learning. I want to create an atmosphere of fun and learning so that students are able to focus fully on the lessons which I will present.

I realize that not all children have a high interest in every subject. I'm teaching Arabic subjects. This lesson is one of the lessons that are not liked by the students, so that the participation of students in the classroom becomes passive.

In teaching, I try to develop some games, quizzes, and other physical activities. It depends on the situation of students in the classroom. If they feel bored or drowsy, then I will invite all students to play for a moment. If the atmosphere is relaxed and fun, then I will refocus to the subject matter.

Then, what is a joy learning? According this source, joyful learning is, "Engaging, empowering, and playful learning of meaningful content in a loving and supportive community. Through the joyful learning process a student is always improving knowledge of self and the world." We recognize, however, that joy is experienced individually and that context matters a great deal. We also recognize that experts in the field might use slightly different descriptors.

So, what I have done so far is consistent with the above definition. With this joy learning, I expect my students to experience:

  • Their contributions are very much appreciated, although very small
  • They feel secure (physically and mentally) in the learning environment
  • Their ideas will be appreciated, even if they deviate from the subject matter

This is the main point. Joy learning is to provide comfort to all students regardless of their level of intelligence. And all students will be rewarded to feel appreciated without any intimidation and guilt feelings.

Joy learning is a very suitable choice if the class situation looks boring. If my students are smiling and happy while studying with me, then I will also be happy.

@teukumukhlis

Sort:  

What a great way to teach - and this is what it is about - not about who is the best but everybody feel included and enjoys it

You are right! Nothing is the best here. My position and my students are the same. So, they can enjoy it. Like they are learning their fellow friends. The boundary that separates us is respect.

Wonderful

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks.

Thank you. You got it!

So thanks my friend😉😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51