January 30th -- Steemit Ramble #139 -- Curating Great Posts for You

in #curation6 years ago

Almost at the end of January. What a varied weather month. January started off with a brutal deep freeze going on for several days. That gave way to some milder but snowy weather. The last week or so has been mild enough a lot of the snow has melted away.

It was looking like spring. Very false hope for Canadians. Spring doesn’t ever arrive in January. As I write this, it is snowing outside as I’ve heard the snowplows passing my house. It’s still dark so I don’t know how much has fallen.

Steem has also been on an interesting ride this past month. In reading around the platform, I have gathered that a volatile January after a bull market December is not all that uncommon. It’s going to be interesting where prices go in February, or the rest of the year for that matter.

Leadership, Bridges and Restraint -- Not Everyone Is Built For Them

Onward to today’s rambling

Meet The Writers' Block Crew #4: @tinypaleokitchen

There are a great group of people over at @thewritersblock who give a lot of their time and talents to help people improve their writing skills. In an ongoing series of posts, @tinypaleokitchen is featured as one of those dedicated members who gives an incredible amount of time and energy to help and support The Writers’ Block.

NARCISSISM, A MAJOR CAUSE OF RELATIONSHIP ABUSE

@dhayor presented this post at Pimp Your Post Thursday. While I didn’t curate it as part of PYPT, I like the post and how it is written. She explores the subject of a narcissistic personality and how it contributes to relationship abuse. I’ve encountered some people with this personality and while not involved in a relationship with them, they can be very toxic to have around.

Steemit, Community, and the Power of Guilt

@negativer also presented this at PYPT. He explores the human nature which kicks in when we network and get to know people. He calls it ‘guilt’ when people respond to the connection made through networking and upvotes and/or resteems content. Not sure I would call it ‘guilt’ but he has some good points even though he’s mocking normal social behaviour. :)

Brown Eyed Krill

The @thebugiq is new on the platform and has been writing up a storm of good content. You’ll want to click through to his profile and get caught up on his Planktown story creation. Great sense of humour.

How To Push Yourself To Post Regularly On Steemit.

@maxabit presents a very well laid out post on the challenge of writing on Steemit daily. He suggests a process through which you can reach the point of getting into the habit of daily writing and getting through any writers block. Well written.

Dear ALL OF STEEMIT Please meet my new pet minnow!

The fun initiative started by @whatsup is continuing to grow as her protege @brandyb takes up the call and adopts her first minnow to help it grow. While she selected @ameliabartlett, she includes some other suggestions in her post. @thealliance has taken up the cause and is also promoting the idea of adopting a minnow.

Save The Students - STEEM Giving Project

During Pimp Your Post Thursday this past Thursday, we had our first tag teem presentation done by a couple of our participants from Ghana. Their presentation about school children going hungry in their country moved regular supporter, participant and witness @guiltyparties to donate and to write this post on the subject. Great way to support a project.

The many drops of STEEM

I love this analogy that @freedompoint presents here of seeing Steemit as steam, not the platform steem but actual steam that comes from heated substance, like water and the droplets which come from the steam.

A handcarved MAMMOTH IVORY mask

This post was nominated by @battleaxe

@dimsdamsdums takes an interesting approach to his ivory carving. Piecing together pieces into the shape he wants and then polishing them to a sheen. Click through to his profile and check out his introduction where you’ll learn he’s a professional sculptor who took an apprenticeship to become an ivory sculptor. If you’re interested in art, I think you need to keep an eye on this fellow.

GiveAway: UPVOTE my post for a POEM! Week#2 Yes That is Right! Upvote Comment and Get a poem for you in a reply!!! Enjoy!

On Thursday during PYPT @angelveselinov presented his post in which he promised he’d reply to an upvote to his post with a poem. In this post, he produced those poems. Several of them are for people who attend PYPT and I think they are very clever. Well done @angelveselinov.

5 incredible Steemit photographers // jfolkmann's photography Curation // Minnow Support Project Community Curation // Week 1

Photography is one of the areas where I come across very little curation. There are some fantastic photographers on the platform, so, its great to see @jfolkmann has undertaken curating photographers on behalf of the Minnow Support Project. His inaugural choices are fantastic, going to be expecting to see some great future choices as well.

Steem Power Delegation Contest! (With An Intro To Steem Bandwidth)

@jrswab takes action to try to give a hand to minnows finding themselves short of bandwidth to do anything on the platform with. He explains why bandwidth comes up short and is running a contest to help some of those affected out.

Wrap-up on Day 139

Well, it has been an interesting day around the platform. Never quite know what I’m going to come across next. That’s half the fun of rambling around.

Join My Voting Trail

If you’d like to support my curation efforts, please join my voting trail. With the demise of Streemian, I’ve set one up on SteemAuto. Once you are registered / logged in click “Curation Trail” and seek PathToSuccess. Then click Follow

Nominate Your Favourite Post

With all the chaff that I end up trying to sift through each time I sit down to do the Steemit Ramble, I think it is time to give you dear reader an opportunity to nominate your favourite reads.

Just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord and post the link in the Nominate-A-Post Channel.

steemit ramble

As much as you may love your own post, I am really looking for someone else to say, “Hey, I like this post, have a look”. When I post a Steemit Ramble, that is what I’m telling my readers.

Once you’ve shared someone else’s post, you’ll be given access to a channel where you can share your own posts for me to consider them. It’s only fair for you to have the chance.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Don’t forget, Pimp Your Post Thursday takes place every Thursday at 11am and 7:00pm EST. Come and join the fun.

Pimp Your Post Thursday

Until Next Time — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile


Sort:  

Firstly, thank you for featuring my post! I am delighted and so much more motivated now!

The entire collection of posts here is a treat to read - I read all of them since you must have worked hard to select these posts. I also discovered an entirely new meaning to the word "guilt" after reading @negativer's post. How true about the upvotes!

Thank you @maxabit .. it does take quite a bit of time to find the posts. Although @negativer's came from Pimp Your Post Thursday. His take on the subject generated some discussion for a while. Great fun.

Great Curation, Nice Selection
Nice People
PYPT is a staple in a lot of peoples Thursdays, just have had to miss a couple but hope to at least stay caught up how I can.
:)

thank you for your kind words @battleaxe ... always good to see you join us when you can on Thursdays. You're a great addition along with all the other folks who join in. Great fun.

Thank You for Including me Shadows. You are a charmer as usual. It has been my honor and pleasure to be part of PYPT. I hope I continue to produce quality stuff for the show :)

I have no doubt you will @angelveselinov ... always enjoy having you join us.

Thanks for mentioning my post!

My pleasure @jrswab .. really excellent work.

Thank you so much for including me! I really appreciate this!

Great work @freedompoint. Hope to see more from you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63