Mark Zuckerberg Looks Towards Cryptocurrency For Facebook! | Will Facebook Adopt a Crypto Payment System? | Smart Media Tokens For Facebook?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


I was intrigued to see a post by Mark Zuckerberg about his plan to do research on cryptocurrency as one of his New Year resolutions. I am not a very frequent user of FB but I stumbled upon an article in the news that I was reading on an online portal. I subsequently clicked through to his post to read more.

Here is his exact post, for those who don't want to go looking for it on Facebook.

"For example, one of the most interesting questions in technology right now is about centralization vs decentralization. A lot of us got into technology because we believe it can be a decentralizing force that puts more power in people's hands. (The first four words of Facebook's mission have always been "give people the power".) Back in the 1990s and 2000s, most people believed technology would be a decentralizing force.

But today, many people have lost faith in that promise. With the rise of a small number of big tech companies — and governments using technology to watch their citizens — many people now believe technology only centralizes power rather than decentralizes it.

There are important counter-trends to this --like encryption and cryptocurrency -- that take power from centralized systems and put it back into people's hands. But they come with the risk of being harder to control. I'm interested to go deeper and study the positive and negative aspects of these technologies, and how best to use them in our services."

As you can see, he is talking about decentralization, but the irony is that it is something that his platform is actually working against. Here are some interesting comments on his post - just a few of them, since I could read only a fraction of them from among 13k plus comments.

"One of the problems with FB is that anyone can complain about someone and that person gets banned without being able to appeal. Facebook needs a fair justice system,or hopefully millions will soon find a alternative for social media."

"Hello sir my account has been disabled I want to back my facebook please."

"I have a one week ban. Did they specify how long your suspension was. I created another profile under a different name. Sadly I have no power to help you. I can't even help myself but I hope to create a group that may help as soon as they lift my suspension. People like you and I have no recourse. Even if "they" are wrong. They probably won't even respond to your messages."

"Facebook needs real competition .Maybe then they will listen."

The last message is an eye opener. With the rising popularity of Steemit as a go-to social network where people from Facebook are flocking to in hordes, the owner of Facebook has finally taken notice. Not that it is a bad thing - healthy competition is always good!

The statement indicates that he is going to do more research on crypto. I think what he really means is that he has put a team in place that must be already exploring ways to incorporate a Steemit-like payment system incorporating a cryptocurrency. The fact that he has announced this in his post, which comes in the news anyway, indicates that he is moving forward with it. He would not have mentioned it if he has no plans whatsoever. I mean he is not going to come back and say sorry I was on the wrong track when I made my previous post about cryptocurrency.

So here is the big question that many will wonder - can Smart Media Tokens be incorporated on Facebook? It is a very good idea, provided the stakeholders behind SMTs agree to it, and also move ahead and collaborate with Facebook for it. After all the best way for Facebook to beat competition is to join it!

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. :-)

Wish everyone a Happy New Year and have a great 2018!!

Would you please upvote and resteem this post so that it can reach others too? Also do follow me for more interesting posts.

Read My Previous Posts - You Will Enjoy Reading Them:


High Price Of STEEM - Pump Or Correction? Reasons Behind The High Price? What Will It Be in 2018?

What To Do When Steem Is At An All Time High?

Ten EASIEST New Year Resolutions To Include in YOUR List

This Year, ACHIEVE Your New Year Resolutions! Here's How:

Happy New Year and 2017 in Retrospective

Steemit Teaches You One Of The Greatest Virtues! Read How

The High Price of STEEM and SBD! Will It Last?

Random Acts of Kindness - Keep The Christmas Spirit On

Merry CHRISTMAS!!! My FIRST Xmas on Steemit!

Simple Steemit SUCCESS Strategy | How To Grow On Steemit From SCRATCH

How To Meditate By Following Just ONE WORD! | It's NOT An Art Nor A Science, Just A Single Word | Cut The Crap & Complexities OUT of Meditation

How To Get Followers WITHOUT F4F | Get Organic Followers Who Are Interested In YOUR Content

2 Months On Steemit! | How Have I Done & My Goals

Haven't Posted On Steemit For A While? | Find Out Why | The Real Secret To Self Motivation

[Best of Steemit] Max Curation Edition No.16 - Find Hidden Treasure On Steemit

Sort:  

I heard speculation late last year that Facebook were considering Litecoin. It'll be interesting to see what they decide on eventually.

I heard that too a while ago. I think MZ made this announcement just so as to speed up the decision making process, especially with Steemit evolving so fast.

Fortunately for him, news about Steemit hasn't gone viral as yet, with most Facebook users oblivious to the fact that they can get paid for their posts in a better community. But for how long!

What can this mean to the social media industry?? And will it be a competition to steem???

It is a good idea for a topic for you to do some research on, and write a post about it. Looks like you've been posting only one-line questions since you joined Steemit.

If you're completely new, I suggest you learn more about the platform by reading posts with the Steemit tag about what you should do first, and also observe successful and established members.

How do you think or what bitcoin price predictions in 2018 will it rise or fall?
I want to survey some people's opinions

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @maxabit.

This post has received a 22.12 % upvote from @kittybot thanks to: @maxabit.

This post has received a 2.24 % upvote from thanks to: @maxabit.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD to bid for votes.
The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55