"Whale Wars" The Good The Bad and The Ugly | Stay Tuned | Profits | Community | Pleas :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody! I can see there are a lot of waves and a lot of ships are being toppled by the heavy tides.

First of all, I would like to say, this was spoken on a looong time ago, sure the out of the blue way to start "testing" out without reaching to people first to notify them is a bit of a let down, but the ideas proposed have been pointed out by many, @ krnel, @ snowflake, @ fyrstikken and probably, no surely many other have spoken on the fact that the platform is disproportionate towards the users, with whales( investors/miners/first adopters ) being the only people able to give decent payouts with a vote that actually counts. This post is "inspired" by a previous one on the same topic by fyrst and I'm leaving a link here


My Oppinions

Whales should be free and improve the platform, I've said multiple times, that they should profit form the value not from the inflation, still what is going on is depressing to many, I hope more people can chill out and stop their whining(read before running ) and problem pointing, we know the problems the problems have been plaguing the platform for a year at the least, that is why the price is dropping, because the costs outweigh the benefits, there are a few things on the plus side and even more if you count in the opportunity and nice new foundations that could be built, still what we have at the moment is painful to many, I would say PLEASE don't take it so personal, the profits are always there, all of us will profit if the platform does well and all of us can build more with the skills, information and community we are given the opportunity to polish right now and not only but every day here on Steemit.

With all the suggestions, changes, ideas and issues I can only say one thing: Please, Stay Tuned and Build that Community so we can all Profit.

Experiments are necessary to find that golden mean by which we can all spiral outwards towards true realization of our dreams and potential. It's easy to look at the short span of a few months and point out the flaws, the price is dropping, whales are flagging, assholes are flagging, blacklists are flagging, remove the rewards since the whales are profiting, haze and burn the developers, but really who are we helping, are we actually doing anything different than a mob? Are we out to get Frankenstein? What bad did the so far unrealized platform do to everybody, offer profits and then see it is hard in reality t offer people free meals, sure it is, it should be. We are a platform that doesn't know what it is currently, just like Frankenstein we are a sewed up body from pieces of other working ideas and we don't know who made us, why, why we are hating, why we are hurting..

I'm going to say this once WE aren't YouTube, Reddit, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIN, BUT we can be much more, we can be a true decentralized community and I can say again, IT is in our hands to make that happen, SteemIT might be an idea and a Intellectual Property(IP) of @ ned and @ dan, BUT WE the people are what is driving it and what is navigating, so please I know how you feel, I know how it feels to have good ideas, to have a voice and to just want t share it. I know how it feels to spend hours making a post then staying up all night promoting it so people can look at it (at least more then the first 5 out of which 1-2 will open and look). I know the pain, I also know the benefits.





If it wasn't for @ dragosroua I wouldn't have even made a blog, if It wasn't for Steemit I wouldn't be here(also thanks to YouTube :) ), if it wasn't for the many many many fine people here I wouldn't bother to share my opinions, I didn't do it in facebook, I didn't do it in YouTube, I saw some glimmer of an actual social environment, where people don't just care for rewards, social status and feel goods.

I saw REAL people here and with that I can only add one thing. I've been blessed to find a place where I can place my ideas and polish them, where I can share my thoughts and find other people who read and add or just answer when spoken to at least, sure there are problems, but we can figure it out. It's nobody's fault, because if it is there is everybody to blame, since we are all taking part and have contributed with what we have, so once again PLEASE don't let this ruin your mood, don't let this push you down, like it has many others, PLEASE don't just game the system like most are doing, bots and flags won't save us, there are there to stop sock puppets and to make the whole daily grind easier, but we have taken it on a whole different level.

We are so confused and baffled we have started attacking each other and fighting between ourselves.


ME-s-sages

To the minnows, HAVE FUN, READ, WRITE, CURATE, COMMUNICATE This is your chance to thrive :) Here is a nice way to look at it :) From Meesterboom

To the "super users" Don't worry all we are getting is botvotes anyways, why not see how we can fare within a social economy, where engagement is stimulated rather than reward farming.

To the whales, guys you are making huge waves, voting not voting, either way you have the POWER, so please be responsible with it. Careful with the whole Purge aspect and the flag warring :D people a getting killed in your social experiments, it' hard to get a firm hold on reality around here, there is no stable foundation because it is a reversed pyramid analogy, so please stop moving the whole pyramid so erratically, you a crushing false expectations :D


I say we need some RESPECT and TIME to reach a CONSENSUS, Steemit isn't ready for mass adoption just for the reasons outlined already. But that doesn't mean we should hate it and curse whomever could be responsible.

Once again, there is everybody to blame, The Developers: for not making a utopia since day one, if you can blame them for that,

The Whales: for being humongous douchebags here and there, but that is a matter of opinion, trust me they don't know any better and we are all emotional beings, so when somebody is at fault for not taking their time and catering to your wants and wishes, maybe it's not their fault.



How can 50 people read through 5000 posts, I've been struggling and I have all day, I've read hundreds of thousands of posts and comments, can I brag about it, sure I can, should I expect to have a value of 3000$, sure I can, but that doesn't matter because none of you know that, the ones who do value my opinion( I hope ) and have seen me grow, seen my struggles and we have been there supporting each other, so that is why I'm making this post right now.




In my mind we need at least a full year in beta, so we can learn to be responsible adults and figure out what we are doing, rather than seeking quick profits, benefits, watching other peoples pockets, why not just take a step back, evaluate the platform for what it is, what it could be an act from there, accepting the reality and the responsibility of being one of the first in a new "utopia" where we can build foundations, grow communities and support each other, like many have done for months on end.

It's hard many features are missing and still people have found ways to circumvent the issues, WE have TRAILS, WE have BUSY, WE have SteemINC. This platform like many others is nothing without the users and they should be the equal, democratic, RESPONSIBLE, people for their actions. There are many problems, but the possibilities are endless and that outweighs the costs in my mind.

I've already made my points in my blogs, I will leave a few links below for anyone interested, but I can say I've had MEANINGFUL CONNECTIONS with at least 50-200 people on here.
I have FOUND many interesting topics to me and that far outweighs in scope any payment that could be given. I even challenged myself to read 500 posts, trust me I've stopped counting, I have LEARNED so much more and SAW through many problems in my own life and acts, just by being smart and learning from peoples mistakes, so I WILL appeal to you, PLEASE don't take it so seriously,


LIFE IS JUST A RIDE!

CHEERS ! ! ! :) :) :)

Threads,

ON Play:ON Train:ON Work:
How to be a MasterAnswer to life is Train, Heart/HardHave some Fun SteemIT
Water and Light
Darkness to Light

Side tracks, Followers I give you a Windmill, if you want to see how far I've gotten with the ideas on the above topics and support my growth :) Ho, I built my logo

Last but not least:

Sort:  

Cheers for the shout out! I agree. Less negativity. Less shouting down any change as bad. Let's ride the wave that is steemit and see where it takes is!

Posting a link to a very interesting and important video. Please check it out :)

https://steemit.com/blockchain/@kurtbeil/blockchain-ethics-and-oligarchs

I think more people need to see it and mostly the power players because they are stepping the fine line of negligence and malice here and there, sometimes seemingly so sometimes acting like a jackass( dear bernie you were the first so I tend to mention your name as the misunderstood whale :D )

Of course, we have enough of that negativity with the flag wars resurfacing every week it seems, all to often attention is driven there.

Hello @j3dy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Hug and kisses, that's a first :) Thank You!

Hi, you are a good person and I like you.

Absolutely a great post; One that we need and One that we all shall read, digest and try all our best and followup on.

Well written j3dy, you are wotth following

And check it out, four cents to your post, and what a post it is! You put it all in there, well done :)

Thanks for a more positive interpretation of this whole "experiment" thing!

And some of this IS actually working. For example, when I upvote someone now it actually shows as a few cents change instead of nothing-- so the underlying idea is good. Maybe it was not implemented in the best possible way... but I am open to this leading to positive changes for Steemit, in the long run.

I find the lack of infrastructure to be the problem, we can't communicate properly and time is pressing each day, so in a sense what abit did w a good idea, but if you factor in the fact that people are expecting rewards and hating flags I can see why it is a problem for many, the main reason is that it gives off a bad vibe and makes the platform look unstable. Still the timing couldn't be more on point, just before the hardfork so we get some data at least, we aren't breaking much apart from a few hearts for sure, I think it won't do much, it just goes to show what steemit could be even if it is a negative way to go by proving a point :D anyways we are at a juncture where there isn't enough to go around and even cents count, which is a good thin if the platform recovers maybe we will have a nice memory or a few memes at least :D

I'm linking to a few other posts that i found very helpful, one is how wolves benefit the ecosystem, I think it correlates quite nicely to our little problem right now :)

https://steemit.com/photography/@mweich/re-homeartpictures-from-the-threatened-to-the-threat-the-wolf-in-germany-vom-bedrohten-zur-bedrohung-der-wolf-in-deutschland-homeartpictures-20170314t152605825z

The original post contains some great image if you want to check them out :) oh actually you have been there :D
Anyways I think the video is posted after you've made your comment so feel free to watch it if you haven't it's quite short :)

Well said!

kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thank you for the badge of approval

"I have FOUND many interesting topics to me and that far outweighs in scope any payment that could be given."

That's a great attitude and I truly wish more people would see the value of knowledge like you do!

it should be up to us to spread the real value around, not just the profits. Maybe we can set examples here and there and give the chance to more people to experience the wonders of development ( mental \ physical \ emotional )

I've been like this for years, I've never been one to run for incentives or profits, so I found and tried to do the best with what I had going for me :) funny enough when you bet on knowledge and information it doesn't seem to end so you are always winning :D

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.55 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41