Having fun on Steemit? C30, D3,Week Recap, Work

in #story7 years ago

Hello , dear Steeming community! Let me ask you a few questions
Since I'm not one to go back on a challenge and face defeat the posts must roll.
And as Freddie Mercury best put it: "The show must go on!"
Today's topic will be Work and does it work. So lets Get going!


track-1573776_960_72067c26.jpg


About Work , Steemit, Community and the future

Since I want to have a conversation I will ask you bluntly, Is Steemit a place where you want to make money and develop a business or is it a more personal experience for you?

I've been here for a few months ,about 4 (which my memory guessed right) and I have seen a wide range of people , all of whom have contributed to the growth of the platform as a whole and have made way for the community to expand and share.

My overall experience has been as positive as one can imagine , I've had my hopes restored in the "social media" and have grown quite active in my own mind here. I've found more that anywhere else and have bitten more than I can chew , from @lordvader 's roleplaying hilarious antics, to @krnel 's recent philosophic posts or @dragosroua 's challanges or the immense personal stories, colorful photography , art and discussions on cryptocurrency , bots , pollution , recycling , permaculture. It just never ends and I'm more and more amazed each day.

One thing I didn't like happening is the overflow of information and the actions of people geared towards making a quick profit , ready to ditch and run with the spoils. I can say that around 90% of the people I have had the privilege of running by have the best interests of the community in mind and want to see the opportunities arise from this new found land so to speak. And it's those people I want to ask , Is Steemit a job for you, are you taking it as serious as you would a career.

I have seen the enormous benefits this platform has on communities , since it already has many formed naturally.
But are the rewards all we want, is this why we post? Why we comment? For the benefit of the platform, or for the opportunity to have that conversation you can't get in your circle of relatives, Those questions you've only seen before flash in a spark of inspiration. That is what I like seeing in this place , people growing stronger together , asking questions , seeking answers , finding meaningful connections and hopefully bringing some of that back to their side of the world , spreading hope and finding solutions to problems. Lets hope the growth lasts and we can keep up! And we don't become addicted to this steem substance , like in the Dune world(which I haven't read but I wholeheartedly recommend to any sci-fi fan)


train-1715320_960_720d1fe2.jpg


About ME ME ME , :D , Recap, some thoughts, Past posts, Future Threads

First of all I have to say I was incredibly impressed with how easy writing came to me , also following my first post I had some of my expectations shattered , people are busy, most of them don't read , some of them are just here for their rewards and It's very hard to take everything into account.

I started out posting on a whim and then had to face the reality , of not being "powerful". That actually wasn't something that bothered me much, as I've stated the community is what interests me more than the steem, even if they are linked rewards can't relate to the benefits of completion , or the drive to promote your post so that more people can reach it. Sure rewards can benefit you , but they can quickly turn against you if you place too much emphasis on them and expectations. Pretty much like in real life, money can keep you warm , well fed , but it can't teach you to love or to care , it won't warm your heart and it won't nourish your soul.

This is turning into a mirror of my second post , for me at least , since I'm watching another hour pass by and I have to say even if I feel like it has been 10 minutes and once again like to finish this post before midnight, its 1am again. I'm gaining more and more experience and respect for the writing tradition. Hopefully that shows. After going through my second post a few days back I had the thought that I didn't do the good videos justice or the subject at hand. So I will work towards refining this new craft of mine.

I was planning on having these three subjects recurring daily(play,train,work) or having one per day , but reality dosn't give me the chance. I for one also could go on and on and don't seem to be able to create that short , impactfull story that makes you get the "cosmic giggles" or just inspired for a week ready to chase your dreams, like you could get from a amazing book , only God knows how that works. And blessed are those that can keep close and find inspiration in the daily mundane. I would like to have a following and get people to slow down a bit and enjoy the scenery as it grows , but rarely does someone get their wishes in the moment they ask. Patience wouldn't be a virtue if it was so easy.


iceland-1863747_960_720e2d87.jpg


Final Thoughts and those pesky future threads

I have really high hopes(check Pink Floyd) for steemit , I would like to explore many topics and cover my progress, also I love the prospect of the conversations and the numerous interactions that might arise. I for one would like to answer those age old questions , on how to be happy, how to live your dream and how to be a fully developed human being , free of dogmas , free of dis-ease , responsible and conscious of my actions. And then we can go back to the roots of life and live like our ancestors , to give life to the world, rather than take away and fill bags dividing and hiding about from our own shortcomings. I'm happy to end it here for now :) .


Theme of the day: High Hopes! Hope to see you at the comments, have an insightful journey :)

Sort:  

Great easy going post. You formulate your ideas clearly and I appreciate that in your writing. To answer your question, I too, as many have, been writing, creating music, and sharing my experiences audibly and through literature more than a decade and a half before I discovered steemit through my brother-in-law @sirwinchester. The community is highly diverse and multi-faceted, and the creativity that stems from each pondering and unique individual with their own talents and gifts provides so much quality inspiration to feed off and induce a cycle of gifting and receiving the contents we share through reciprocity. Sure not everyone comments or gives their feedback, that could be due to disinterest, time management, or laziness, but for those who do engage in meaningful conversations and taking time to make a genuine impact with their words, intentions and energy, hopefully positive, then great moments are created also with the content and dialogue tied to them.
The monetary compensation is a definite plus, but if one goes down my page for example, I don't get paid for everything I do, and I don't tie my heart and expectations to every post based off of the monetary value.

As an artist, I realize, I will never feel my creations can equal monetary compensation to what I feel they are worth, however I write because I want to make a difference in the world, a positive impact and be a role model of good influence in my community, be it here in the digital world of Steemit, or, first and foremost in my household with my family and children and everyone else in the real physical dimension. I've never been so creative in my life, and this is due to Steemit and I am honing and sharpening my skills, while also networking and making great connections and new friends and learning more about myself and others and the world everyday. This is what makes Steemit a great place to be, and why I write what I do, and share what I can from the depths of my very being. Great post and thanks for writing this and informing me, I believe I shall now post this response on my page as well and link back to yours since you sparked such a reply out of me. Upvoted

Well you are the first to give a comprehensive and detailed explanation of your views. And that's good enough for me as a "creator". It's great to ear your thoughts and your world view, that is the best way to start and see real change , just do it and see where it takes you!

I'm no one to care much about the monetary side , but here as well as in the real world things are mirrored , you can't just neglect one side. The more people you reach the higher the reward , of course if it is reached without undermining your values it counts for something.

I have the impression that there is too much to keep up with on this platform I for one have Upvoted hundreds if no thousands of posts by now , almost always leave a comment and give the community a chance to respond.
The time it takes to respond and read through everything , leaves you a bit drained and that is why most people just try to keep everything simple , you vote , you get rewards , at some point there arises the choice of either commenting , or reading another post , writing your own and since most people dont have the 10 hours of free time I do , they do what they can and move on , I tend to dig into peoples past posts , find some gems , but it's grown past my reach and it's taking a toll on my life so to speak, It's definately my new "hangout" and I'm missing my past free roaming. It's a great place tho Steemit rocks so far!

I definitely agree, but as long as moderation is taken into practice and consideration, the feeling of being overwhelmed can be put at bay and calmed. What we give, we may receive back, although there is no guarantee, however whatever positive energy we put forth counts for a lot, especially those who receive it, for such actions shall be remembered, and if the intentions are pure and goodhearted, nothing ill or malice should come from it in the grand scheme of things. Consistency and positivity are a big key combination to what many of us do. Thanks again for all your encouraging words and insight.

Thank you for the encouragement!

You're most welcome.

Just wrote a post linking back to your post, thanks for the inspiration and sparking the conversation. https://steemit.com/community/@verbal-d/why-does-verbal-d-post-why-do-you-is-it-for-the-money-original-blog

So I see. You are a very good blogger. Its great to write at your heart's content. And you are right in stating the fact that we are here to share our content with people in this community. Maybe we get well paid for it, maybe not. But since there is no single moderator, we get to know how people think and what content they like. This gives us freedom to diversify.😊

hooow :D did you read so quick :D maaan I need to work on my response timings it seems I'm doing too much of nothing at all :D anyways

Thank you for taking the time and stopping by :) I think you nailed my reasoning, I think the whole decentralized aspect is a great thing, everybody has a say and many communities can be formed separately, even if we get lost in the noise from time to time, it's good to have the freedom to explore and communicate with people :) so I hope we get some decentralization of power but keep the centralization on decisions (consensus)

Great post. I think people who are purely focused on monetary rewards will not really get very much out of Steemit.

I'm starting to figure that out. The premise would be that people are the ones distributing the rewards. So It's up to the people to find what is best , but I have to agree with this post from @nikflossus and I still share the views that there is a long way to go , and lots of turns to make before steemit is a suitable platform.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@nikflossus/5000-steem-power-and-125-followers-reached-a-few-thoughts-so-far-the-good-the-bad-and-the-mediocre

It is still a work in progress and will continue to get better.

High hopes is pretty cool. Love Pink Floyd. Cool post by the way. Basically I love that I can earn from my writing but I have been writing way before Steemit. Steemit is more than money though. Steemit is true social. Meeting people from diverse places and backgrounds. It's all about the connection. Sharing stories and photos getting a glimpse of new lives. That is rich. And you get monetary rewards based on mutual respect. This is priceless.

Perfectly put , you have touched on the strongest of sides that are very dear to me too , It's whats kept me here before the rewards and after the frustrations!

Thanks 😊

Great work. High hopes are the best hopes to have! Love the pics by the way. Did you shoot them?

Naah I wish , it's all pixabay, I should source the images , but I'm still focusing on the writing and haven't gotten the form right.

I'm trying to get a theme going and look for something that fits , but apart from that , all the thanks should go to the wonderful people at pixabay that share their works for the prospects of coffee :)

Great post! Look forward to reading more from you!

Much appreciated! , I will try to post daily , it's hard to manage with the daily requirements.
But its fun nonetheless . Thriving in the face of challenge :) !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22