The Excitement of the Whale Experiment - Why We Should Get On Board

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Last night I read of the whale experiment. My first thought was probably like others. What does this mean? When I read the comments under @abit's post it seemed to make sense. But... I don't think I totally realised how good this was.

So after reading, it was rather late and I was a little quiet on here at the weekend and I went to bed. However this morning I woke up and as normal racked up some coffee and started reading some Steemit posts. I saw a great post by @merej99. I voted it BANG 16 cents of an uptuck to quote the great klye!

I read on. Voted a post by juanmiguelsalas, BOOM six cents. What the heck? Thought I. My votes are actually worth something.

It made me think. Normally my behaviour, like others (I think) is to vote a lot and not really consider my voting power. After all if it hardly counts then who really cares.

But suddenly I am finding that my vote carries weight

I can influence other people's payouts!

This is what having steempower is meant to be about! Voting for quality content and having that vote actually count for something.

I am very impressed. Already I have been a little more sparing of my vote. I don't want to waste them but at the same time I want to share the wealth for all of the good content posts. It got me thinking. My current voting power is at 70 odd percent. Now if I am a little more prudent I can build it back up to full power and for all of the great content I see I can actually do something with my vote instead of wondering if this vote will help it tick over by a cent.

This experiment already means a lot to me. All of us dolphins and almost dolphins can make a difference.

Will the experiment last? Who knows. I hope it does. This might be the thing that levels the playing field for Steemit. Haven't we all lamented on how our votes are essentially worthless and that throwing a post up on steemit is essentially a lottery where you hope that a whale will pass by and bless it with some lovely whale water.

Now, or at least for the moment, we all have a chance of influencing a posts rewards.

Now to the downside. I can imagine the people who earn a lot of rewards thanks to whale votes being upset by a partial downvote. But think about it. If we can spread the joy of rewards more equally, isn't that the potential that Steemit promised?

The thing that drew us to the platform. Now if we have steempower we can make a difference. After all, if steempower doesn't matter then what is to stop everyone from just cashing it out into steem then selling it. This is the main reason the steem price is decreasing because there is too much being sold and not enough buyers. Having influence takes us back to the tenets of steemit.

Influence tokens which give you more control over post payouts 

There is a bigger picture here and I for one am glad that there are things afoot to improve this platform.

We are in beta. This is the time to experiment and see what makes it work better and what we can potentially keep. Why should we scratch about hoping for a few singular votes to make our posts valued? Why not embrace the fact that suddenly a majority of users have been gifted some influence?

Bring it on that's what I say.

In fact HUZZAH! We can all be whales for fifteen minutes

Of course, I welcome comments. That's what steemit is about. Lets get that discussion going!

:O)

Sort:  

Thanks for the 6 cents @meesterboom! :) Indeed is an interesting experiment, let´s see how it goes but til now is good.

You are very welcome. I am so used to voting and seeing little or no change! Its great!

Thanks for some positivity @meesterboom & @juanmiguelsalas!!!!!
I can´t see all these complaints anymore.
The experiment hasn´t even begun, so we should give it a try and then judge...
Full Steem Power ahead ;)

That's my kind of thinking!!

Full steempower ahead it is!!! :0D

I think this experiment is really interesting. I can understand the frustration of people who normally get their share of whale votes, but most are bot votes anyway. I'm hoping that the votes that are cast now, are more thought out, though I guess that's still wishful thinking. I'd just love to see well thought out posts get what they deserve, instead of new members with good posts having to get frustrated by a cat picture gaining $30, just because that writer has a bot following.

Actually, writing this... wouldn't a botless week be a much more exciting experiment?

Anyways, as I've stated in a previous comment: It's beta, we have to understand that these kinds of tests can happen. It'll all be for the good of the platform in the end.

For now: Yay for votes having more power!

Yay! It is indeed beta!

If we can have more power then we will want more power!

Things like this might be part of the way to removing bot votes. Not entirely because there are many reasons for using them but if we all have an actual stake I just think the platform might actually get over a big hump! :O)

I think so too. It might just restore a bit of balance to manual votes, which is a good thing for the platform's quality.

Yeah, people will be more careful about throwing out lots of random votes!

I agree! I'd be willing to run bot-less for a week to see what happens and yes part of being in Beta is being able to roll with change.

Oh yes, that is the main crux isnt it! Beta!

Actually, my favorite part of Steemit is as I upvote, seeing how a few cents go to the authors.

Hehe, the reverse anticipation!! ;O)

OMG! I have got my 1-cent power back!! Sweet!! (yeah, you are my first trial)

btw, it is a long lost power. although a while ago because wang follows me voting and I got this power but it is not really my own influence. my own 1 cent power goes back to several months ago!!

Thank you @meesterboom for posting this great article.

Your comment last night on Abits post was a good rally cry....hopefully it assisted those who did not see the forest...only their own trees. Steemit benefits from having a @meesterboom and his e'spirit de corp.

All the best to you. Cheers.

Thank you @bleujay! I think you have once again cut to the heart of it. Seeing through the trees!!

I agree,this experiment is very interesting,although I'm sorry for those who got flagged with the justificcation that this would negate whales voting who didn't join the experiment.But If this leads to changes,for instance the whale investor accounts,where whales give up their voting rights in return for higher interests, it's splendid.Changes have to be made,soon.There are competitors on the way,
about to launch.Akasha and Synereo are both in closed alpha at the moment. A more fair share of rewards is the only thing that can save Steemit.

Yep, I agree. There are competitors coming and if people can join here and see that there are rewards to be had for everyone. Regardless of value and that building up steempower means they can influence the rewards of others that can only be great. Thanks for commenting!

If this experiment has the effect of getting people to move away from complaining and finger pointing, in addition to the uptick in vote distribution it will have an added bonus.

Lol, it does seem to need to be taken into context! I joked earlier that if we flagged people into negative balances they would owe steemit. That might really put it into perspective!

I couldn't agree more. Anything that has the users of the platform feeling better about everything and feeling less need to complain is such a bonus!

people will actually need to say nice things about the whales doing this. What a turn around :)

I can imagine! What a turn around indeed!

16 cents?? Yowza! Me thinks now is the time to curry favor with the boom master. 16 cents times 1000 posts woah! 160 bucks! I'll be rich in no time!! Now.. time to get cracking on those 1000 posts hmm...

Lol, it was a high earning post! Dont worry though. Your posts are always such quality that you get my vote every time!

Get them thousand posts posted!

Right after I commented this, I received that same exact comment from @smooth haha! Is that like an infection thing? Did I contract something from leaving a comment on your post?! HAHA My posts don't even make anything, I think the post I just put up had the most number of whale votes I've ever received haha! Albeit negative votes. If this experiment persists, I might end up owing Steemit money for posting >.< hahaha

Lol, you crack me up!!

That would be funny. You join steemit for the rewards and the community and have to stay because you owe it!!! Hehe!!

"Sorry, I can't come out today, I need to put up at least 3 posts that gain $5 on Steemit. Ugh." I could already see it now haha! The scenario I envisioned was for a nephew's graduation, by the way.

He will understand, given time ;o)

Awesome post thanks for shareing !!👍😍

It's very nice. Thank you, kind and positive @meesterboom :)

Always a pleasure. I am glad you liked @bontonstory!! :0)

And BOOOOOOOOM , six cents for ya! I need to look into translating this for the spanish community

Hot dang!! Thats awesome isnt it!! 6 cents! When do you see that happen. Its usualy negligible!

Thanks man and translate away! Muy bien!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31