The Sunday Purge#2: The solution to spamming and vote buying - Manual Curation?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

SundayPurge2.jpg

Is Curation the solution?

If you’re here for long enough, it’s almost sure that you already saw it happen. You saw people spamming, plagiarizing and scamming others, gutless, without caring about the long-term faith of the platform. But why?

The question is why are they doing it? Abusing the reward pool is not the outcome but the symptom of something worse, I’ll get to that a bit later.

You should also check out my other Sunday Purge post since I'm making some references to the things I have mentioned in there.

Disclaimer: What I'm saying in this post may be right, or it may be just my hallucinations from too much tea but to know for sure you will have to research everything on your own.

Everybody wants money, from priests to politicians to even kids and if they can make a quick buck with little to no effort, they will do it.

Everybody’s throwing rocks at thieves, but the ugly truth is that if those people could steal money or “goods” without getting caught almost all of them would do it without hesitation if people could abuse the reward pool without risking anything nearly all of them would do it.

It’s human nature

Guy break.png

The real problem

If the people that are raping the reward pool could make the same amount of money or even half by providing decent content, I think that at least 50% would take that chance and turn from scumbags into content creators.

People like them are just the symptom of the flaws this platform has. After five months and something on Steem, without the help of @Acidyo and other whales like him, I would barely make $1 something on my posts. After five months of providing what I think is valuable content, I would still get pennies.

Life as a minnow is rough; you barely make something even if your content is more valuable than the content of some of the whales and that, sometimes, is frustrating.

My question is, if those people can make $10+ without any effort, on a copied post why would they ever turn into content creators to spend endless hours on the platform and barely make $1?

Guy break.png

The solution?

There’s no direct solution to this problem, abusing will always exist because even if you strengthen the support of the minnows, there would still be people that harm the community because they don’t know any better.

But there are things we could do, as a community that could considerably lower the number of spammers-plagiarists and even grow the number of new users.

If whales and dolphins would stop renting delegations to vote-selling bots and instead start curating valuable content this platform would have a chance to be significant. Even if you’re making fewer curation rewards by manual curation, by helping the community the Steem price may rise and your portfolio would worth a lot more.

But you see, as I said, human nature is the problem because those whales instead of thinking long-term at the faith of Steem they choose to get easy money by renting their SP or auto vote people just because they get big curation rewards without even reading the content.

The beginning idea of Steem was read and if you like the content upvote it and maybe even comment not auto vote after 30 minutes and never read the content so that you can make more money.

Manual curation is a long-term investment and the way to save this platform.

Guy break.png

What about vote-buying?

Vote selling, as we know it is rot, is total shit. Nothing good about it because anyone can buy votes even if their content is shit.

The main idea of vote buying is useful: you can buy a boost for your posts since you’re making dynamite content and no one’s checking it out, but since then it deteriorated a lot because now everybody’s using it no matter how shit their content is.

Let’s say that we’re not killing the vote selling bots but just revolutionize them. Instead of upvoting anyone who’s sending some SBD, we need a bot powered by humans that check all the posts and if they don’t meet the guidelines or they are just spammers, the vote doesn’t upvote them.

But, if we as a whole focus on curation then there would be no need for vote-buying since even the minnows that are posting great stuff would make something.

Guy break.png

Conclusion

If we want to see this platform thrive, to see the Steem price at its real potential, then we are the ones that have to act first.

We need a combination of curation and flagging, where some people downvote the terrible stuff and those posts “disappear, ” and other people upvote the great content so it can be displayed to more users.

If you want to help with the curation feel free to check out @OCD and get a feel for what everything is about and maybe even upvote the nominations since all the users we are supporting are undervalued.

The change starts with you.

Join the rest of us inside: Be Awesome | SPL | Busy | ADSactly

GuyVersion.jpg

Sort:  

You are right about @acidyo and @ocd.
They have done more for the platform than most will ever realize!! I too am super thankful for their work and support!

Exactly, @Acidyo is the man. Before he created @OCD, he was curating content all by himself, now, he has a whole team to do it with. ;)

The problem is developers chasing crypto unicorns with smart media tokens and hope for dump money to pour onto them after they release them. While the platform is deteriorating and blocker-level issues like unable to register new users get no attention.

The platform needs smart content managing system. Adaptive sorting algo when user downvote someone 2-3 times and never see that someone's content again could be a start.

The SMT's could be huge for Steem's price since it turns the whole platform into something similar to ETH. Plus there are some great projects that want to create tokens, like @busy.org who wants to build a token that rewards all the users from this platform.

Some filters would be good for sure, especially for curation.

So, you vision is that we do have severe problems already - you post about them - but should add another level of complexity - SMT - without solving them?

Oh, no, the problems need to be solved, no wonder. And I think that after @blocktrades last post, that caught @ned's attention, some change will come soon.

But yeah, I am looking forward to SMT's since, as I said, it may bring a lot of positive awareness towards Steem since some amazing projects are being developed.

Great post - 100% agree - 100% upvote - 100% resteem!!!

I actually made an account for manual curation of introduction posts today, since the #introduceyourself area got so much worse in the last weeks - it's full of spam! This way I will help new users on the on hand, on the other hand following @welcoming will help old users to find promising new ones without having to dig through all the spam. Maybe you want to check it out: Welcome @welcoming, an account for manual #introduceyourself curation!

Greets!

Thank you, I appreciate it.
That is a great idea man; I'm following @welcoming, I want to keep up with the new users. All of the tags seem to be full of spam lately. I can barely find something good in #philosophy, and I don't even dare to open #photography.

I'm looking forward to interacting more with you. ;)

Great, glad you like it! Yeah, the amount of spam rises so much :/

I'm looking forward to interacting more with you. ;)
Definitely :)

Im new to steemit. I havent grasped what curation really is.

Curation is mostly finding great undervalued posts and supporting them either by upvotes, comments or nominating them to bigger curation projects. :)

I know your work @theaustrianguy It's really dedicated by the way to enrich the community. We are doing the same with @curazao over live Streaming twice a week, and is a little hard but great. So good to see you... let's keep on working for the Blockchain!!! Cheers!

Awesome post dude and you make some very very valid points on the flawed system in Steemit rewards - I struggle all the time with the platform operates - and as of late have settled only for curating and commenting. I can make .25 SBD from a comment using the eSteem app quite often and if people respond and upvote it it often goes to .7 - $3 - I try to write useful engaging comments and the few minutes to write them as opposed to the hours for post do not compare in payout size at - unless I am blessed by a whale - my posts reach .10 if I'm lucky - been here as long as you bro -

Thank you. I used to comment a lot more when I joined and back then, I was making a lot more from comments than from posts. I mostly moved into building communities on Discord and creating content since I love doing both, but I should comment more.

Totally agree! and by the way I do manual curation too and it's f***1n6 hard to do that job without any help. But instead of lay we go on. So cool man... cause you kow how it feels. The possibility of curatino is a great feeling. And by the way. What do you think about buying votes directly by bitshares for example? Becasue it's a thin line between one thing and the other as I see. But I have no chance sometimes and when voting manually I have to do it in that way çause my SP sucks. So can make 7 or 8 votes about 4 dollars is the only way for me.

Peace!

Feel that, manual curation can be pretty hard sometimes, that's why I love to do it with @OCD since as a team it's easier to find good content.

Buying votes with bitshares? You mean Whaleshares and the other one? If your content is good (and yours is) then vote buying is not such a big problem since you're not really abusing the platform. But still, I do believe that it should be gone at all and the focus to be on curation and spreading of wealth. :D

These problems will always come up and many real content creators will leave the platform until it will be changed. Bur hope the best. @ocd is very useful and I love them but can it keep up with the amount of content?

Sadly, you're right. I know a few people who either gave up or posted less.

Huh, we're about 30 curators both for English and other languages, but we only get to curate about 20 posts per day. Of course that we don't get to help everyone and it's even hard to spot the good content out, but hopefully, in the near future, the project will grow, and we will be able to do some more great stuff.

So nice article, congrats! My comment by now sonds cheap:)) this is indeed a current problem of Steem and how people are using the platform. I find it sad when I read articles with 40+ votes and just 15 views... what did the rest of the people liked at that article, the title? How can one vote without even opening the article. I am aware of autovotes but this does just not seem right, and neither vote buying.

Haha, you are right. Thank you, kind sir. Haha, the people using "Kind Sir" in comments and memos are hilarious.

Usually, when something like that happens is it because of the trails. I don't think that the people are upvoting without opening the posts.

I like your post and feel the same way. Plenty of us do I guess, but sadly, we need most of the whales to feel this way to make any real difference.

The main idea of vote buying is useful: you can buy a boost for your posts since you’re making dynamite content and no one’s checking it out

That's what the Promote option is supposed to be for, but I'm guessing that's not nearly as popular as all of the vote buying stuff.

A few whales are already thinking this way and acting for the greater good, like @Acidyo and his supporters but yeah, more people have to join.

The big problem with Promote is that no one's checking it, even if you're the first on that tag almost no one will see your post.

The big problem with Promote is that no one's checking it, even if you're the first on that tag almost no one will see your post.

That's very true! I hardly ever look at it aswell.

I don't think I have opened that tag since my first month on Steem. :)

This concerns me too. The way things are going, I think artificial accounts are likely to carry most of the reward weight, while quality human accounts are going to get the left leftovers when they wake up. Bots never sleep. Is steemit ever going to get an anti-bot post creation tool? Recaptcha or something else?

I don't think there's going to be any anti-bot policy in the near future but I guess we'll find out. ;)

flagging, where some people downvote the terrible stuff and those posts “disappear, ” and other people upvote the great content so it can be displayed to more users.

Well I feel like one mans treasure might be another mans trash. I also worry about someones bias moral decisions behind flagging that could be considered censorship. Who is policing the flaggers? Who are they and what makes their choices in content better than anyone elses?

I'm pretty sure that @guyfawkes4-20 was simply referring to the blatant spammers or comments who write "nice" and get a $7 upvote - Flagging was written into the code for a reason - so that we all can choose or choose not to flag abusive users - hopefully most Steemians are choosing to flag the nonsense on here to help rid it

You summarized it perfectly. I would probably flag here and there, but as a curator, my focus is on curation. ;)

As @krytonika said. When I mentioned flagging, I had in mind the people posting plagiarized content and quotes from Google. These are some of the accounts I was thinking of.

@cotarelo
@nmotwani21
@goodreads
@upvote-me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88