Why Steemit is Great for Your Homestead

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

If you've ever done any research on homesteading, I can bet that you've come across the integral idea of having multiple revenue or passive income streams.

Most, if not all, homesteaders want to homestead full time. In order for that to happen, they have to figure out how their homestead can provide a decent financial means without having to actually leave the homestead.

Often, this means having animals or plants that one is able to sell from the comfort of your own property. Animals like chickens which can provide eggs, chicks, and meat to sell are one of the first means of income that many homesteaders pick up.

Egg is mocking you



Tell me, are you already doing any of the following in regards to your homestead?

  • Blogging
  • Vlogging
  • Having a FB page
  • Participating on FB, Twitter, Instagram, etc, to essentially 'advertise' your homestead and gain a loyal following?

Yeah?

Well...

The reason that Steemit is probably one of the best things you can do for your homestead is that you can earn money in multiple ways here on Steemit, blogging, commenting, and even resteeming can earn you money. The other great thing is that you're able to do multiple actions with the earnings you make on Steemit. There are options to save, cash out, and invest your potential earnings.

You're already spending time on other social media sites, and not getting paid. Why not reinvest your time wisely over here on Steemit and then post your content here onto those other Social Media sites?

The final fantastic thing I am going to touch on in this blog is the fact that it takes nothing but a click in order to help someone else out in the Steemit world gain a few extra cents.

Remember, even if your comment or blog only earns a couple cents, or $50, that's potential money that you didn't have before.

In the homesteading world, every cent counts and helps toward your homesteading goals.


Veteran Steemit Homesteaders, have you noticed Steemit being a large, or small, part of your homesteading incomes? Is it worth it to you?




So far today I haven't done much, it's hot. I had some mac n cheese. That's my guilty pleasure box food... What's yours?

Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.


By @daddykirbs
Badge by @daddykirbs
Get yours here!

Sort:  

Homesteading is not an easy thing to do. It is more than a job it is a passion, mission and a desire to make things better for you and your family. I try to share and enlighten as many people as possible on our journey into homesteading. I hope from this that others try to homestead in their own way to make things happier and healthier for them and their family.

You're absolutely right! It takes having to get up EVERY DAY TO DO YOUR DAMN CHORES. Hahaha. Thanks for popping by, gonna go check you out!

Thanks! We thought the chores as kids were hard! Now look at us! lol

I bet ... if you would have asked my mom if I would be doing something like thisback then, she would laugh in your face. Lmao. I never had chores. Spoiled me. But I never really made messes or anything either. I did mostly take care of myself.

Hi!

I do hope you'll share your animals with us!

A couple of years ago I had done some product reviewing. Though I didn't get paid for it, I did get the product in return to review. Then recently I've been told, time and time again to get on here. So here I am. I'm not sure where it will take me but hey that's life. We don't always know where we'll be going.

Mac n cheese I think is all of ours guilty pleasure food. lol :)

I think if someone doesn't like Mac n cheese... I can't really be a true friend to them. Haha.

I did some product reviewing, this was before a homestead was even in the thoughts of our future though. Honestly, it felt like a huge waste of time. Haha, obviously, or else we would still be doing it! Though, I would totally do reviews here, NOT for free product though. For products that I feel people should know about, it would totally be unbiased.

Anyway, I will get to animals soon, but this post came to me, and it flew out of my fingers so quickly that I knew I had to post it right away.

Do you have high hopes for Steemit?

Haha yes I can't have mac n cheese haters around!

I never did the reviews for money either, it was more to pass time when I had terrible sciatica (which led to surgery eventually). I was dying of boredom because I couldn't do much. lol I've been thinking about doing reviews again on here, whether ir was for free items or stuff I've purchased myself. I don't like to lie about stuff. If its a crap product I'll say it is. lol

I think Steemit definitely has potential. I'm still learning about cryptocurrency. But if it's going how I hear it's going, then I think it will do fairly well. How about you?

From the update today, my intro post hit $200. Honestly, I think, like I said in the post, that any financial help is a real big bonus. Taking care of animals is not cheap. Especially since I feed the chickens and gucklings organic food.

I also don't work, so any way I can help husband financially, or even to have some pocket change for myself, helps us as a family.

Hitch, like you, I don't know much about the cryptocurrencies, I'll leave that to husband and do what I can. Haha

I can't even imagine how much it take to run a farm.
My hope with steemit is to be able to produce content and eventually make income from that.

Yes I leave the cryptocurrency stuff to my husband too! lol I make him explain some of the things I see on here if I'm confused about it.

I really hope to make some sort of promising cash monies from here also. It's really nice that I don't have to work, but then again, you kind of feel like a bump on a log. I got laid off from my last job, working at a beekeeper's honey shop, but I don't think I'm cut out for anything else. So, I feel like I have to find something else to help us out.

Yeah! I asked husband about the update that happened cause I felt like things were too good to be true!! hahaha. I still feel that way. But I hope it's not too good to be true. This cash could really help us. I mean, a 40# bag of feed costs me $30, which is real expensive for chicken food. Where a lot of people who don't buy organic spend like, $15 on 50#s or something like that.

I can just imagine how much more expensive organic chicken food is!

It's a little ridiculous! hahah

This may be sacrilegious, but I like to add a cut up hot dog to my mac and cheese. :-)

I've done that a couple times myself or do a tad bit of ground beef.

I am brand new to steemit! Just posted my first post, introducing myself! I am a hardcore homesteaders and have a very active vlog on YouTube so I had to come over here and see what the buzz was all about! I upvoted and resteemed! I already followed. Thanks for a great article!

I'm glad you like it!!! Thanks for stopping by and supporting me! Much love fellow homesteader!

Glad to be here! Thanks!

Congratulations @farmstead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I joined SteemIt PARTICULARLY for the growing homestead community here (and hey! What homestead doesn't appreciate the chance to make a little more $$ in any way possible?) Since I was raised in suburbs with only experience raising a housecat and fish, I have a LOT to learn about how to do this life, and I love getting to glean from other's journeys.

I truly love cinnamon rolls. Like...A LOT. I can't eat white flour any more, though, so I figured out how to make really lazy, whole-wheat, cast-iron sticky buns on the stovetop (it's super hot here in the Ozarks, too!) so that I don't have to heat up my kitchen too much. Though I want to give our Sunoven a shot at making them...maybe I'll do that today.

AHEM. Anyway, you got me thinking about cinnamon rolls, and that gets me sidetracked. Thanks for your post! I'll be following and learning from you, too. :)

Bahahha. Have you used almond flour for anything. I have converted my Great grandma's chocolate chip cookie recipe (maybe older recipe, but I dunno) into a gluten free --- maybe even more delicious... I think because of the almond flour.

I've never made cinnamon rolls myself... probably mostly because of the actual dough part. Seems kind of intimidating. I've only made a bread/roll recipe like, twice ever.

I'm not gluten-free, so I've only used almond flour once for a friend. It was...weird, but like I said, I have little experience with it. But Italian almond cookies?? GIMME SOME.

I make bread every week (we just only do whole grains, now!), and would love to teach you, if you want a hand sometime! My first loaf SUCKED, and I was totally intimidated and felt like a failure. But now, I understand it, and it's fun.

Totally! Make a few posts about it!

I am not gluten free really but was for a short time and wanted some damn cookies. To be honest... I eat just the dough and rarely bake the cookies... And the dough with my GF recipe is totally better. Haha.

Usually the GF is a mixture of many different kinds of flowers. If you are ever interested, I really like the King Arthur brand GF flour the best. When I make my cookies I do a mix of the King Arthur brand flour, Almond flour, rice flour, and some GF quick oats. Haha. :D

Hahha, I totally hear you! That dough-mix sounds totally like the kind I would make...and then "forget" to make cookies with.

I will have to make a SteemIt version with updated recipes, but in the meantime, here's my YouTube version of how to make bread from scratch! And when I say scratch, I mean even catching the yeast yourself. Up for an adventure? ( https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJf5xvt40NPaiODPKPyRu2g5nfqYTQTDw )

Ah man... Probably not that adventurous yet! Hahaha. I suck at watching videos also. >.< Haha. Thanks for the link. I'll check it if I get the balls. lmao

Haha, no problem. Like I said, I'll be making a SteemIt version sometime soon. Nice chatting with you, by the way!

Of course! You as well! I'm usually always up for a good chat! :D

I love how today's homesteading combines traditional income streams like livestock and produce with ultra modern things like Steemit.

I can only live part of the homesteading dream on my urban acreage -- no livestock allowed, although I'm hoping they open up the rules to chickens. But at least I have ample room to supply my family with fruits and vegetables -- especially if I use square-foot gardening (https://steemit.com/homesteading/@redhens/how-to-use-square-foot-gardening-to-boost-crop-production). And I can always homestead vicariously by reading the many great homesteading posts on Steemit. 🙂

You're right though, it's fantastic that there's so many different aspects to it now. HOWEVER. You absolutely sound liek a homesteader! An URBAN Homesteader! For me, I believe a homesteader is someone who does what they can to provide themselves via means of gardening, livestock, and doing things themselves like make bread and such! A little bit of sustainability!

Have you really looked into the rules? Does it say anything about quail?? I know a lot of people get around that livestock deal with quail and/or rabbits! Quail is on my next animal list!

I tried to garden this year, and was going to use some squarefoot gardening aspects... BUT THE GROUND SQUIRRELS ATE EVERYTHING! Except the garlic and onion. Ugh.

I think I actually have that post open already in my tabs. FUNNY. :D Thank you so much for stopping by and taking a moment! <3 I very much appreciate you commenting and starting a conversation with me! I look forward to your posts and more interactions!

My parents raise quails on their farm, but I never considered it here. Something to look into for sure. My husband is also interested in bees -- I don't think there are rules against that and it would be an interesting experience. It never hurts to ask. Thanks for the suggestion!

Usually there are maybe rules stating somewhere about bees. I would triple check that one! But yes people do get around the livestock with Quail... but I don't think they ask before doing it. Knowing me, I'd ask. But you might get a no. Usually though, people get away with it cause it doesn't say specifically. Haha.

You're very welcome! I'd be dying to provide myself with eggs somehow! I think quail will be our first meat bird... I hope I can deal with that, anyway. Lol.

I know how that is, I have the same situation with animals.

As far as steemit goes, I haven't been on here long enough to make any significant money, yet. I can see the potential though.
I am what some people would call an urban homesteader. I hesitate to use the word urban though, the town I live in has less than 10,000 people. The entire county probably has somewhere between 30 and 40 thousand people.

@@ -291,8 +291,69 @@
. Hahaha

  • Well, I just looked it up, we're just above 22k people. haha

I DON'T EVEN KNOW WHAT HAPPENED HERE.

I love mac n cheese too! We are working on becoming homesteaders as well. We've started a garden and we are also looking to get some chickens as well for meat and eggs. Good luck on your journey!

WHEW Good we can be friends!

I don't know if you saw, but I posted about how to make chick brooders! You might be interested! https://steemit.com/homestead/@farmstead/how-to-make-a-chick-brooder

Hello, Well written story! I am a friend of @homesteader and he told me about ya! I followed you and re-steemed your story. Great job!

Wow man, thanks!! I appreciate you popping over to comment and resteem! I am loving it here on Steemit! Gonna go scope out your blog now! <3

I hope KD qualifies, I've got cases stashed. I'm too old to do any type of steading, but I am getting pretty good at bedsteading. Good luck.

Kraft macaroni and cheese Dinner. Comes in a box . You just got to try it;)

OH! HA! I get it now. It's my favorite! But, the spiral noodles is the best kind!

I think that's a TYPE of homesteading... Prepping is kind of a part of it, isn't it?! Hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53