Introducing The Farmstead!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemies! I'm Adrienne, one half of the human population here on the Farmstead. The Farmstead is 20 acres and currently hosts one dog, two rabbits, 21 chickens, four ducklings and three goslings (collectively the ducks and goslings are known as gucklings). This year we hope to also add some quail to the bunch. Turkeys and bees are also on the add list, but no rush, we have a lot of infrastructure to create before we can add much more.

The purpose of this blog will be to share with you all our adventures in farmsteading. I will of course share with you positives, but I promise to also share with you the mistakes we've made along the way! And let me tell you, it's quite the list already. With those mistakes, I hope you learn from them instead of making them yourself.

Anyway, my husband and I have had a very adventurous first 5 years of our marriage. He was in the military and because of the military we have lived in South Korea and Germany. We just returned from Germany back to Oregon in 2015 and are now a veteran family. We had been talking about having our own space and some property for a couple years and somehow we've managed to get our grubby hands on 20 acres here in the Crooked River National Grasslands of Central Oregon.

Now that we have this huge blank canvas, our goal is to work toward the self sustaining model of life and do what we can to provide for ourselves. Currently our goal is to build up the property's infrastructure before we add any more animals other than birds.

So hold onto your hats, cause this is bound to be a bumpy ride!

I am open to any questions you might have, don't hesitate to ask, I will answer as best I can! Thank you for taking the time to read my intro!

IMG_1850.JPG

PS. Does this post seem familiar? Well, it is. I am embarrassed to say that I have fat finger pasted over and deleted the super special password for the FarmsteadSmith account. And no, my browser did not save the password. We've been working hard over the last day+ trying to find a solution but have not been successful.

Please forgive me, I was in the process of trying to copy and paste the password... in any case, it's done and over with and this is where we are now! Ha. If you've come over from the other account, thank you so much for taking the time to do so. I've been just sick over the whole thing all day, and I'm very embarrassed. I hope to be able to merge the old account or at least delete it in the future. I am not here to screw the system and I really want to be a part of this community.

PPS. Did you know you can shake your iPhone to undo something in the notes app? I didn't, until it was too late.

PPPS. SAVE YOUR PASSWORD. Go ahead and take a moment to save it in another location right now. Maybe you have it in 23 places already, but I bet a 24th won't hurt.


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.

Sort:  

Welcome again.
I took my vote off the old post and placed it here instead.

Thanks for taking the time to hop over here! That's perfectly fine! I want to be a part of this community, I really think it's a unique opportunity for someone like me and I can't wait to learn from others!

very nice post ! :P

Welcome and congratulation on farm, it is inspiring to see someone do what most people would only dream . Happy to see the future posts, good luck on steem :)

Thanks for stopping over! It's mostly my husband's dream to be living out in the middle of no where... what we do for love. Haha I don't mind it, I do love animals. :) thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to Steemit @farmstead :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Thank you!!

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

THank you! This is very helpful!

I've got your back. First follower!!! :D

Thanks! Let's hope I don't get too much flack for being such a dummy! I'm so embarrassed. Man. Sigh.

OH I cannot resist this one... ;) :P

Awwww, don't cry!!!

People don't know steemit be like it is, but it do! :)

Well now you can't desert me . Ever.

Hello there @farmstead and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

Thanks, I'll definitely look into it!

Hi @farmstead and welcome to Steemit, once again i guess lol :)
I had a friend who lost his password to and had to start a second profile. So don't feel to bad about it, it happens lol :D

Well thanks!! I don't feel as bad now. It's been a week. I'm really happy to be here. I've been meeting the coolest people! Learning new things! It's great!

Thanks so much for taking the time to come over, read, and leave a comment!! I really appreciate it!

Good luck with your new homestead adventure!
I had 10 acres in the country for about 20 years until an ugly part of life happened. We always had a big garden, and raised mostly chickens and turkeys, I also had rabbits. There was always at least 1 horse on the property, now there's a big hole into which you pour money! We had a couple of dairy goats for several years, in retrospect, that may not have been one of my better ideas. :-)
I live in town now and just have a big garden, the city doesn't allow livestock such as chickens and rabbits, unless the rabbit is a pet.
I tend to write many of my posts here on steemit on my greenhouse and garden.

Haha horses are definitely very big expensive toys, that's for sure. Unless you've taught them to pull a plow or something, they're not a whole heck of a lot of useful. I mean, people hardly even use them to round up cattle anymore because 4wheelers are still cheaper in the long run! We're all about double use animals.

Sorry to hear about your no good situation! Have you thought about skirting around the rules with Quail? Usually unless they're mentioned specifically, you won't get into trouble!

For some reason, I've never really had much interest in quail. Pheasants, on the other hand...

Hm, why? Cause they're 'prettier'?

No, probably because they're bigger.

Hm. They've never really been on my radar of interests. I think my husband is interested. But I do think quail are quite adorable. There are so many different kinds. Haha.

True, and they lay these cute little miniature eggs. I don't know if they lay eggs like a chicken, or just during nesting season.

Google just told me that quail lay 200-300 eggs per year, so they are like chickens in that aspect. But quail start laying as early as 6-8 weeks old depending on breed!

But, google says that pheasants are seasonal layers. 50-60 during the spring/summer season.

Hey there! Welcome :) sorry to hear about the technical difficulties

Thank you! Man, that has like, never happened to me before! Thanks for coming over! :) I really appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03