How to Make an Easy to Clean and Reusable Chick Brooder

in #homestead7 years ago (edited)

I saw something like these online when looking up how to build Chick brooders. I really loved them this Chick season because they're real easy to clean and sanitize. I recommend making at least two so you can switch them out for cleanings.

final

Supplies:

  • Two 50 gal tubs/totes (I bought mine at Walmart for around $19 each - I really recommend buying the less hardcore ones with the thinner plastic)
  • Box cutter
  • Hardware cloth (or similar, chicken wire or even an old window screen will work), but you might as well buy a roll of the half inch if you're gonna make your own coop or something! It's handy stuff)
  • Drill (or exacto knife)
  • Zip ties (or nuts and bolts)

Firstly you need your totes, go to Walmart, or wherever the closest store to get cheap totes would be, stat!

Grab your box cutter and get to cuttin’. You may or may not want to draw some guide on your lid first. One thing I would change about the hole I cut in my lid is to put it on one side or the other and not directly in the middle.

Now, drill some holes, or use your exacto, around the opening so you can attach the hardware cloth (or chicken wire, or whatever) to the lid with whatever means you desire.


@bchick asked me a good question:

  • "Why can't you just lay whatever grating you use on top of the hole? What is the point of attaching it? Wouldn't it weaken the plastic?"

My Reply: Attaching the hardware cloth to the lid makes it one nice neat unit. If you have a cat or dog or whatever, then they can't get into it. If you wanted to just lay whatever over, no point in making a hole in the lid. You could just lay it over the whole opening of the tub. The plastic's integrity isn't really a huge factor in this case. We're just making a nice removable lid that also clips down.


Next time I make one, I plan to just use zip ties to attach. This nut and bolt way is more work than it's worth… and it's not so pretty.

ALL IN ALL that's basically it! So simple it's a little silly!


Now all you need is bedding, feeder and feed, watered and water, and CHICKS! Now that you have all that, you are ready! Here's my Chick set up. They get puppy pee pads until they're about three weeks old, then I switch out to pine shavings, prop the food and water on top of something, and they're in there until they've got their feathers. Then they go oooouuttsiiiide! Please excuse the less than stellar pic!


@bchick asked another great question in regards to why I use Puppy Pee Pads:

"I just started off with the pine shavings. Do you do this because it is neater or safer?"

My Reply: I used puppy pads for a couple reasons. I read that sometimes chicks will eat the shavings and die. Lol and I'm a worry wort. So I just took that extra precaution.

The main reason is that it's about a bajillion times easier to clean. Just roll up the pads and toss. I'm all about ease and efficiency. The easier I can make something on myself, the more likely I won't put the task off for too long.

So I guess because it's both neater and safer. :)


These little brooders have multiple birdy uses! They can brood any poultry! In fact, they brood my gucklings just fine! There were some things that I added to make duckling brooding easier. Making holes in the side of the totes with an exacto knife, I was able to add wire in order to stabilize some containers I fashioned into waterers and one to hold grit, onto the walls of the brooder. It really is working quite well!

One more thing I would add is WHEELS!


Here's my first user verification! Haha. Here I am, today. Dang it's hot.


Check out my most recent Steemit Posts.


By @daddykirbs
Badge by @daddykirbs
Get yours here!

Sort:  

Nice post! We used big plastic tubs to brood our chickies, and they really work like a charm! We've also used those same tubs after the chicks made it outside to hold hay, feeding supplies, and whatnot. We even used them as temporary nesting/sleeping shelters in a pinch once! Very handy things to have around the homestead.

Absolutely! I'm basically obsessed with them! We're gonna plant some kale in some! Haha

Like a wicking bed? I hope you document it when you do! I love seeing how other people's experiments turn out. I've been meaning to take better photos of this weird, imitation keyhole bed that I made to hold compost. I need to take my own advice, lol!

No, nothing fancy. Haha just big containers like a raised bed. We have ground squirrels that devoured everything so we're trying to come up with a temporary solution for this year but plan to make nice raised beds for next year! :)

Ah, got it! The joys of trying to grow food, and having to compete with the wildlife. :D

The hardest part of living this life and something a lot of people don't understand is that we have to learn to live with wildlife and not completely compete (or kill) them.

Excellent post @farmstead. I've started using plastic crates this year for my chicks too. As you say a lot easier to clean than cardboard etc. I used to use the heatlamps as well but now swapped to the brooders like the Brinsea Eco-Glow - they use way less electricity and the chicks like them as a little house. Do you have these in the US? http://www.brinsea.co.uk/EcoGlow20/

I've included this post in my Pick of the Week homesteading and prepping posts - hope that is okay.
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pennsif/pennsif-s-pick-of-the-week-my-top-10-homesteading-and-prepping-posts-i-ve-found-in-my-first-7-days

I wanted to get that type of heater but on I
Top of everything else for the chicks, just way too expensive. I felt real good about my little light stand and felt safe. I didn't want to use the heat lamps originally but had to compromise due to finances.

Thanks for posting my blog there! I don't mind at all! Feel free to do so any time! Thank you for letting me know! I appreciate it!

Yes the electric brooders are a bit expensive but they last a long time and you don't have to replace the bulbs. And they save a ton of electricity - they only use 18W against I think 150W for the heat lamps. I haven't done the sums but I hope I have payback on the electric brooder at some point.

You are welcome re including your post in Pick of the Week. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

I haven't had to replace any bulbs yet, but at under $10 a piece, closer to $5-$7, it wouldn't be so bad.

I have some chicken breeder and raising friends who don't use heat on their chicks at all (especially if brooded inside their home). Their chicks seem to grow more resilient and even hardier than those under heat! I was surprised. They are able to have the chicks outside full time at three weeks rather than five, with this method.

Interesting about raising the chicks without heat - are they in the southern warmer states?

Nope, here in Oregon. :)

A couple of questions:
Now, drill some holes, or use your exacto, around the opening so you can attach the hardware cloth (or chicken wire, or whatever) to the lid with whatever means you desire.
Why can't you just lay whatever grating you use on top of the hole? What is the point of attaching it? Wouldn't it weaken the plastic?
Also
They get puppy pee pads until they're about three weeks old
I just started off with the pine shavings. Do you do this because it is neater or safer?

Thanks for sharing this idea and the pictures really help to understand.

Attaching he hardware cloth to the lid makes it one nice neat unit. If you have a cat or dog or whatever, then they can't get into it.

If you wanted to just lay whatever over, no point in making a hole in the lid. You could just lay it over the whole opening of the tub.

The plastic's integrity isn't really a huge factor in this case. We're just making a nice removable lid that also clips down.

I used puppy pads for a couple reasons.
I read that sometimes chicks will eat the shavings and die. Lol and I'm a worry wort. So I just took that extra precaution.

The main reason is that it's about a bajillion times easier to clean. Just roll up the pads and toss. I'm all about ease and efficiency. The easier I can make something on myself, the more likely I won't put the task off for too long.

So I guess because it's both neater and safer. :)

They had packs of 100 for $15 at a store by me, so it didn't seem like too big of an extra expense.

Thanks for such good responses, and quick too.

I use an old discarded stove rack for the lid so it is heavy and when the chicks are babies I stay with them all night in case our feral cat needs to come in to eat and then satisfy her curiosity about where those noises are coming from.

Next year I will try this since finding a good size cardboard box can be a nuisance but since I have used pine shavings successfully in the past I will do that again. My concern there is disposal of more garbage, as we have to sort out trash at the transfer station and the pine shavings with natural fertilizer can be added to the garden as mulch.

Absolutely there's more garbage! I totally get that! But I gotta make stuff easy on myself haha or I lose interest pretty quick. At least I know that about myself, and can admit it. Hahaha

Absolutely, I would definitely use a tote over a cardboardor wood box. They get soiled real quick and aren't reusable. Once I'm done brooding the ducks, I can store all chick supplies int hen until next year! :) multi use! :)

And you're absolutely welcome! And the only reason it took so long is cause you're much further ahead in time zone! Haha

This lid type would let you not have to worry about a cat or other animal get to them. There are definitely some change and I'd make for next time, but they really worked quite well, I think!

Would it be okay if I added some of your questions to my post?

Wonderful response again!
I love it that we are sharing our learning experiences (good and bad) and making the future path more easily accessible for each other and others.

I would make more pictures available but lightening strikes (too common) have wiped out our main computer system backups more than once and my images from past years are gone with the strikes despite the back up systems we have installed after each one.

Finally we have had an electrician install a whole house protector and it seems to be working; especially for this latest attack last night.

at least we got rain!

Oh, do you mind if I use some of your questions in my post?

I hope you've started storing your images online!

Yes, use them and make posts to the advantage of us all.

Older images that were lost were before we had that capability...they are gone.

Thank you!

I'm glad you at least got a good system now!

Thanks lady! Sorry about the wonky formatting. I was working on my iPad and it all just exploded... Fixed it up now...

Awesome idea! I'm thinking of adding some more ameracaunas to my family and this is something I'll definitely do!

Thanks! As much as I am not a fan of plastics... they're so much easier to clean and sanitize. Lots of people use cardboard or make wood ones. Both get soiled and can never come clean!

The wood and cardboard ones absorb odors and as you said plastic is so much easier to sanitize. I also add a little dried lavender in their bedding to repel any critters and adds a little freshness.

Good idea! I have a ton of lavender plants... Haha.

Another thing I would add to them is WHEELS. Especially for brooding ducks. SO MUCH CLEANING. Oye.

Ooh wheels! Yes!
I'm the coop cleaning queen, or slave it seems at times lol but I wouldn't change it for the world!🐣

I would clean chicken brooders all the day long. But DUCKS. OMG GROSS DISGUSTING LITTLE PIGGERTS. Let me tell you. It's STINKY GROSS. Haha. I would trade all of the coop cleaning ever. Ha.

Haha I remember growing up with ducks and geese. And having to clean their swimming pond. Eeeew
Great memories lol

Voted up and followed! chat username: steemtrivia

Wow thanks!!

This was great! Thanks for sharing.

Of course! I really loved using them! I couldn't imagine trying to clean up after wood or cardboard...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60844.65
ETH 2995.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88