Protect Yourself From Disappearing Posts and Comments!

in #steemit7 years ago

Steemitzens! I want to save you the infuriating disaster I had the other day when I worked for hours on a post with over 2000 words, hit publish, only to find my work gone.

Poof.

Grrrs and growling and much swearing ensued.

In the last week there have been reports of comments and posts disappearing after pressing the Post button.


animated-arrow-image-0039 Just like with anything- save your work off of Steemit first to avoid potential calamities!

Before you hit Post, always copy and paste your article to Notepad or Word. Then check your page to ensure it’s been published. You may have to wait a few seconds and hit refresh.

Rest assured ~ Steemit is working on the issue :)

Save yourself the headache! Always copy your work elsewhere before publishing!

Be safe and have a prosperous and abundantly happy week!

shaded line.jpeg

Images via Pixabay

I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

In case you missed these stellar posts by @ArbitraryKitten :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Steemit Saved My Life
~
Happy Steemitversary and 2500 Follower Milestone!
~
7 Websites for Free and Legal Images
~
How to Set Boundaries
~
Open a New Tab, Make Extra Money While Steeming!
~
Friday the 13th Intruder- a True Story
~
7 Health Benefits of Honey
~
Use Raw Honey to Cure Your Allergies
~
My Cat Biting Her Nails!
~
I am so mad
~
4 Easy Ways to Learn Anything Fast
~
Join The Steemit Community #ManifestChallenge!

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

I haven’t had this happen yet but that’s definitely good advice to save ones work offline. I’d be pretty mad if I lost a couple of thousand words worth of work.

What I’ve had problems with lately is when I try to upvote or comment on a post the page becomes unresponsive and I have to close my browser and reopen it (or use the mobile app) several times before the upvote or comment actually goes through.

Yea, thats from the same thing. Ug, maddening!

I go the other direction. I write in Scrivener. Copy that into Steemit.

Copying from Scrivener also keeps the formatting I had in Scrivener.

You are not the first that's told me about Scrivenr. Is it paid or free?

Paid. If you write a lot, it might be worth it.

Writing is my job :) So yea, I'd say I write a lot! Cool, I will take a look! Thanks!

Writing is my full time job as well, and there is a steep learning curve with it.

Sage advice... everybody heed this! I got in the habit back at the DDoS attack and things seems to have been a little wonky ever since, so I keep copying everything... including comments... before I try to post them.

Having been a writer for decades I always write my original documents in a word processing program. For the last several years I've used Libre Office. Every bit as good as Word AFAIC ... and free!! Find it. Download it. Learn to use it. OMG!! http://www.libreoffice.org

I would never dream of trying to compose something in Markdown! Back in the early days of computers, I would even print out all my documents so that I could retype one if something went wrong -- with a disc (remember floppies??) or with my computer program. (My then-husband started me out on WordPerfect, which was an absolutely horrible program, notorious for screw-ups during "automatic background save" -- the system would freeze, and notorious, too, for the BSOD for absolutely no reason whatsoever.)

I developed the habit in those days of hitting Ctrl+S every time I even pause to consider my next word or phrase. It's second nature to me now, and I have never been sorry. I haven't lost more than a sentence or two in a document in years. Not even in the unexpected power outages we have here in our very rural location! (I've tried to get my now-husband to develop this habit, but he won't listen. He has fixed ideas in his head about how computers should work ... and he won't adjust his reality to accommodate how they really do work. So, I just tune out the background swearing and go on with my life.)

Since coming to Steemit, I've also begun writing my comments on a saveable page in Libre Office ... because when I have something to say, I can go on and on and on. (Can you tell?) And losing something I spent more than 15 seconds writing is not a risk I'm willing to take. I, too, learned "the hard way" back when disasters really were not my fault. Online as in nature, your ability to survive depends on your ability to adapt, and anything you can do to insure your safety is time and effort well spent. Those few minutes you save when you make it easy on yourself will be lost many times over with your next major disaster. Make disaster recovery / disaster prevention one of your missions in life.

In those early days I also learned how much I loathed having to recompose a lost document that I'd already written. They were never as good the second time around (for some reason) ... and I can remember several times when I just shrugged and moved on, leaving the essay lost forever.

I once read a biographical piece on Hemingway that told of how he lost the finished manuscript of his very first novel in a briefcase he forgot and left on a train. Though I never much cared for Hemingway's writing, even I could empathize with the devastation of that moment. The cheapest, most valuable education you can ever gain is learning from other people's mistakes. I learned from his. (Backups, backups, backups of your backups.) Learn from this one. It's the greatest gift you'll give yourself as a writer ever!!

If you prefer a plain-text editor, which I use to format html or to format FOR Markdown -- using their styling, here are two free options:
http://www.notetab.com -- for Windows -- the one I prefer
https://kate-editor.org -- originally for Linux, now also available for Windows (honestly, I use them both)

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

It has happened to me several times. I have yet to work outside of steemit. I really should!

Oh man, I learned my lesson fast!

It's been happening a lot lately-- I notice because I post several times a day, and last night and today have been bad.

Yes, please for the sake of your sanity, copy to somewhere before publishing!

It happened to me yesterday but glad I had the draft in Word. One more problem is the other way around. When I made my post about a post on Almeria on vegetable growing, the draft on this content is still here,, Even if I clear the content box... way no deal... Hmmm, what to do? I´ve been clearing or deleting everytime I make a post... I could post my contents
though.

One good turn deserves another @arbitrarykitten. You got your great article on moving to Theory from a quick conversation with me. (Inspiration is where you find it!!) And I'm going to turn my comment / rant into a post thanks to you. When you learn to think like a writer, ideas are everywhere!

Carry on, girl. (And don't lose any more documents. I enjoy reading yours too much!)

I read the comment that sparked it ;) Link me when you post your rant, please!

Absolutely!! (It's only good manners.) Formatting and proofing it now.

Yes :)

PS I like what we got going here ... ;)

Very timely tip @arbitrarykitten Well, actually would have been more timely had I received this yesterday. Last night I lost a big comment I was writing, not near as big as the one you lost but was ready to pull my hair out. I will make it part of my procedure now to copy and paste first for safety. Thank you for the tip. Steem on! @vickiebarker

I feel your pain... Yeah, I'm in the habit of copying everything now, even shorter comments, cuz it's just easier...

I like how you're rollin' with it though, trying to save us from the same fate. I've tested, been drafting my ideas using https://steemwriter.learnthis.ca/ created by @uniqsycho. Of course, it's still best to have your own copy but I love this writer. Multiple simultaneous drafts. Perfect for a series / testing ideas.

Oh wow, thank you Doug- I hadn't heard of this yet. Great share!

I would have loved to read this about eight hours ago! #$#!!

Oh NO! I raged right here with the I am mad post 6 days ago ;) Just my little rant saved some people!

These last few days have been a horrible mess or lost votes, comments and posts the blockchain for steem seems a bit unstable here the last 3 days :/

Yea, ever since the DDoS attack last week, it's been borked. But they are working on it. There's only so many of them and they truly feel bad...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45