The Friday the 13th Intruder Conjecture- a True Story

in #horror7 years ago (edited)

A little backstory- ever since my attempted murder, I cannot hear alarm clocks. They will just ring and ring- my brain does not register the sound. I have tried different sounds, frequencies, and tunes, all to no avail.

I never put much credence into Friday the 13th. It's great for marketing, but as a thing to fear it's a non-thing.

Thursday, October 12, late night. I am crafting an article for Steemit, part of the manifesting your desires series. And knowing I have one more article to write afterward for a client, I am working into the night. I brew a pot of tea and toss a comedy onto the television for some upbeat inspiration.

I am almost finished with my Steemit article, just a few more edits and another image. Suddenly-

Bam!

I awaken at two am.

Wait, what? How did this happen? I shake it off and finish the article before me, posting it to Steemit before heading to bed. The second article can wait for the morning.

I double check the alarm clocks to make sure they are on, hug my pillow, and immediately drift off into a much needed rest.

I awaken to all the alarms blaring at 10 am.

I had set them for 5:30am.

I scramble. I notice my youngest sons door shut. I hurriedly wake him and rush him off to school with a note. I don't need to check on my middle son- he is responsible like that and loves school. Well, loves the social aspect of school if I'm going to be honest. He more than likely tried to wake his youngest brother, who is quite well known at feigning illness and Ferris Beuller'ing his way outta school, and quickly gave up and headed out, knowing I will awaken at any moment to debunk Nik's malady and send him grumbling towards class. And my oldest spent the night at a friend's.

beu.gif

I make a pot of coffee and mentally adjust my Friday schedule. I feed the kittens and open curtains and do all the normal morning stuff you just do without putting thought into.

I sit down to write. It is almost noon now. Almost two hours after I had sent Nik scurrying to school. I am finished mentally chastising myself for the time being, but rest assured more will come later ;)

Suddenly I hear a deep mans voice.

There's an intruder my house.

My heart stops.

Nik didn't lock the door when he left for school.

I quickly grab a self defense object. Now, here is where I'm going to leave a blurred circle for your imagination. Being a very petite single mother who survived a kidnapping and attempted murder via break in to my own house, of course I have methods of self defense.

But what types will remain a mystery to you readers for the obvious reasons :)

I quietly tiptoe down the hall. I check one room. Then another.

My mind is playing scenarios: How I come across the hooded man in the next room and take him by surprise. But my body knows it'll not be without a fight so my body is tensed and ready for an altercation.

I flow quietly through the house, holding my breath silent, ready to be jumped at any second...

I ascend the stairs, being careful to avoid the squeaky parts. I hear it again! My ears strain. It's coming from downstairs so I quickly adjust my trajectory.

I quickly clear the kitchen. And the front porch.

I am rounding the hall to search the rest of the house. My heart is in my ears.

Suddenly there's a cough from behind my middle son's door.

"B?" I call out, standing ready.

"Yea Mom?"

My shoulders instafall and my entire body breathes a sigh of relief.

Happy Friday the 13th my friends! I hope yours is far less unnerving as mine!

shaded line.jpeg

Images via Giphy and Creative Commons

I appreciate your support :)

With Love and Light and Good Mojo to my Tribe!

ufr.gif

line1 2

In case you missed these stellar posts by @ArbitraryKitten :)

animated-heart-image-0104

animated-arrow-image-0314 Open a New Tab, Make Extra Money While Steeming!
~
Join the Steemit Community Experiment!
~
#ManifestChallenge Day 1
~
#ManifestChallenge Day 2
~
7 Health Benefits of Honey
~
Use Raw Honey to Cure Your Allergies
~
Winner of the Name My Radio Show Contest!
~
90% of Our Problems are Caused by This
~
My Cat Biting Her Nails!
~
No More Excuses! Face Your Monster
~
How to Tell if a Snake is Poisonous
~
I am so mad

buttons upvote resteem.gif

Sort:  

Screw writing about sex and erotica! You have a much scarier thing going on in that brain of yours! Good read my dear! Had me going! Happy Friday the 13th. 🐓🐓

Lol! This REALLY happened, for real! To me this morning! I was freaking out! Tell you what- I no longer needed coffee...

No! I guess that would give me the shakes too. I really thought you were sort of making up a fri. 13th story! Does your son know how close he came to that defense tactic you won't tell us about? So sorry you had a rough start today! 🐓🐓

Oh yes, and I proceeded to shout and curse much like an Italian who's grandpa was a sailor...

Cats can help sooth friday the 13th nerves.

You are so right! Cats have the power to lower blood pressure and anxiety :) And they purr at the frequency of some of our atoms, which is healing :)

No wonder they are workshipped as Gods.

Jeez babe, another great post.
You have got to be due a long string of good luck.
You're well overdue 😉❤️

You know, I'm a humble and simple girl. But, dang it, I do believe you're right! A never-ending string ;)

Thanks hun <3

You're time will come babe, hopefully really soon and for evermore 😽

😄 Virtual hugs to you my friend 💖

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

Oh wow! Thanks!!! Much appreciation <3

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I'd sleep through alarms. but had a stereo which would auto play a certain time.. it had this click noise.. use to frighten the shit out of me most times.. if i didnt hear it, the music wouldn't be heard either.

Scaring you awake! That would do the job, lol!

the stereo would be on a good volume say 5-6, enough but that click 9/10 it did the job haha

I can imagine! LOL!!!

I'm glad those days are over.

Waking up with a start like that is probably not too healthy for the heart muscle!

touch wood been alright.. going back maybe 18yrs.. from hazy memory it went on maybe 2 weeks, along with limited sleep. 5 or 4 hrs somedays.. the varied sleep has been about a lot longer, 36yrs..

Ah. The varied sleep patterns- stress?

Awesome! Thanks for sharing

Glad you enjoyed it!!

This is where you start putting cameras all around the house, mostly outside that lets you see everything on your phone.

I still can't believe that happened to you in real life. Although I guess it does happen. Shit like this is on the news all the time.

Read the story with bated breath from my phone. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64807.94
ETH 3507.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37