Lafayette Layover (an excuse for cajun culinary craft)

Born on the Bayou

As you know by this point, we were in Lafayette, La. If you watch the mainstream media, I assume you would have heard about the epic flooding taking place between Lafayette and New Orleans. This was an excuse to hang out and seek some cajun staples. Remember, I was born in Louisiana and have parcels of property out here, so I am no stranger to the culture.

On our way out, we decided to get Boudin and Cracklin.
Boudin is a pork product sausage comprised of liver, meat, rice, herbs, and seasoning. Sounds disgusting, I know. Trust me when I tell you, it's delicous.
Cracklin is basicslly cubed bacon that is slowly fried. Ever heard of chicaronnes? Same exact thing.

Poches in Breaux Bridge, LA

20170808_132916.jpg
It is pronounced Bro Bridge and I must admit just because it says "cajun", does not mean good. We spent $18 on these and promotly threw them away. The cracklins were literally doused in MSG (monosodiumglutamate). If you look closely, you see the fine, clear crystals.
20170808_133225.jpg
20170808_133512.jpg
Courtesy of @Xtdnrymompreneur

We stopped at a place called Hebert's specialty meats where our cravings were fulfilled.

BACK ON THE ROAD

Follow Our STEEMIT-ROADTRIP on Discord

Steemit-Karaoke

Jolene - Zac Brown Band

Free/Into the Mystic - Zac Brown Band

Everyday We Lit by YFN Lucci ft. PnB Rock

Moto-Vlogging


STEEMIT MEET UP Austin
First World Problems
40 Hour Work Week Scam Exposed
Letting Your 5 year old Listen to Rap

There's Adventure in all of Us

I showed you how to pay rent with STEEM
I showed you how to turn STEEM into CASH
N-word etiquette on steem!
I took you to on #STEEMITAERIALTOURS
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB    

 Animation by the one and only @xtrodinarypilot

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 



SPONSORED
Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888 when creating an account for rakeback at tables.

Sort:  

I'm not from LA but I have been a student of Cajun & Creole cooking for many years now & do quite a bit of it myself. I love boudin, but since the only brand I can find locally doesn't suit me & it's expensive to import from LA I've begun making my own now & again. I've eaten at a Hebert's Specialty Meats in Tulsa OK. that knocked my socks off & their boudin was excellent. THX for the great post!

I second that lol. My favorite is actualy from Borques, which is in my home town Port Barre.

Nice blog, keep traveling ;-)

I could eat my weight in boudain, love that stuff!

Good to know we aren't the only ones. I can talk all day about boudin. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13