Would You Like To See Steemit Open Mic Represented At SteemFest 2?

in #steemfest2-giveaway7 years ago (edited)

Would you like to see Steemit Open Mic represented at SteemFest 2? I sure would like to go this year and promote the Open Mic contest there.

As we approach almost 1-year of supporting the music community on Steemit I would like to ask for your help by nominating me in the STEEMFEST 2 Ticket Giveaway sponsored by @blueorgy.

He is giving away a ticket for the event and I would really like to go. Most of the other SteemFest contest giveaways were for minnows only and I'm a dolphin these days.

blueorgy_steemfest_2_ticket.png

I'm fairly certain I can get my flights and accommodations together but a VIP ticket would be a great help in making the trip possible.

What is Steemit Open Mic?

Steemit Open Mic is a contest that I've been hosting for 50 weeks now and it is a big help in growing the music community on Steemit.

Why do I say that?

Well, I didn't say it. The community says it. Just take a look at some of the comments the contest receives.

I make it a point to get in a submission each week and also give a shout out to @luzcypher who started this and puts in so much work to keep it going and expand!

I really feel this is one of the best things going on for Steemit! Music transcends language and brings people together. Also, the more successful the music scene is here, the more high-quality musicians will join us! Then they will bring their fans and Steemit GROWS! So please consider checking out this great event and supporting the cause!

Happy to support such a great project of which helps the entire Steemit community progress!

@quinneaker


This project is of exceptional importance and benefit to the Steemit community. We feel it is being It is under rewarded so are going to give it a rare 100% upvote.

Thank you for doing this week after week. We believe this project will prove to be very beneficial and successful here for Steemit!

@gardenofeden


Thank you very much for supporting the original music inside this amazing contest! You guys rock!

@mrjl


Congrats to the winners, and thanks to all that keep producing this very entertaining part of Steemit! Of course, thanks be to @luzcypher and @pfunk and all of the promoters! Keep this going!

@andrewdaines


I love the way that this open mic created by @luzcypher and supported by @pfunk inspires and encourages others to join in and show off their music skills, whatever they may be. For almost a year now this contest has been a place for the steemian musicians to showcase their talent and creativity. It also gives them another way to potentially get paid for their content, because not only can their post potentially get a payout, but their entry in the Open Mic Contest could as well.

@papa-pepper


What makes our community so special is not only the talent we see on a weekly basis from Steemit musicians, but also the hearts, minds, sheer creativity, and passions of the creators. I love a passionate performance. I love original music that makes me think and feel...across genres. My own musical tastes are incredibly diverse, and I love seeing the array of musical talent we have represented in OpenMic.

Luz was integral in helping me acclimate to the Steemit community, both in general and musically, as I'm sure he has helped and encouraged many of you, as well.

@jessamynorchard


I reached out to @luzcypher a few months ago now offering a partnership with the Minnow Support Program where the open mic community can join and interact with over 5000 of our active members through our discord server "Peace Abundance and Liberty".

This move in itself could see the competition grow even further, which is why it was essential to bring together known, trusted and valued members of the music community here on Steemit into the additional judging roles.

@krystle


It is an honor and privilege to be in this position of responsibility and be able to give back to the music community our time and effort to keep the Open Mic Contest music community-based and strengthened in and out. Many thanks to @luzcypher for pulling us all together to make the judging system more structured.

@verbal-d


Surfing through new artists and sounds is something I have been doing for years and I am finding Steemit Open Mic a great place for discovering new talents and inspiration.

Open Mic is a fantastic outlet on Steemit for musicians to get some artistic expression out and promote their talents. Big thanks for all you do @luzcypher with openmic, and also @pfunk for his generous support of what I believe will carry well into many waves of Steemit users.

@soundlegion


I love this! Open Mic gave me my first healthy payout and a trending post.
And the most beautiful part is that I am getting a global audience. Though my open mic entry is in Hindi (since I am from India) and my band writes in Urdu and Kashmiri, I can see people from around the world appreciating!
Music is the universal language.

@hardikv


There are literally hundreds of comments like this saying how much this contest has done for people to get their music heard and how it helped them to get followers and is the very reason they have stayed on the platform.

I believe that this contest is helping to attract and retain many new users to the Steemit platform and it could grow much larger with the right exposure.

We now have a judging panel in place so it could be scaled up with their help.

Imagine listening to 80-90 music performance each week and picking the top 3 to give rewards to. It takes hours of time to do this and with the new panel in place could be scaled up to allow even more entries.

Thanks to @pfunk and his generous support, along with my weekly 100 Steem contribution, the contest has been rewarding contestants with 420 Steem every week for 50 weeks now and shows no signs of slowing down.

That's 21,000 Steem in total payouts so far.

We typically get 80-90 entries per week. I watch and upvote each one without fail each week.

In addition, each week people are earning when their posts trend even if they do not win the contest. These kinds of payouts keep new people coming back each week and helps to retain a lot of new users.

steemit_open_mic_week_49_trending_posts.png

We mainly have @curie to thank for the Open Mic posts that are earning from trending. As new users, their posts qualify to be picked up by the Curie Project and each week people entering the contest provide @curie with eligible posts to pick from. Thank you, Curie, for selecting so many Steemit Open Mic posts each week.

They can pick from people who post for the contest but my posts do not qualify for Curie unfortunately because my rep is too high.

@teamsteem has recently been upvoting Steemit Open Mic posts to give it more earnings because he thinks the contest is undervalued. In his exact words;

It is ridiculously under supported.

Thanks @teamsteem! I really appreciate the support.

@andybets took it upon himself to create a Steemit Open Mic Chart that has been a big help in curating all this music so I flipped him $50 SBD for his initiative. Thanks for that.

Why Nominate Me To Go To SteemFest 2?

By going to Steem Fest 2 and making more people aware of the contest I hope to grow it even larger and attract some support from some of the whales that are attending the event.

I also want to meet with some of the more technical Steemians to enlist them to help create a Steemit Open Mic site or app to promote to musicians off site and hopefully attract more musical talent to join Steemit and bring their followers with them.

All of this will go a long way to help build the music community and Steemit in general. What I have learned from my many years in the music industry is who you know is more important than what you know.

It is my hope and intention to help Open Mic and the Steemit community grow through music.

Why music? For one, it's the universal language and Steemit is a universal platform. Secondly, I could listen to people playing music all day every day and never get tired of it so it's something I can do for the long haul.

Anyone that has followed this contest could tell you that I'm very consistent and never miss a weekly post or payout.

SteemFest is where the action is and I have to get there to take this to the next level.

SteemFest could help make much more people aware of the contest. Maybe enough to make it self-supporting one day.

I thought that by now the contest would be self-supporting but it is not. Not yet anyway. That is mostly because minnows are the ones supporting it for the most part.

Minnows will grow up to be dolphins and whales one day but until then we need more support from whales for it to be self-supporting. I don't mind the many hours spent curating and running the contest but getting it to a point where some more whales support it would be a good thing for the community.

How Do I Help Get Steemit Open Mic To SteemFest?

It would be great to go to SteemFest 2 and have the attendees there pick the winners of that week's Steemit Open Mic contestants. The judges would still narrow it down to the top 5 entries and the attendees could select from that pool to save time. This way they wouldn't have to listen to all of the entries.

What can you do to help make this happen?

  1. Upvote this post.
  2. Go to BlueOrgy's post and add a comment to nominate @luzcypher
  3. In the comment of that post explain why you think Steemit Open Mic is awesome.
  4. Write a post about Steemit Open Mic and add it to the comments of BlueOrgy's post and this post.
  5. Add a comment to this post explaining what you like about Steemit Open Mic and how it has helped you on Steemit.
  6. Resteem this post.
  7. You can also go to this post and nominate me there. Blueorgy S Steemfest 2 Ticket Giveaway Call For Entires 2 --- by @blueorgy

All my time and voting power go to making Steemit Open Mic a success and after a year I feel like we are just getting started. It could be a real gem to musicians on and off Steemit to get involved with Open Mic and is proving to be a great place for musicians to meet and start other projects.

To my knowledge, it is the first music venue/contest on this platform and has spawned many more music related projects. All of this is good for the community as a whole.

My goal is to make it into a website or app that we can take to the masses and in the process enroll many new users to Steemit.

Meeting some of the more influential Steemians at SteemFest 2 would go a long way to getting more support from them and, who knows, maybe even get some more whale support for the contest.

What do you say guys? Can we make this happen?

Thank you for your continued and enthusiastic support and with your help, I hope to represent the music community at SteemFest 2 this year.

Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.
Victor Hugo

Some Steemit Open Mic Posts By Other Steemians

Hey Did You Know There S A Weekly Steem Open Mic Contest --- by @pfunk

Steemreports Open Mic Music Chart --- by @steemreports

Cool Stuff Curation Steemit Open Mic Night Judge S Edition Week 46 Highlights --- by @jessamynorchard

Open Mic Judge Presentation Soundlegion Some Of My Favorite Open Mic Performances So Far --- by @soundlegion

I Ve Secretly Been A Steemit Open Mic Official Judge For The Past 6 Weeks Original Blog --- by @verbal-d

Open Mic Week 49 Judges Top 5 Selection --- by @krystle

Quinn S Quality Content Curation Q2C2 Episode 9 New Selections That Add Real Value To Our Steemit Experience --- by @quinneaker

steemians-support-open-mic.png

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here



Sort:  

🎶 You my friend are officially entered into the giveaway! Good Luck 😎

Thank you for sponsoring such a cool giveaway.

I just left a comment in the post created by @blueorgy. You deserve it, because all of the musicians who participate in the event deserve this.

This is the best contest on Steemit. I see a great improvement in my music skills after I started participating here.

Everyone loves music, and together we can evolve into best music community. You do a great job as a host and sponsor of the contest, so you have to go there and promote the contest for everyone. All the best.

Thank you for the support, encouragement, and participation in Open Mic.

I believe you deserve that ticket sir! You will represent open mic to the fullest. Open mic and Steem STEM are my two favorite projects on steem. Rock on, and best of luck. Now I will go to this other page and try to nominate you haha.

Open Mic has made me a better musician, period. It has brought a lot of free-thinkers together to share in the passion that drives humanity. Without music, life would be a drag. Music is what gives us inspiration in the morning, like coffee. It makes us look at the world from a different view. It lets us pour our heart and soul into everyday life. @luzcypher shares in that dream. Now, get him that ticket so he can represent this great musical community. Communities will be much bigger in the future, and this will be a major community.

I nominate @luzcypher. Cheers.

Awesome @tfeldman! Thanks for your support.

The part I just added went on blueorgy's page too. Best of luck man!

Thanks! I really appreciate the support and love listening to you play each week.

Thanks for always taking the time to listen. I think it's time for you to make another appearance even if it is not part of the judging haha.

hi dear @luzcypher, your project "steemit open mic" is wonderful running contest. This project has importance and benefit to the Steemians, i m much impressive after knowing that. you have great creative skills and really appreciate you, thanks for that.

Thank you. So, will you go to @blueorgy's post and nominate me?

ok @luzcypher,
sure i visit @blueorgy post and nominate you dont worry.

Appreciate all you do. Doing challenges and contest especially for 50 weeks is no small task.

Thank for doing your part in making this Steemit community epic.

God bless.

Namaste

Thanks for the props.

You do the beatbattle league, right? Really cool idea. Keep it up.

How many weeks have you been doing that now? We should cross promote each other since it's music related. Interested?

Absolutely definitely down.

I have been noticing how epic you run the Open Mic Contest. You definitely created a nice template for success.

But roger that we are about to wrap up our 6th Week.

So definitely interested in helping grow this Steemit music community together.

Namaste

PM me in Steemit chat or Discord and we can exchange our current links to our contests to include in our posts.

Roger that. I just did buddy on Discord.

Appreciate you

Hell yeah man! I really hope that if I don´t make the cut you win the ticket, only scenario where I would be happy is if I don´t win because uncle @luxcypher did it. I hope blueorgy decides to giveaway two, can you imagine how awesome would it be to meet again there?

That would be absolutely awesome!

thanks for sharing keep it up

wish you luck man \m/ , thanks for your supports Luzcypher . I will do what I can . :) <3

I'm new in this platfrom i would gladly help this one

Welcome to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62