Cool Stuff Curation: Steemit Open Mic Night Judge's Edition (Week 46 Highlights)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1704.JPG

This is the first installment of the weekly Open Mic Night Judge's Edition of Cool Stuff Curation, where I break down some of my favorite entries from Steemit Open Mic Night, of which I am a new judge along with @luzcypher, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, and @krystle.

As I have mentioned before, we all have different tastes and preferences we bring to the table.

It's such a rewarding experience seeing what each judge gravitates toward and how we all recognize how difficult our jobs are considering how much talent is on this platform.



If you are new to Steemit and interested in joining the Open Mic community, you need to follow @luzcypher! Details on entering this week's contest can be found below!



Something that I have noticed while going through entries the last couple of weeks in particular is that a few entries per week do not completely follow the rules, and with the entries increasing seemingly per week, I would hate for someone to miss out on the official contest because of a technicality...so make sure you're following all the rules! If you need a refresher on that stuff, check out this post by @luzcpher:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/what-are-the-rules-to-enter-steemit-open-mic-and-why-do-we-have-rules-anyways


IMG_0116.JPG

ONWARD TO COOL STUFF...OPEN MIC STYLE!

YOU ARE SO TALENTED!

IMG_1460.JPG

Between the improvisation, the masterful cover tunes, the classical music, the multi-genre representation...you guys are so awesome!

It makes our task very difficult as Open Mic judges because you all are so talented! Thank you for making our jobs hard...that's where it gets fun!!

After hours of listening to the entries this week, here are my Open Mic picks for Week 46. Thank you so much to everyone who enters each week! It is truly a task to pick winners each week with so much exceptional talent hanging out in this community.


My picks for this week are mostly original instrumental...I think it's so cool how different the entries are within this contest. **I love seeing so many original songs in the lineup!


Helpful Hint: Remember to use tag #originalmusic after #openmic to maximize your exposure of those original songs!

You can check out the extensive list of talent involved in Week 46 and see the full list of entries by checking out @luzcypher's post here:

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-46-see-who-played-this-week-at-open-mic-and-vote-for-your-favorite-steemian-musicians



IMG_1599.JPG


STEEMIT Open Mic Week 46 - Original Song 'Do You' by @whatisyourforte

@whatisyourforte delivers a completely tight first entry this week in his original song, "Do You." I love the influx of emcees on this platform, and continue to be impressed with the level of talent showcased here, both in literal flow, as well as the depth and complexity of the lyrical composition.

This song's original lyrics, according to Forte's OP, were written as a

tribute to the West Coast legend Nate Dogg

And I feel this is very evident in both the lyrical phrasing and structure he applies in these bars, as well as the backing track itself. It's a beautiful and passionate presentation that's fun to watch and intellectual to hear...a perfect marriage. Check this one out, and I bet there's a lot more where that came from...I know I'm excited to hear it and hope you all will help welcome Forte to our community here!


IMG_1597.JPG


Steemit open mic week 46- Fine (original song)

@johnbutler teamed up with @melodyrussell in his Open Mic submission this week, with his original song, "Fine," and the two of them really deliver a gorgeous performance together. JT's fringe-punk vocal style, combined with Mel's sweet harmonies compliment this song so well. Lyrically, the song is on-point, and the duo of guitars is just lovely. I am enjoying listening to all the music coming out of both of these accounts, and think you guys will, too. Well worth your follows, as they both have accounts filled with quality material.


IMG_0782.PNG


Steemit Open mic week 46 - Original song by Fael aka Rafael Ferreira "Rancho"

Brazilian musician @fael's first Steemit Open Mic Night entry was a real treat to listen to, and if you love classical guitar, I highly suggest you give his account a follow. I think we will be seeing quite a bit more of him around here! He performed his original song, "Rancho" for his this week, which appeared on his inaugural album Desancorar.

This is a completely beautiful track, delivered to us cleanly and with proficiency. Highly recommend giving his account a follow, as I anticipate quality entires from this Steemian!


IMG_1709.JPG


Steemit Open Mic Week 46: Original Song, "Waves"

@morodiene delivered an amazingly beautiful and lulling entry this week with her original piano composition, entitled "Waves," which I thought was a perfectly fitting title for the piece. Around the 1:50 mark, the piece even encounters a bit of musical turbulance within the composition elements, and it beautifully resolves and goes back to the lulling waves. It is truly an adventure on the sea and traveling a distance, spanning terrain and running the gamut of experience. I loved this song so much!


IMG_0098.JPG


Steemit Open mic week #46 - Minor Blues - Guitar improvisation

@tamsguitar showed us this week, as we saw a lot of this week in particular, that there are some incredible Steemit Open Mic entries of songs without lyrics: some of the most beautiful entries surprise me by being completely instrumental. I am definitely a sucker for some delicious minor blues scales and improvisation as well. It is a wonderful showcase of talent to listen to this particular entry; we have so much amazing talent here on Steemit.


IMG_0114.JPG


HONORABLE MENTION!

Steemit Open Mic Week 46 goes underground /// Original Ukulele Improv in a cavern...

I wanted to give @vachemorte a specific shout-out for getting at it so hard in the cave on that ukulele. Also, the introduction to the improv sounds so enthusiastic, that I found myself watching this one twice. Highly recommend checking it out.


THANK YOU AGAIN TO ALL THE AMAZING PARTICIPANTS IN OPEN MIC FOR WEEK 46!

You can check out the official winners of this week's contest by clicking here to check out @luzcypher's contest results!


SEE YOU AT OPEN MIC WEEK 47!


Click here to see which #openmic posts are currently trending!



IMG_1703.JPG

COOL STUFF!

COOL STUFF!

COOL STUFF!



steemit_open_mic_47.png


I hope you enjoyed digging into Week 46's picks, and be sure to stay tuned for next Monday's Open Mic Night Judge's Picks!



IMG_1711.JPG



Cover image compiled and edited by me (@jessamynorchard) with an iPhone 6+, and edited in Fused, PicSee, and Adobe Lightroom for iOS, as part of my mission to make the most of my available technologies to make valuable, high-quality Steemit content.
Stock images are used with permission from Gratisography.com, and edited to add text.



Join the Steemit Local Music Society server on Discord for all things Steemit Music!


Sort:  

Blessings to the STEEMIT Community!

Thank You for allowing me the opportunity to prosper within Open Mic 46.

Respectfully,

-Forte'

This is a really good way to showcase your weekly picks as a judge for Steemit Open Mic. You really thought of everything with great links, commentary, layout. I'm really impressed.

Thanks for making open mic so special with all of your good energy you bring to it. I agree it was really hard picking winners with so many talented people entering.

By the way for all the readers of this post here are the other judges too.

steemit_open_mic_judges_with_usernames_and_goril.png

Luz, you don't know how happy it makes me to hear that from you! You do know, however, how much I love Open Mic and the amazing community around it, so this is the utmost treat and a real honor to be a part of it. I love sharing this task with super talented Steemian musicians @krystle, @soundlegion, and @verbal-d, as well! Thank you for having us along with you, @luzcypher!!

This community right here is, hands down, my favorite thing about this entire platform...so thank you for that. I can't say it enough!!

Aww, I'm thrilled you're enjoying it. I love all the other music-related contests that have branched off of it too. It makes me happy to see the music community grow on Steemit.

As @quinneker said music is the universal language and good fit for growing the Steemit community.

Let's see where this adventure takes us and along the way listen to some fantastic talent. Sometimes listening to all the entries makes me feel so excited, like a puppy wagging its tail.

Thanks for all your help and energy.

THANK YOU so much for mentioning my post @jessamynorchard
I am planning ahead to find the time to record something every weeks. It's become a routine now where I have to record and it forces me to play all my instruments and that's something really positive. I know (by reading a post of yours this week) that you did the same before.

@vachemorte, if only every musician was as passionate a performer as you!! I really enjoyed this entry so much. I think it serves as a great point of reference to what folks can make of their Open Mic entries...instrumental diversity, interesting filming locale, passion, and an interesting performance, to boot!

You totally delivered on all of those points, and I hope you continue to feel inspired here. I look forward to your future entries, and am so glad you are a part of our community here!

thank you so much! You are an amazing kind person. I am happy to be part of the community steemit is a beautiful seed of a tree and I want to be entwined in the roots and watch it grow with all the friends I am making on the road. It has turned out to be a really enriching experience for me.

Upvoted and Resteemed by xx-votesplus, the dropAhead curation team!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing things above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give you more earnings.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: It is official, WE are witnesses!

Thank you guys so much for your support! It is so appreciated, and your hard work does not go unnoticed! Thank you for rewarding quality content and helping to make Steemit a better place!

Cooool stufffff!!!

COOL STUFF

COOL STUFF

COOL STUFF

:D LOL

This is a fantastic way to present your picks I love this to the max, great work @jessamynorchard
wonderful presentation openmic judge introduction post! I was out of judging this week and will be next week as well due to travels and will be back on full. I am really enjoying getting to listen to the variety that gets showcased, its very inspiring. I will follow up post on this !

Wow nice!... I always try to chek all openmic entries but they are too much, its nice to have this selection to check again...

I like this idea, gave me a chance to check out some of the other cool entries that I missed sifting through last week.

I won't get through all of them that's for sure so it's nice to have some guidance/hand picked gems from the judges

This is exactly why I decided to do a little showcase post once a week, so I am super excited to see that has translated and you enjoy having a little peek into my picks for the week!

I agree that it is a lot to go through. We have so many awesome entries and so much diversity within those entries that not only is it cool to see the diversity within the judges (hoping my fellow panel members will make similar posts), but also I love any opportunity to share cool Steemians with other cool Steemians...so it really is win-win-win-win (infinity wins).

I'm glad this resonates with you! Our Open Mic community is so badass. Everyone is so supportive and genuinely interested in each other's material, and that makes my heart beyond happy.

Agreed. It's quite the community & growing pretty rapidly! And to think we're still int he beginning stages of all this....

Verbal-d had also made an announcement that he was a judge and we were discussing some of these same things.

Personally it's crazy to imagine that you guys go through all 100 or so entries separately lol. I would have though you'd divide it up amongst you.

It's probably better that you don't though. Fairer too.

Keep up the good work Jess ~

Thank you so much for showing the kindness and support to feature my entry for #openmic . i really appreciate. Cheers!!

What a fun way to showcase the Open Mic. It's my first look into the event. Now I know what to watch for in Week #47.

Oh, nice! That is awesome to hear!! I have loved this community since I joined Steemit last October, and it just continues to impress me. Not just with the quality of the talent, but also how awesome everyone is as far as individuals and people.

If you love this kind of thing, make sure you're also following @luzcypher. This is his baby, and I just have the privilege of being a judge and getting to talk about it. There's so much good stuff going on!

Also, remember if you click that #openmic tag, you'll get the trending entries at any given point in time!!

Woohoo! So nice of you to give me a thorough introduction. Thanks so much for your enthusiastic welcome. I will check out the #openmic tag, and @luzcypher's blog. Thank you thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36