Shout out Saturdays!!

in #shoutoutsaturdays6 years ago (edited)

Every Saturday I am going to write a post, to shout out and salute all the members I have engaged with over the past week and talk a little bit about them.

Why am I doing this?

I would like to see the shoutout Saturday tag become more and more popular and take the emphasis away from
the trending page. Many of us agree that too much attention is paid to trending pages. Its about time that we pay attention to each other, and reward the people with a little recognition for the super work they do on the platform.

Here are my Saturday Shoutouts and why.

Source

Line break..png

@lenadr


Lena and I, have been speaking for the past few weeks. I met Lena on her show cabinet of curiosities which is every sunday on Steemstar Network. Lena has a interest in the paranormal and supernatural.

Last week while I was trying a live tarot reading Lena was there supporting me, and encouraging other people to speak. It was after then that we chatted and I talked about my idea about the Paranormal Steem. But I was not sure, if it was a good idea or not. Not only did Lena encourage me, but she agreed to partner with me on the project. And now Paranormal Steem has been created.

@enchantedspirit

Enchanted spirit does not get a lot of free time, she spends a lot of her time curating other posts, working tirelessly to get other people recognised on the platform. I have seen Enchanted Spirit talking to people in the middle of the night. Catching up on her own posts.

The other day we were talking and Enchanted Spirit said that she loved my idea about shoutout Saturdays. At the same time I learned there and then that a lot of my content gets swallowed up, when I write my posts about my full time activity, that I should pay more attention because some of the content deserves to be a post of their own.
So it is because of Enchanted Spirit why you are seeing this post today.

@sykochica

You know the really strange thing about this is sykochika and I have barely had a chat. Sykochica made herself known to me when I posted about an experience I had with Dtube's curators.
She left me some honest feedback and offered for me to reach out to her on the platform, and I did.

It was because of that chat that I managed to find some awesome communities such as LGBT and VOTU and how I learned that networking is one of the most important things that you can do, in order to increase your success on steemit.

Line break..png

Can you get any more awesomeness? Here's a few more.

Source

whatRUat show with @buckydurddle & @doghaus

I discovered Bucky and Doghaus a few weeks ago, when I thought i would check out what was on MSPWaves. where I discovered whatRUat. How to describe the show? Well take normal and throw it out the window. Be sure to listen with tissues, because it will have you crying with laughter.

At the same time @doghaus creates some amazing poetry, which if you enjoy reading yous should definitely check out his work.
Oh and chances are somewhere along the line you will have a theme tune made in your honour, to add to their timeless collections with such tracks as, @Clayboyn, in our heart and @r0nd0n gigigi, you would be a fool to miss out.

@beanz

I have been a part of the VOTU community for a couple of weeks now. VOTU stands for Voices of the Underground. I like the structure of their discord community, which is run like a ship... a pirate ship.

@beanz and her team head up the ship, which encourages networking between members of the steemit community. In the short space of time I have been part of the community, I have been made to feel very welcome.
I have been actively encouraged by beanz to take part of discussions in the community about different topic. I confess now this has been way out of my comfort zone. At the same time I have learned about the meaning of particular subjects such as Anarchy, Philosophy etc.

Every sunday a podcast is aired live, where a topic is set an discussions are had. Not just about steemit, but more about topics that can give ideas about things you might want to write about steemit. Last week we talked about SMT's and how they work and what is in store for the new communities that are going to be created in steemit.

In the short space of time I have been part of the community, I have ranked up to wizard meaning I am able to post my link without permission as I follow the rules. Then last Sunday I was promoted to Gunner which means I can help the team out making sure others are following the rules. And helping new members learn about things like adding sources to pictures. I learned in a short space of time that the mods in that group have a hard time, and credit to beanz and her team for keeping such a tight ship.

@ancapbarbie

Ancapbarbie is the steemian everyone should know she is your voice. She never takes credit for herself and always puts others first. She heads up LGBT discord and wants to get the LGBT tag trending.

I want to give ancapbarbie a shoutout because not only does she work tirelessly to give LGBT a voice, but she is active in other communities too such as PYPT and VOTU which she actively participates in the podcasts, promoting the voices of others. And again a special thank you, to this wonderful woman for the banner she made for paranormal steem.

So there you have it these people I have included for my shoutout Saturday. if you would like to be part of this and help me to start trending this. Write up a post about six people you have engaged with this week and write a little piece about them. Then when you post don't forget to tag it shoutoutsaturday. Who can you think of today that you would like to give thanks to?


Credit Giphy

I will raise my glass to you all this evening, and I salute you all for the great work you guys do.


(Picture Pixabay)

Thank you for reading

xoxo

The STEEM Engine

step1.png

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit

Sort:  

To the best of my knowledge, the idea for #shoutoutsaturdays was first mentioned in a private chat between @crazybgadventure and @enchantedspirit. He felt it would be like twitter's shoutoutfriday. Ms Spirit thought it was a wonderful idea, and encouraged Mr Adventure to give it his all. He did.

Somebody, I think it was @shadowspub, described this initiative as curating people rather than posts. Come Saturday, St Patrick's Day, we curated our hearts out.

@crazybgadventure led off with https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@crazybgadventure/shout-out-saturdays - only fitting since it was his idea, plus his Saturday started way earlier than the other contributors.

@catweasel - I think that may be me - followed with a very different approach, https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@catweasel/shout-out-saturdays-catweasel-style-17-03-2018 - next week I may do something different again - or not - but I'll do something.

@enchantedspirit - I have no idea where she found the time - produced https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@enchantedspirit/shout-out-saturdays-issue-1-from-enchanted-spirit - with the same flair she applies to all her work.

@shadowspub took time out from searching for me to administer an admittedly well deserved virtual beating to write https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@shadowspub/shoutout-saturdays-1-march-17th - I'm still hoping she'll lose interest in me.

@apanamamama came out with https://steemit.com/steemit/@apanamamama/shout-out-saturdays-positive-steemit-members - the title nails it.

@enginewitty brought up the rear with https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@enginewitty/st-patty-s-saturday-shoutouts - with a veritable laundry list of wonderful people from his week.

But wait, there's more. On Sunday, but using the proper tag so it counts, @tfame3865 posted https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@tfame3865/shout-out-sunday-jodipamungkas-made-the-headline - thus proving that "It's not over 'til it's over."

Interesting fact: all the contributors to the #shoutoutsaturdays project are passengers on The STEEM Engine discord server. Granted, some of us have other affiliations as well, but just sayin'.

Okay, we got the ball rolling, let's see where it goes next Saturday, March 24th when everyone posts to #shoutoutsaturdays.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.19$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

What a excellent idea!
You are so right about the trending pages. I've found that a lot of the actual decent content by hardworking people, gets forgotten about and easily lost in the sea of the trending page. And the only way I can see to stop this, and is yeah, doing exactly what you're doing now, and helping the minnows on steem bond together and form a solid community that support each other no matter what. The more support we offer to each other as a community, by shoutout posts like this, contests and just generally networking with people, more stronger we will grow. We need to build the new community so all of us newbies work together, it's the only way .
I'm so glad to see fellow steemians feeling the same way and actually doing something out of their way to change the problem. It's a really good idea, well done I wish you the best of luck and hope your shoutout Saturdays continue to be successful. It's inspired me to create a Steem contest to promote creative content! I really hope we can inspire the community to start something new!!!!

Wow this is great that you got inspiration from my idea to creat your own initiatives, people need guidance on this platform. Steemit is not giving that guidance, their just telling people...join steemit...publish great content, or curate great content and get rewarded. Its not that easy because their not looking at the right places if we can fill the feed with great content and outweigh all the crap we might have a chance to change this. Thank you for posting.

No problems! It's great to see people feeling the same way. Here is a link to the contest I've decided to start up if you'd like to check it out, thanks again :D
https://steemit.com/contest/@seenitallfilms/siaf-s-media-contest-win-sbd-week-1-what-is-your-thing

Am amazed with what am seeing here.

I must applaud you for this. One thing I've observed over the few days I've stayed on steemit is the influx and attention on trending posts and pages. This shout out Saturday is so unique. This is will give good exposure to wonderful steemians who impact weekly in people's life. Impact is a way of creating value, appreciation is a way of sustaining that value.

So when you appreciate people, you build a community where you can expose them to either impact more on other people or gain being impacted on.

I was opportuned to be in a steem meet up last weekend in Nigeria. As a newbie, I got lots of encouragement from steemians. I was told how the system helps and develops people. So this post and @crazybgadventure has motivated me to appreciate and send a shout out to some of these people that I interacted and connected with. Am happy I came across this.

I also learnt over time that value is seen in how much you're willing to give in a exchange of something. So, that you're willing to give your hard earned resources or time to the success of others shows how much value you place on them and probably their development. I must say am inspired Sir

So I'm planning on joining the shout out Saturday sometime in the future. Let me find my ways around here first. God bless you for the good job.

I think its great that while the prices are down this is the time now where you are going to see the real players of steemit, those that see its potential and those that are just going to give up. This is a great way of thinning the herd. So if we do initiatives like this now we stand a greater chance of a better community. I think now more of us are realising what we need to do to find and produce great content, and whilst newbies are coming in. If there are enough of us to make a noise we will get noticed. Wonderful comment thank you.

Thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate

I'll be on my own version of this with your #shoutoutsaturdays tag as soon as I get The Daily Whistle Stops written for today. I'm with you, kiddo. Every step of the way. (Bugging The Weasel now to get his lazy ass in gear, too.) @catweasel ... I'm talking to you!!

Yes absolutely lets do this!!!

Fantastic initiative CrazyBGAdv!
You have started something great and I wish you the best of luck.
I have featured your post in my weekly comment challenge, hopefully I can help a little to spread your message. SteemOn buddy!

@danielsaori Thank you so much I just read the post, to be honest I am still so shocked at all the amazing feedback I have had about the initiative.
I honestly believe we can turn these ripples into waves and if it helps to get good content creators seen and it helps the platform I am so for it. I am also deeply humbled by all the tags ive been getting about shoutout saturdays.

My pleasure! There are some fantastic Steemians out there, let's try to unite them. You might have to create a Shout-Out for every weekday though... ;)

Lol true I set it up for Saturdays for two reasons.

  1. Steemit is slow on weekends and to encourage more posting on Saturdays.
  2. To give people a full week to engage with new people so they have time to prepare their posts.

Thanks to @crazybgadventure for this wonderful opportunity and program. I'm enjoying it already, as plead with you to keep it up. I find out it's a way I could use to say a thank you to wonderful people I met during the week. Here's my entry I hope you'll like it

https://steemit.com/shoutoutsaturdays/@donnest/shout-out-saturday

I would like to see the shoutout Saturday tag become more and more popular and take the emphasis away from the trending page.

I wish they would kill the Trending Page completely. I hope your idea catches on and I hope it does what you want it to do!!

You're too kind. Thank you!

I think I also need to do something like this, a thanksgiving post

Please do... a bunch of us are going to do this every saturday.

I don't know so many people to be able to do this every week, but I can perhaps do this every once in a while

Awesome! I like this shoutout saturday idea.... I sure hope I remember about it next saturday haha and can find some peeps to shout out too in my busy life!

ha ha I will give you a nudge @skycae

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58