SIAF's Media Contest -WIN SBD - Week 1 / What is your thing?

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Seen It All Films - Digital Media Contest

Inspiring Change Through Creative Means

Hey Steemit community! Recently I made a post encouraging Steemit musicians to step up and branch into creating their own visuals. It was a very successful article, and I am truly overwhelmed by how many individuals thanked me and honestly seemed inspired to go out and create. It was a fantastic feeling, one I want more of, because I'm here on Steem to encourage and inspire creativity, it is my passion.
I notcied that the trending pages and popular topics on here tend to be a lot of reguritated garbage, which is what I thought the blockchain was trying to avoid... So I've decided to do something about it.
As an aspiring film maker in a desperate struggle for fellow creatives here on Steem, I thought why not host a contest that brings us digital artists of any shape and form all together.
Introducing to you ...

image.png

Seen It All Films Digital Media Contest Week 1

The Basics

I have started this contest with the intent to encourage and promote original artworks of any kind, whether it be music, graphics, video, writing, any kind of digital media response is welcome. The aim is as this contest grows, is to introduce new topics and areas such as a short film contest. But until the contest has built up, I will be accepting any kind of media submission.

How to enter

  • Respond to the prompt with any piece of digital media
  • Tag #seenitallfilmscontest in your submission and link it in the replies below
  • Resteem and Upvote this post. Entries that don't do so won't be considered
  • Get creative! I want to inspire creativity, so go out there and do what you do best
  • Contest closes 26th March 4pm. Please have your submissions online before then. This gives you a week to get your creative socks on!
  • Winners will be announced on Tuesday 27th March, along with next week's prompt.

Prizes

Please note I have changed this since I originally put up the post.

  • 1st place will recieve a share in @steembasicincome purchased by myself.
  • 2nd place will receive half the SBD payout for this post.
  • As the contest grows I am hoping to gain some support from some powerful influences wanting to contribute to the ever growing creativity community of Steem. As we gain support, the rewards will grow considerably larger.

Please note the prize depends on the post's payout, so please share the contest with anyone you feel could benefit from entering, or might like to support the project. The more support we recieve, the more support we can give and add to the creative community of Steemit.

Our mission is to encourage better content on the blockchain. Content that thought has gone into it by talented people needing a platform to express their works. Let's help to make the blockchain the number one place for upcoming creative minds.

Any support recieved is heavily appreciated, and we hope the rewards will grow as the contest does. I am aware that the post payout for this post could be very limited, so that is why I am dedicating myself to promoting the contest with all I can to make it as worthwhile for everyone as possible.

Winners will be judged on creativity, idea and how well they responded to the prompt.

So who is with us?

image.png

The Challenge

So each week I will be introducing a new prompt that represents an issue we face in society today, you are welcome to respond to the promopt in any way you would like. I am allowing you complete creative freedom and am looking forward to seeing what you can all come up with! The idea of this whole contest is to inspire change, seeing an issue and speaking out about it. Letting your voice be heard.
Your response can literally be anything from a digital painting, a short video, a poem, factual article, short story, to an animation or piece of graphic design. Anything that allows you to create, feel free to enter it.

Please note I do not support plagarism of any kind, and any submissions found to be containing stolen content will be flagged. This includes any stock images or videos that aren't licensed under creative commons. If you need somewhere to find some free imagery, there are plenty of free resources online, see this article for some funky creative commons stock footage: https://busy.org/@seenitallfilms/the-best-places-for-free-stock-footage

image.png

Week One Prompt

As it is the first week of the contest, I thought I'd ease you all into it and have an approachable, easier topic to some I have planned in the weeks to come. These prompts are designed to get you thinking, passionately, about something that effects you. I decided on this weeks prompt because it's a perfect way to introduce yourselves. My goal is for you to enoy taking part in the contest, and have you participate regularly. I hope this will be an effective way of bringing us all together.
The prompt...

It's all about you!

What is YOUR thing?

The idea behind this is to encourage you to show us who you are, what you're passinate about, what motivates you. You can take this prompt and turn it into anything you'd like, as long as it does show us who you are, what you do or what you stand for.

I want you all to have fun with this. And I am so excited to getting to know my fellows creatives better.

Some suggesstions for those a little bit stuck

Don't worry. I know if you are a edm producer or a graphic designer, this can seem a little irrlevant and tricky to incorpate. But trust me it's not! I want to see out of the box and entries that don't follow unconventional standards. I am distinctively looking for entries that are a little bit different. I want you to be you. i appreciate creative projects, songs and videos espeicially take a lot longer than a week, so I don't want overdetailed submissions, I want quickfire things you are comfortable creating within the allotted timeframe.
for example 30 second snippets of a song or video are great. But I want content specifically created or relevant to this contest.
The theme can be incorporated as intensively or as loosely as you wish. As long as it boils down to what is you.
For example, if I was to enter this, as an upcoming film maker and music video director with a very abstract and quirky style, I would create some short of quick audio visual sequence respresenting my styles and feelings.

image.png

Feel free to leave any questions in the replies

If you are unsure on an element to the contest, or simply want some inspiration, please do leave a comment. I'm more than happy to help you out as I want as many people as possible to feel welcome to enter the contest.

Thank you and good luck. Happy creating!

Sort:  

WOW, It's been a very exciting and inspiring contest, and finally managed to make my entry, @seenitallfilms!
Hope you like it:
https://steemit.com/steemartists/@katalinaooma/siaf-s-media-contest-entry

Hey, I regret I came late, I would have liked to help.

Great initiative. Resteemed!

No problems, I will hopefully be doing it again in the future, thank you much appreciated!

Thank you very much, of course it does!

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #54. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

I have several things that I've created (art, writing, and short film), however as the starving artist in which I am, I have skirted the Law of 15% on a lot of things which I couldn't produce myself (i.e., music, some images, etc.). I don't plagiarize at all, I merely combine things to suit the creation. If I had infinite resources, I wouldn't have a problem contacting Bear McCreary and having him compose and perform a theme song or fitting musical number to go along with whatever video I may be making (I also wouldn't still be using Windows Movie Maker to do so). So please expand on your warning of usage of images or footage not taken from the free sites (which I looked, and found only one thing out of all those links that would fit anything that I do, possibly in the future). I don't want to make a faux pas here, so any further information would be appreciated.

Hey @tropicalwolf79.
By plagirsm I mean any use of stock images, sound, video, any kind of media etc, that you do not have the permission to reuse. You must have the permission by the original author to use it within your work, either by having asked them, purchasing a license to use it or using media lincensed under creative commons. There is many many resources online for stock media, depending on what you need. there is music librarys, loads of image and video sites etc. For example, you can't just download a video on youtube and include segments of it in short film unless it is stated you can do so an it is licensed under creative commons. I hope this helps :)

Well, for instance, I've written a poem, and I created a background using two images from the show Black Sails (I blended them together, and then put the poem on top of it), since I'm a huge fan of that show. I've posted that poem before, but gave accreditation at the bottom of the post of the sources in which I was using. The poem was the original creation, and I just used my digital art skill to blend the background together and put the poem over it. Now, is that plagiarism? According to the Law of 15%, I've altered the original image more than 15% by the blending and the application of the poem over it. Granted the only thing that could be said would be the actor Toby Stephens' claim of using his likeness, but the artwork has been altered more than 15% from the original image(s) used. And I've perused stock images, and none have fit anything that I would be looking to use. I understood where you were talking about permissions and such, but what I'm asking is, are you going to flag something that is well within the fair use laws and also exceeds the 15% alteration from the original, claiming it as plagiarism? Again, wanting clarification because I'm very interested in entering your contest. I already made a post of one of my art pieces for the contest, but it was about my girlfriend and her discovery of belly dancing. I hadn't read down past the part that told of this week's theme being about 'me'... so, oops... I got a bit excited I suppose.

Ah no worries I see what you mean now!
I don't know all too much about copyright laws, but yeah as you've said and as far as I' aware referencing things like that is absolutely fine. I was talking more about posts which have just copied something else blantly without making any changes, or using something they don't have permission to (something from shutterstock for example), believe it or not I've seen far too many of those on here :(
No that all sounds great, and totally within the law, No issues with that at all :)
I'm glad you want to enter the contest and are excited, thank you! Ah no way! No worries, I will check your post out anyway now. As the weeks go by, the subect will always be changing and I'll be introducing new things so keep an eye out. Thanks again I'm looking forward to seeing your entry!

@artzone @artshares maybe you guys might have some followers interested in participating!

@juxtamusic @grandspaceadventure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44