Almond Cranberry Biscotti Recipe

in #recipes8 years ago

Yes, you CAN make your own biscotti! I don't bake much, but this is my favorite cookie-ish recipe. It's fun to bring these to events because they're something different...not just a regular cookie. It just feels a little more special. My family loves these. I usually bring a batch of them with us when we go on road trips. Special treats for sitting in the car all day :)

1/4 cup olive oil 

3/4 cup sugar 

2 tsp vanilla extract 

1/2 tsp almond extract 

2 eggs 

1 3/4 cups flour 

1/4 tsp salt 

1 tsp baking powder 

1/2 cup dried cranberries 

1 1/2 cups chopped or sliced almonds 


In a large bowl, mix together olive oil and sugar until well blended. (I used Rapadura sugar, which is why the mixture is brown.)

Mix in the vanilla and almond extracts. 

Beat in the eggs. 

In another bowl, combine flour, salt, and baking powder. 

Stir flour mixture into the oil/sugar/egg mixture. Mixture will be very thick.

Mix in cranberries and almonds. Mixture will be VERY thick.

Divide dough in half. Form two logs (12x2 inches) on a cookie sheet that has been lined with parchment paper. Dough will be sticky—wet your hands with cool water to handle dough more easily. 

Bake for 35 minutes at 300 degrees F. 

Remove from oven and set aside to cool for 10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 275 degrees F. (Normally my logs flatten more during cooking than what you see in this picture, so don't worry if yours come out wider than what you see here!) 

Cut logs on diagonal into 3/4 inch thick slices. Lay on sides on parchment covered cookie sheet. You're *almost* done.

Bake at 275 degrees F approximately 25 minutes or until dry; cool. Voila! Enjoy!


If you like this recipe, check out some of my other recipes:

My Grandma's Clam Chowder Recipe (Easy)

Garlic Soy Hummus Recipe (Easy)

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Kettle Corn Popcorn Recipe (Easy)

Onion Dip (Super Easy)

Super Easy Homemade Pickles

Chicken Adobo Recipe (Super Easy)

Chocolate Banana Hemp Popsicles 

Easy Homemade Granola Cereal


Corinne Stokes
 



Sort:  

Looks really tasty ..mm... One day I'll just sit with my fat tummy in front of my computer and scroll for recipes on Steemit.... Clothes optional ; -)

Pretty tasty sounding, now I just have to alter it for diabetics like myself and se how that plays out. Great recipe anyway. Thanks,
Bill

Loading...

This recipie is fantastic. The kids and I love it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93