My Grandma's Clam Chowder Recipe (Easy)

in #recipes8 years ago

A broth-based soup, NOT your typical creamy New England or tomato-y Manhattan style. 

When we were kids, my sister and I used to spend a couple weeks each summer staying with my grandma. We developed a very close relationship with her and both have very fond memories of our time with her. I remember going to the lake, steaming clams, fishing at a fish farm, riding horses, and eating homemade cinnamon rolls. This chowder recipe is one of my dad’s favorites, so my grandma taught my sister and I how to make it. I didn’t have a written-down recipe for it, but I figured out about how much I used of everything to create a recipe here. I hope you enjoy it as much as my family does.


12oz uncooked bacon, chopped 

1 large onion, diced 

2-2.5 pounds potatoes, diced 

5 cans chopped clams (6.5oz each), UNdrained 

pepper to taste


Cook bacon in large pot. 

When cooked halfway or so, add the onion. (Do NOT drain out any of the bacon grease. In fact, if your bacon is rather lean, you may need to actually ADD a touch of coconut oil or something if it’s looking a bit dry.) 

Continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until the onions are translucent and the bacon is cooked through. Add the potatoes and stir. 

Add the liquid from the canned clams to create the broth. 

Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer until potatoes are tender. 

Use a potato masher to mash some of the potatoes in the soup. This will thicken up the broth. 

(I got mine quite thick here.)

Add the clams and cook just until heated. 

Season to taste with pepper. Remove from heat.

Enjoy!


If you like this recipe, check out some of my other recipes:

Garlic Soy Hummus Recipe (Easy)

Homemade Mac and Cheese

Kettle Corn Popcorn Recipe (Easy)

Onion Dip (Super Easy)

Super Easy Homemade Pickles

Chicken Adobo Recipe (Super Easy)

Chocolate Banana Hemp Popsicles 

Easy Homemade Granola Cereal


Corinne Stokes
 

Sort:  

I can tell you for sure, this recipe is amazing. My biggest challenge with it is not eating too much.

It looks very tasty, and very easy to prepare. Thanks for the recipe!

You're welcome!

Looks delicious!

Thanks! It is. You should whip some up :)

I'll give it a try but my cooking skills are very bad!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85