Super Easy Homemade Pickles

in #recipes8 years ago


My family loves pickles, and they are super easy to make and so good for you when they are fermented like these. Fermented foods have lots of probiotics (good bacteria) that help keep your gut flora healthy, which helps keep *you* healthy. 

You just need cucumbers, salt, peppercorns, dill, some garlic cloves and quart-size jars to put them in. 

My 7-year-old son Devon helped me make a batch and document the process for you. Since we homeschool, this counts as home economics class for him. (Do they even teach home ec in schools anymore?) Practical life skills right here. Anyways....on with the recipe....

You’ll need approximately one pound of pickling cucumbers per quart-size jar. First, prepare your jars. In the bottom of each jar, put a couple of whole peeled garlic cloves, some peppercorns (~1 teaspoon), and some dill (~1/2 teaspoon dried or a sprig or two fresh).  

Wash the cucumbers well and cut in halves or spears. 

Place enough halves/spears in each jar so as to pack them in tight. 

You can take a green cabbage leaf, fold it up and push it down like a cap across the top of the cucumbers (like the picture at the top of this post). This will help hold the cucumbers down during the fermentation process. If the cucumbers pop up out of the brine, they will mold. I, however, usually just make sure to pack the cucumbers tight enough that they can’t pop up, since I don't typically have green cabbage on hand. If I don't quite have enough cucumbers to pack a jar tight enough, I'll add a carrot to fill in the space since I do typically have carrots on hand.

Make a brine by dissolving 1 tablespoon salt per 2 cups water. I dissolve the salt in a little bit of hot water then add enough cold water to get the amount I need.

Pour the brine into the jars to cover the cucumbers. They must be completely submerged or they will mold.  

Put the lids onto the jars (plastic lids are preferable, but metal will suffice). Let the cucumbers sit out on the counter away from direct sunlight until desired doneness, which will vary greatly with the temperature of your house. With my house at 76 degrees F, it takes about a day and a half. At colder temperatures, it may take several days. Monitor them closely as they can turn mooshy if overdone and nobody likes mooshy pickles.  

Once done, move the jars to the refrigerator and they'll last a long time in the fridge. 

For more info on the benefits of fermented foods, see this article from the Washington Post

If you like this recipe, check out my recipes for Easy Homemade Granola Cereal, Chocolate Banana Hemp Popsicles, and Chicken Adobo.

Thanks for reading! 


Corinne Stokes 

Sort:  

And super low in calories.

I adore dill pickles, and all fermented foods really! This looks much easier than other recipes I've come across in the past!

Try it out! My kids can blow through a whole jar in one sitting :)

YES OMG!! pickles!! are my favourite!!! i can eat them day and night!! hahaha love this recipe! thanks! Check out my russian blini as well :))

My kids can eat them day and night too. Haha :) Your blini recipe sounds yummy...

heheh thanks :D

I will be honest here, I have never pickled before .. but after this, ​I am going to at least try it once and if I don't mess it up I just might keep at it. Do have a yummy pickled fish recipe as well???? :)

No.....no pickled fish recipe....

While this doesn't seem like true pickling, for preservation of canned foods, it sounds like a great recipe for quick dill spears. My last pickling attempt went awry with excessive brine soak prior to adding vinegar.....super salty dills LOL.

It's fermenting. Not shelf-stable. Give this recipe a try and get some good probiotics :)

Plan on it thanks! When I get my Kim Che recipe dialed in again I'll give that a share on here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55