Shelltown San Diego - My California for Photo Friday

in #qurator5 years ago (edited)

These photos were all taken in Shelltown, San Diego California in March 2015. I was two months in to a 6 month stay, renting from a mentally ill landlord who saw invisible people who scared him. He was constantly moving junk around his property so that they could not hide.

This first shot is from a local grocery store parking lot. Shelltown is the poorest neighborhood in San Diego County, and is supposed to be a food desert, but I ate well and very cheaply there. I was going for groceries right before closing one night, and got distracted by the cars and light.

1 photo friday my cali parking lot.JPG

Here I am at the end of the long driveway where I was living. This junk was repackaged at least weekly and the toilet moved often to different locations. The bike is mine and disturbed my landlord beyond belief. He asked me if I could keep it in my room instead of on the driveway and I said no.

2 photo friday my cali toimet.JPG

On this day, some art work had to come out on the lawn. This house was very large, solid and lovely, and had been my landlord's childhood home. His father was a deceased craftsman and it was such a shame to see beautiful things thrown around.

3 photo friday my cali trash.JPG

The front porch was the usual home of the invisible people who gathered there each night trying to get into the house. So it needed to be filled up and rearranged often. My landlord would stand at the locked screen door behind me in this shot. He spent hours each evening talking to them, and trying to get them to leave.

I took this shot because I was in amazement that the couch was cleaned off.

4 photo friday my cali Landlord front porch.JPG

On occasion he would go out and dance with the invisible people instead of trying to get them to leave.

Locks were an issue here. My landlord's keys were usually lost. Luckily the locks were functioning no matter what.

5 photo friday my cali locks.JPG

We had ice cream trucks jangling up and down the street at all hours. As I was told, "When you hear the bells jangle at 3 am, they are not selling ice cream in the hood."

6 photo friday my cali ice cream.JPG

I had two windows in my fabulous room and this is the one I looked out all day. I'm taking a photo through the screen of a spider web at dawn. Due to the slope of the property, my first floor window is 10 feet off the ground. So the spiders were undisturbed.

7 photo friday my cali grapes.JPG

My post is for @qurator's weekly Photo Friday Contest and for @socalsteemit's My California. This place was my California for the time I was there, and I am so glad I have these photos to remember it by.

= =

Minnow Tips!

My Newest Minnow Tips Updates:

General Ideas of how to do better on STEEM
Places to comment for Upvotes and More Goodies
Who will upvote my posts when I am new on STEEM?
How Can I Solve My Low RC Problem on STEEM?
Using @dustsweeper on STEEM
Enter contests on STEEM and win!
Do your replies fast with with SteemReply
You should be freewriting if you are a blogger

Here is my last big minnow tips post before the update if you struggle here at steem.

These tips can help you even if you are not new.
Monday Minnow Tips for Everyone from @fitinfun

Contents of the Above Post

What should I do EACH DAY on STEEM with low power?

What to do with your STEEM

Are you shooting blanks with your votes?

Should you use an autovoter?

Join qurator

Do not post to nowhere

Why bother to comment?

How and Why to use kryptonia

How to get Upvotes

For Twitter Users

How and Why to lease delegated sp

Curation Trails

Using Discord

= =

dApp Reviews

All recommended!
ginabot
esteem
Share2Steem with Twitter Tips

Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp before I used it
Tasteem Restaurant Reviews dApp with tips to do better

And here is an update on @fitinfunfood. I just started this blog in Jan 2019, so you can find out what I am doing to grow my new baby here:
fitinfunfood Update Post

More about using SBI:

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/my-steembasicincome-update-spoiler-i-love-sbi

Great post from @brittandjosie, with all kinds of help for new people. Definitely worth clicking every link!

Hey Have You Met!

Please Help Me Keep Helping at STEEM

Please follow my blogs:

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet is my son's blog, and I am so grateful he has returned.

We all post on Busy most days, where their upvote for us is based on the collective SP of our followers. We all follow back, because we love you. This is the power of STEEM.

Put my blogs on your curation trail

@fitinfun
@fitinfunfood
@bxlphabet

I login to magic-dice daily and roll one time. Is this giving me luck and good fortune? Join me and try for yourself!
https://magic-dice.com/?ref=fitinfun

= =

fitinfun You can do it if I did! sharon before and after.jpg

How is your journey to better health going?

Is your fitness equipment out handy? Are you on a "diet?" Soon we will be in Bathing Suit Season. Are you ready?

I lost "Half My Size" eight years ago by using natural methods. No tricks, just doing a bit better every day. I started on October 10 one year, and did not give up. Four years later, on October 5th, there I was - thin and healthy for the first time in my life. You can do it too!

This is Sharon @fitinfun. I am posting:

  • Healthy Food Ideas on @fitinfunfood

  • Motivation Minnow Tips and Everything Else on @fitinfun

  • @bxlphabet is posting Southern California, dpolls and song lyrics.

Please follow along or contact me directly if you would like some individual help with weight loss and health. Anyone can do this if I did.

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg
I am a proud member of @socalsteemit. We bring Southern California to you on the STEEM blockchain. If you have a connection to this area, please join us. We would love to have you!

Sort:  

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @fitinfun, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Thank you so much @socalsteemit! I am going to try to get in each week with these photos of my last year. This is all I have easy access to right now so I might as well use them :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.02
ETH 3289.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88