Mini Motivation #63 - This is for the times things happen without a proper reason

in #psychology7 years ago

When I was asked for a divorce many years ago, I wasn't given a reason. That was hard on me because without reason, I won't be able to solve the problem, and to fix the relationship.

It was also ironic because while clients would pay me to fix problems, for once, I couldn't fix mine.

For a few months since the request, I was in a limbo. Though I gave in without getting a reason, I kept asking myself over and over again, trying to pin point why the whole thing ever happened.

Was I working too hard and ignoring the family? Was I not providing enough? Did I even do anything so wrong that I deserve this?

First came the blames, outwards then inwards. Then there was anger, grudges, feelings of unfairness. Those emotions did not help in easing the pain or the anxiety, and the fact that I couldn't identified the reason still, caused me to not be able to forgive.

The hard thing was, in the process of searching for the answer, I was being self-destructive. I took on many bad habits, mostly spending related, thinking that buying and paying for things would in one way give me some resolution. I would pay just to get even hints, sometimes from sources mystical, because I just couldn't bare not knowing the reason.

It took a few months before a good friend and coach, Dave, to ask me this,

"Hey Mav, I know you're suffering because you couldn't find the reason on why you were asked for a divorce. Let me ask you this - have you ever done something without proper reason?"

I was quiet for a while as I reflected on the question. Frankly, it wasn't hard for me to search my memory banks for those incidents.

I scoffed at some of those memories, and nodded.

"So Mav, in those cases, you did things without reason, and you forgave yourself. Why not just accept that she did that without a proper reason, and just forgive her for it?"

For the first time on three month, it hit me - I don't really need to know an explanation, nor should I get one. Perhaps there wasn't one in the first place, which was why I couldn't identify one. And it's just how magical one simple realisation, from one simple question, could helped me moved on from the slump. I am eternally grateful for Dave to help me with that.

One of the most important lesson I learned that day, and perhaps one of the most simple too, is that sometimes, things happen without a reasons, and it's okay. If much thought had been put into it and still no progress was made, then perhaps the answers we seek were just out of our grasp at that moment. It may come, it may never.

So even in the pursuit of uncovering reasons, we need to know when to let go, and let the answers come to us instead.

p.s. It has been close to 6 years now that I never revisited the reasons, and had been okay ever since. And I couldn't be happier. Frankly, even if she told me the reasons today, I wouldn't be bothered anymore, because I had moved on, and my life is way better now. It is truly a blessing in disguise.

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3 minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I mostly blog about Steemit Success Strategies, business, marketing, entrepreneurship, psychology, community and random thoughts.

Talking about Steemit Success Strategies, if you want to 10x your results on this platform, perhaps some of these guides will be able to help you.

  1. How to generate at least 365 post ideas for your Steemit Life (and possibly never run out of ideas again!)
  2. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 1)
  3. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 2)
  4. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles
  5. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "List Type" Post Titles
  6. Steemit Success Strategies #1 - The Law of Requisite Variety
  7. Steemit Success Strategies #2 - Batching + Parkinson's Law
  8. How to apply the 80/20 rule to your Steemit Life
  9. Steemit Experiment Report: 21 days, 21 minutes, 21 posts later, PLUS an 8-Step Guide on How to Write a Steemit Post every day under 30 minutes
  10. Case Study on Bid Botting - A Steemit Bootcamp follow-up module, a cheatsheet and why I probably won't use it

At least once a month, I run Steemit community events and training workshops with my buddies at #teammalaysia too. Some examples are:

  1. Steemit Bootcamp March 2018 - KICKSTART Your Steemit Success
  2. BoilerRoom 03.03.2018 | Let's Huddle, Hustle & Hack Out Awesome Steemit Contents!

I'm also grateful to be part of #steemitbloggers , SmartSteem and the sndbox.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

follow_maverickfoo.gif


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD5, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this bro @maverickfoo. I've actually been focused on figuring out the reasons why some things happened for so long that it has cost me so many other good things. It's time to let go and move on. I'm truly inspired 🙌🏾

Sometimes when traveling forward, you'll see a jagged path. But when you look back some time later, it's actually a straight line. Perhaps it has been straight all along, but rather we are the ones bumping here and there. :)

Thanks for dropping in, @geniusvic.

Always so impressed with the content you generate @maverickfoo. Thanks for being so open and real with us too. That's not always easy, so thank you!

Thanks @yasminep! I think it kinda come with age? When I was younger, I was more conscious, and my writings were more reserved. But then again, I know some younger who are very raw with their emotions.

good to know you think of it no more and are doing very well now.

Yup, pretty cool. Always figured I may not come this far in life if the divorce hadn't happened.

Every cloud has a silver lining. A cliche but is still valid.

Good evening.

the past is the past. what's more important is what are you doing today that will affect you tomorrow.
sometimes ignorance is bliss and not every action has a reason behind it. glad you moved on and after seeing you in person, you don't look like someone who is troubled by it.

Just trying to keep life simple. Sometimes just gotta accept that we're not smart enough to understand something yet. But in time, all things will make sense. See you on Thursday.

Perhaps, we've all been there. We just couldn't accept thing without a reason. However, many things in life happen without any proper reasons.

I am glad that you have conquered the problem. Stay awesome, Mav.

Thanks @bettrperson. Just like the annoying Frozen song... let it go, let it go...

Nagging truth, eh?

Lol... you can say that again. 😄

Yeah I totally agree with you. I have done so many things without a particular reason and I end up regretting some of them.

It is human nature to grow angry, be happy, grow depressed without a suitable explanation as to why we feel so. So carrying out actions based on a sudden unexplained change in our body or mind's ecosystem is a part of our makeup.

I am glad that you have moved on, divorce can be tough. Stay safe.

Thanks bro. In hindsight, it's blessing in diguise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77