Did you just assume my gender?

in #psychology6 years ago

androgenous gaudi.jpg

Controversy warning: my blog is probably not a safe space. My intention is to explore this complicated subject with as much delicacy and tact as I can muster.

I don't understand why people are so touchy about this subject. The UK Government gives guidance on how to design forms that ask users about their gender or sex.

If someone conducting a survey asked me my sex, I would answer and move on with my life. If I were naked at the time, I'd likely be offended. But even if I were offended, would it matter? Would it matter so much that my government ought to get involved? Legislate? The same government that allows homeless people to die from hypothermia on its streets? The same government that commits atrocities in foreign countries, destroying millions of lives? This same government ought to care about my feelings in that moment?

This strikes me as an absurdity.

I really couldn't see what all the fuss was about, so I decided to find out about genders and pronouns. Educate myself. Try to understand.

COLOURFUL FRUIT.jpg

Did you know that 'cross-dresser' (formerly known as 'transvestite') is a gender? I didn't. I just thought it was some bloke who liked to wear lipstick and his wife's knickers. Some get a sexual thrill from indulging in stereotypes. And that's fine by me. Live and let live.

Do coprophagy enthusiasts have their own gender classification too? They enjoy eating shit which could work on a psychological level as animalistic (not necessarily male/female). I wonder what their pronouns could be. Answer in the comments if you've got any good suggestions.

I'm not hating on anyone's personal preferences. But the extra-detailed classification is tiresome. As is the need to share too much information about things that are none of my business. If we're relative strangers and we happen to chat, please don't tell me what you like to rub your genitals against. I really don't want to know. It's irrelevant to me unless I'm trying to rub my genitals against you (don't worry; I hardly ever do that to strangers).

spectrum.jpg

It's normal for humans to take shortcuts and categorise things to save time. On the whole, they're not trying to offend or marginalise or oppress anybody. On a semi-conscious level, I'm likely to think: that's a man with pink hair followed by so what! What this stranger thinks about himself is irrelevant to me.

Some genders...

Bi-gender. This is someone whose behaviour and identity fluctuates between traditional male/female roles (although I remember we were once told that gender rolls were fascist or something and that we should do our utmost to resist them). Are we getting rid of that idea now?

The following paragraph from it's pronounced metrosexual is worth mentioning:

cisgender /“siss-jendur”/ – adj. : a person whose gender identity and biological sex assigned at birth align (e.g., man and assigned male at birth). A simple way to think about it is if a person is not transgender, they are cisgender. The word cisgender can also be shortened to “cis.”

Cisgender describes a huge majority of the human population. We used to label these people as 'normal'. What's wrong with that? Abnormal is just a word that describes patterns that fall away from the norm. It's just a fact. If you exhibit signs that are different from the majority, you are abnormal in some way. This can be positive, negative or neutral, depending on your outlook. I don't understand why there has to be a new word for it.

FACE ANDROGYNOUS.jpg

Example: it's not normal to think you're a baby girl when you're actually an adult man. That's not an insult; it's a fact. It's also abnormal to think you're a unicorn or a god. It's not hate speech; it's just fact. The statement, in the above excerpt, tells us to think of normal people as 'not transgender'.

Surely, it makes more sense to describe the exception (rather than the rule) in terms of the norm, not the other way around. We all make snap judgements and overviews when encountering a person for the first time. It's how we differentiate self from other. Doesn't it make sense to categorise a stranger as they actually present themselves (he/she/not sure/don't care) rather than guess at the subjective opinions floating around in that stranger's head?

It's almost as if we're pandering to a group of spoiled toddlers who are role-playing. Yes, sunshine, you're a princess or Uh oh, here's Batman! That sort of thing. That toddler can transform into Fireman Sam or Pikachu without warning. Then what do we do? Are we expected to humour adult humans in the same way we do our little kids?

I had the awkward experience of mis-gendering someone's baby once. I referred to it as 'he' when it was, according to the mother, 'she'. Nobody consulted the baby. It could have been a non-gendered alien, judging by its veiny forehead. Who knows? And who cares?

I'm not saying 'normal' is better or more 'right' than the alternatives; I'm saying there's a much higher frequency in our population than the alternatives.

GREEN EYES CAT.jpg

So, rather than describing my eye colour (green) as it actually is we are encouraged to describe it against other myriad possibilities.

What colour are your eyes?

They are viridiringular.

… I don't know what you mean.

Well they're not brown, blue, gold, hazel, purple, orange, yellow or black or any of the other eye colours; they're viridiringular (new made-up word for 'green').

Why make up words when perfectly acceptable ones already exist?

And, by the way, I'm not saying it's superior to be normal and inferior to be transgender. People are people regardless of how they want to (or not) use their genitals. But who gives a shit about your sexuality or endless navel gazing? I don't care what you see when you look at your reflection in the mirror. I don't care what makes your dick throb. That's your business. Just as with selfies, nobody cares. Only you. So, there's no hierarchy here.

MENTAL HEALTH STIGMA.jpg

Before this went mainstream, major psychiatric associations classified these people with 'gender identity disorder', meaning they have some sort of mental condition. Why don't they want to be labelled 'mentally ill'? Are they saying they're superior to people with mental illness? I don't know. This was changed to 'gender dysphoria', presumably in response to pressure groups. They wanted to free themselves from the stigma of being 'mentally ill'. Nowadays, some prefer to keep the medically-charged label because they can use this to claim on their health insurance for gender reassignment surgeries and therapy.

It can be argued that 'homosexuality' was once considered a mental disorder and that we're just starting on the sliding scale of acceptance. Homosexuality, however, is demonstrated, with really high frequency, by many creatures across the animal kingdom and is not driven by the need to propagate.

CLOWN FISH.jpg

Gender bending creatures such as the Marsh Harrier, clownfish, and colobus monkey, use gender bending to disguise themselves as the opposite sex to prevent attacks and/or simply get laid. It's all about ensuring their genes make it to the next generation. It's a survival strategy rather than the animal feeling the need to express itself in whatever way it wants. It manifests in response to environmental pressure. I don't pretend to know, for a minute, the motivations of humans who vary in their gender preferences. I also have no idea what motivates someone going through a psychotic episode.

It is argued that many trans people suffer serious mental illness and have a much higher suicide rate because of society's treatment of them. It's not clear whether surgery to alleviate feelings of gender dysphoria contributes to this high rate of suicide or whether suicidality is co-morbid with the ongoing mental disorder. There's a high rate of suicide in bipolar and schizophrenia patients who've had medical treatment too. Maybe my point here is that there is a mental disorder underpinning everything. Whether or not it's treatable is anyone's guess.

Pronouns

They/their (non-binary) vs his/her (traditional)

I love my language. I love that it evolves, but this is just ridiculous. Language and grammar are supposed to help, not hinder, communication. Take the following sentence:

Alex says they are non-binary.

Who is non-binary, according to Alex? Traditionally, we would leap to the conclusion that 'they' (in this context) is someone other than Alex. In non-binary speak this could also mean that Alex thinks him- or herself non-binary, but is allergic to the words him/her and demands the vast majority alter their grammar to pander to this slight discomfort 'they' (meaning Alex) is feeling. Are you confused yet?

Effect. Nobody knows what the hell is going on. Bad communication.

Honourable mention:

Pansexual

This person has sexual, romantic, physical, and/or spiritual attraction for members of all gender identities/expressions.

In my day, this was called 'desperate for a shag'.

I harbour no ill feelings towards any of the genders that are not well-represented by the general human population and I think you have as much right to a good life and equality as anybody else. You should be who you are.

SWEET PASTRY.jpg

Researching this subject confused me so much that I now identify as some sort of sweet pastry gender. The fillings vary from day to day as do my pronouns. I suppose this means I fall into the category of trans-inanimate-object. Instead of 'her' I prefer 'flake' and instead of 'she' I prefer 'shmu-shee' (nod to my soft centre).

My bad. Sorry, I was just hungry. I'm a 'she' again.

In closing, I want to say that you can call yourself whatever you want, just don't expect me to play along.

akdivider.png

SMARTSTEEM

Other eclectic articles

6-word story contest. Now Open! SBD Prizes!

Crypto Empire expands – New Embassies

Introducing @MINNOWBOOTCAMP Community Bot Account for NEW MINNOWS and UP!

Is someone trying to kill your dog?

Interview with an English Bulldog puppy

Fractal Buddha with Bonus Haiku

Life advice from an imperfect human

@EagleSpirit

How to write a critique for fiction

How to improve crap fiction writing

akdivider.png


Crypto Empire

All pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online (pixabay, wikimedia, pexels, flickr, public domain pictures, freestockphotos.biz, maxpixel), labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

Sort:  

All this gender preference nonsense derives from the Leftist propaganda shrill about "multiculturalism." Having essentially destroyed a man's identity and belonging (culture), it is not at all surprising that there would be an increasing population of identity-less drones. If one's identity is merely relative, no different or superior to any other (despite mountains of evidence to the contrary), then why not gender as relative concept, despite evidence and reality?

Pol Pot killed 25% of his own people in his mad attempt at establishing the Leftists utopia of equality and egalitarianism. Destruction of gender and legal legitimization of mental illness seem quite the mild attempt by Western Leftists in destroying their own countries. Leftism is essentially a rationalization for pissing in the very well from which they drink.

Hiya Soo

Yes, I think there's something nefarious underfoot, a background pushing propaganda to depopulate. We already see evidence the vegan diet is hazardous to fertility.

I remember seeing a documentary about the Killing Fields a while back. Horrible stuff. Yes, the west is committing genocide, but they're being more sneaky about it.

Thank you for contributing and expanding the debate. Wonderful stuff!

cheers
Anj x

Everyone is an it to me.

Hahaah safest way to be XD

Lol

I kept on smiling for half of the post. This really cranked me up:

If we're relative strangers and we happen to chat, please don't tell me what you like to rub your genitals against. I really don't want to know. It's irrelevant to me unless I'm trying to rub my genitals against you (don't worry; I hardly ever do that to strangers).

I agree with the fact that the LGBT community sometimes overstate their challenges. It seems there is this desire to always play the victim. It's the same thing with radical feminist movements that believe every female is already subjugated and have to follow a certain lifestyle to be emancipated.

On the flip side though, it's easy for the 'normal' to force the 'abnormal' to gloat in such abnormality. So when you find where folks always expressing their sexuality, it's probably the only way they can deal with the fact that they're unique in their own way.

like you, I believe in live and let live. But that would call for tolerance and consideration from both sides. The non-binary thingy is just messed up in my opinion. But if you demand I address you that way, I'm happy to oblige.

At the end of the day, I'm forced to tend towards your subtle suggestion of mental er... peculiarities. Maybe years of being forced in the shadows forces them to take an unnecessary assertive stance. Looking for instances to express their 'uniqueness '. Like the bully who's neglected at home.

My options though.

PS: I believe in sexual liberty. Do what you like, don't just trample on my rights

Hiya there Gray

I'm glad you had some fun reading it.

LGBT community sometimes overstate their challenges

Yes, thankfully it's only a very tiny minority that do this. Most are reasonable human beings :D

I'm with you on the feminism angle. It's embarrassing (as a woman) to listen to them propagating such bullshit.

Gloating at abnormality. That will happen regardless of the label it's got.

I like your thoughts on why trans people could be that way. Is it the chicken or the egg? Were they pushed into this corner, isolated, triggering this way of being, or did the mental disorder come first causing them to withdraw? I dunno. Good food for thought though. And, yes, some victims of bullying become bullies too.

Cheers and thanks for your great thoughts
Anj x

beardolphin.jpg

You're welcome.

Is that a dolphin or a bear?

I'm not sure but it's very beautiful :D

IDK Either but it should be Undie's New Discord Avatar ;)

Cool. Half dolphin, half bear. Just so you! Like it :D

I am a tiny marshmallow. I identify as a sweet little thing.

Lol, that's cute. I'm sure you're a fabulous marshmallow

cheers
Anj x

"slight discomfort 'they' (meaning Alex) is feeling." - just to add to the confusion. "They" is plural, "is" is singular. So it should read They ARE, except THEY IS is correct as you are referring to one person.

Sorry, I did not study English for many years just to have a group of people come along and tell me I am wrong because it hurts their feelsies.

"You are a dirty little maggot" is offensive. She when referring to someone obviously female (or he when male) is not offensive, regardless of how they feel. Communication is structured for a reason, so that we can actually converse and exchange ideas, and know what we are talking about.

Lol, yes, I agree. Not having anyone trample the grammar for feels, man :D

thanks for your wonderful comments
cheers
Anj :D

Alex says they are non-binary.
Alex says he is non-binary.

both of these are ambiguous in the same way. The pronoun can refer to Alex or third party. I don't buy that point of yours. You could've gone a different direction with it: they/them is ambiguously singular/plural depending on the context.

Also wish you would've shared your opinion on the pronouns Xe / Xir.

Hiya Ksikka

You make a great point – in the second example, Alex could be talking about another person. But they're not ambiguous in the same way. The first is misleading to most English-speaking people. If the person speaking says 'they', they are nearly always referring to 'other' rather than 'self'.

I wish I'd gone into the Xe/Xir as well too but the article was getting really long. You know – attention spans. I may revisit it at some point.

Thanks for your comments.

Cheers
Anj :)

My opinion is that there is no pronoun xe/xir, thay are made up children's words like googoo gaga.

You got a 1.20% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @anjkara!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Discourse Bot Review:

Meh, slightly less entertaining then paint drying, with some high points of humour, let down by a conclusion that the op is really just taking the piss.

Educational content is sporadic, op implies knowledge on subject but displays layperson understanding.

Copy pasta quotes, display ability to search keywords but not understanding of topics discussed.

Opinion is not knowledge ❄

tumblr_inline_mgjwrplDgF1roqm64.jpg

3/10 by discoursebot

Meh.

That was rude.

… not understanding the topics discussed

If you know more, why not bring it to your reply? I'm always happy to learn. It would've been great to hear how I got my facts wrong. But, meh, you didn't bother.

Discourse Bot Review

So you identify as bot gender ? That's a new one on me. Meh: is that the noise your bot makes? Meh.

Meh.

Meh.

Opinion is not knowledge

Here, we agree. You've given us your opinion and shown no knowledge whatsoever.

Thanks for your comments.
I'm amused.
Meh.

box light eyes.jpeg

I was entertained. There is no educational value in made up pronouns. Feelsies is not relevant, these people are just childish.

Thanks Andy. You're right. Making new pronouns is just some sort of way of giving trans conditions a kinda cult status, making it enticing to younger people.

Amen to childish :D

keep convincing yourself you are a nice person, honestly I'd engage with you and share, but your whole post, is just a piss take, like literally you are just making a joke of the whole thing so why should I waste my time.

Researching this subject confused me so much that I now identify as some sort of sweet pastry gender. The fillings vary from day to day as do my pronouns. I suppose this means I fall into the category of trans-inanimate-object. Instead of 'her' I prefer 'flake' and instead of 'she' I prefer 'shmu-shee' (nod to my soft centre).

Stop being a snowflake, sweet pastry gender, ohhh look a fucking edgy edge edgelord.
A bunch of copy pasta strewn between your "funny" opinions, does not a decent post make, so run on back to your safe space, if you can't handle people giving you shit, when you post shit.

have a fun day.


giphy

Hey Meh-bot

I see a lot of projection here. You are, in a roundabout way, accusing me of being a not nice person. I guess we can only judge people by their actions. I wrote a light entertainment piece on the issue of gender.

You, on the other hand, left nasty, dismissive comments under my blog. Were they done with good intention or were your words meant to hurt or humiliate me?

Yeah, reading to the last paragraph you're resorting to personal name calling (snowflake, edgy edge edgelord, “funny” with sarcastic air bunnies).

What safe space? LOL. I even mention at the top of this blog that it's probably not a safe space.

Yes, I'm making a joke of the whole thing. That's what I do. No area is immune. It's how I express myself. It's called satire.

You call that giving someone shit?

...

Okay, I'm back now. That was funny. What you gave me was another belly laugh. The gif makes it even funnier. It's like you think you've made a good point. OMG I'm off again.

Thanks XD

Watch out... I think she's threatening to kick your balls in (but only to be helpful, of course) XD

One for you too cause you tried.


QD46bk8m_TLu_OVGQ0_KAFQ_Fire_Balls

I curate lgbt content on steem, so as such I have a lot of keyword and tag searches on the blockchain, so I come across trash posts like yours all the time.

They are all really similar all like punching down on lgbt people, for the sake of whatever agenda the OP are pushing to make themselves feel better., feel more supreme to others, to have a soft target they can blame for their woes.

sad really that straight sheeple, are so keen to do the masters bidding for them.

But I digress you seem to be hurt, I hope your not to sad, here is a band aid for your booboo, maybe call your mum, she misses you.

lots of love xx

logo-clipart-doc-mcstuffins-5.jpg

The only one punching around here is you. You're quite nasty for no good reason.

You are wrong. I don't feel supreme to other people because they are different. Take your paranoia-victim goggles off and look at the facts. I'm joking about the absurdity of words, situations and how people twist them for an agenda.

What woes? I'm fine thanks.

There you go with more insults – trash, sheeple.

My mum is no longer on the phone.

Meh meh

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69123.03
ETH 3739.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69